Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute bargain!
The price of these FIVE CDs is unbelievable and I am pleased to say that I haven't been disappointed with the sound quality at all. For £5.99 you get five classic albums- New Jazz Conceptions, Everybody Digs Bill Evans,Portrait In Jazz, Explorations and also Sunday At The Village Vanguard. All have been re-mastered and I found the clarity of the sound to excellent. I...
Published on 21 May 2012 by retrofan

versus
33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great music. TERRIBLE out of copyright budget issue
These early recordings by Bill Evans are great. You should own them if you have any interest in jazz.

This box is terrible. It's one of many "out of copyright" boxes issued on the Not Now label. They take released material and copy it, usually futzing with the tone controls so it sounds worse than the original issue. This label has no access to the original...
Published on 13 Jun. 2012 by David Pearlman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute bargain!, 21 May 2012
By 
retrofan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
The price of these FIVE CDs is unbelievable and I am pleased to say that I haven't been disappointed with the sound quality at all. For £5.99 you get five classic albums- New Jazz Conceptions, Everybody Digs Bill Evans,Portrait In Jazz, Explorations and also Sunday At The Village Vanguard. All have been re-mastered and I found the clarity of the sound to excellent. I would advise anyone considering buying this product to go ahead and do it because you will not find this material for a better price anywhere else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill's Blissful Bargain, 13 Mar. 2012
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
I ordered this largely blind, as there was little information initially (pre-release) on the Amazon site. Imagine my surprise when I discovered this 5CD set includes five landmark Evans albums, recorded at his peak as a performer, and a member of a truly legendary trio.

This set showcases Bill Evans development from 1956-61, a period which saw him record a clutch of iconic albums ('New Jazz Conceptions'; 'Everybody Digs Bill Evans'; 'Portrait in Jazz'; 'Explorations' and the legendary 'Sunday at the Village Vanguard'). The quality of musicianship here is outstanding, with the bass (principally by Scott LaFaro who died tragically a few days after the Village Vanguard recording), and drums so sympathetically attuned to Bill's keyboard explorations, it almost seems as if they are playing telepathically.

Classics such as 'Night & Day', 'Blue in Green', 'I Wish I Knew' and 'All of You' are imaginative workouts, and pieces of remarkable beauty. Some of my favourites are 'Young & Foolish','Peace Piece' and 'Haunted Heart', where there is a crystalline beauty and haunting loveliness, which lingers long after the last notes have died away.

Not Now Music are to be applauded for producing such a quality set, with a good clarity of sound. The cds feature original sleeve art, and there is an illustrative and very informative insert booklet with detailed notes by Peter Gamble, all housed within an attractive, and relatively sturdy box, and with cds which slip readily from their sleeves! Four of the albums here attract Penguin Jazz Guide's highest 4-star rating, and the other's not far behind. This superb collection can't possibly remain at this giveaway price for long, so act now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 7 July 2012
By 
Iain Coldwell ""lugnassah"" (Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
Bought this on the advice of other reviewers! Great choice! All are original Riverside recordings and sound quality is good. Well worth it for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great music. TERRIBLE out of copyright budget issue, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
David Pearlman "sound fanatic" (Arlington, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
These early recordings by Bill Evans are great. You should own them if you have any interest in jazz.

This box is terrible. It's one of many "out of copyright" boxes issued on the Not Now label. They take released material and copy it, usually futzing with the tone controls so it sounds worse than the original issue. This label has no access to the original tapes.

Low budget, low quality, low price. Not a penny goes to the artist's estate. Not a penny goes to the original record company, either, which means there's no incentive for those with access to the masters to actually do any further serious work in preserving and expanding the artist's legacy.

Make your own call. But you really can do better in so many ways by passing on this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verification requested, 29 April 2012
By 
P. Hughes (nyc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
Could some percipient listener either confirm or challenge Duff's devastating comment?
This set seems like such a bargain; my Riverside LP's are long gone [probably to Japan!]; and I'm aged 71, therefore losing acuity in the high treble! Even so, incompetent remastering [if, indeed, there has been remastering] would be a deal-breaker for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
this cd is very good like this 5 cd box set would recommend this cd to any bill evans fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A (jazz) bargain, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
So beautiful... so buy it.

A box set of 5 CDs and I caught part of Peace Piece (on CD no.2) on Radio 4 last weekend... atmospheric and simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly remastered - do not buy, 12 April 2012
By 
CE Duff (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
Distorted high frequency sounds, tape hiss - this is a budget box set (which I was initially thrilled about) but has not been remastered properly, so avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia in a smalll box, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riverside Years [5CD box set] (Audio CD)
Bought almost by chance. This is the best item bought from Amazon for some time.
This set brings back memories of the time of my discovery of jazz. I am sure that many folk will label this as a gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Riverside Years [5CD box set]
The Riverside Years [5CD box set] by Bill Evans (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews