Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
This book was recommended to me by a friend and i am pleased i took his advice.
Being from Liverpool made it all the more interesting knowing that these real life storys happened in my home town.
The three men concerned,Dennis Martin,Gary Spiers and Terry O'Niel where definitely cut from a different cloth.They put all their hard work and training out there and...
Published on 10 Dec 2008 by Paul Mainwaring

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For UK martial artists
If you're a big fan of martial arts and from the UK this book tells some good stories of some important people. But each chapter is something different so don't expect one mans story but loads of bits and pieces.
Published on 25 May 2012 by jazz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 10 Dec 2008
By 
Paul Mainwaring "Mainbeam" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and i am pleased i took his advice.
Being from Liverpool made it all the more interesting knowing that these real life storys happened in my home town.
The three men concerned,Dennis Martin,Gary Spiers and Terry O'Niel where definitely cut from a different cloth.They put all their hard work and training out there and pressure tested it,threw away what didnt work and was left with a potent force of self protection which evolves even today.

It is very honest in its opinion on martial arts ie,what works in real life and what is ineffective,thats not to say it is disrespectful to these martial arts,all mentioned are judged on merits and pitfalls.

For anyone who has read Geoff Thompsons work then you will really enjoy this book,(Geoff Thompson endorses this book).

Overall,this book is an empirical observation of real life situations by very experienced individuals.

Buy it today :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 26 Nov 2008
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
This book is truly excellent. It's well written, engaging, funny and describes brilliantly the physical apsects of the tales within!

The most eye opening thing is that all of the tales are true! A brilliant book about interesting and frightening situations experienced by people at the top of their game.

Dennis Martin is the british equivalent of Kelly McCann with similar experience and in my opinion, better skills!

This book is worth treble the cover price and is worth reading even up to the very last word, which will leave you laughing.

Well done and I can't wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, 24 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. R. Owens (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
Well it's about time that Dennis Martin wrote and book and the first does not disappoint. A nice bit of history one that I found hard to put down. There are some great stories of Dennis working with Terry O'Neil, Gary Spiers and Tommy Mac to mention just a few. Also interesting is the beginnings of Close Protection work outside of the Police and Military. Dennis Martin is certainly an accomplished person in the world of CP and security more so than a lot of Military and Police personal I know.

Looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working with warriors, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working With Warriors (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book from and about obviously very experienced martial artists. I enjoyed every page of this, it was very well written with larger than life characters. Awesome read well done and respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Martin's Working with Warriors, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
An awesome read for all true martial artists, real martial arts by genuine practitioners. and having known one of them very well for many years I still stand in awe of the man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working With Warriors (Kindle Edition)
Nice to read a well written book by Dennis, I was always a huge admirer of Terry O'Neill from my early days and saw him at Crystal Palace in the 70s.
I'm proud of the scouse lineage, being one myself.
Many years afterwards in my career I have been surprised how that era is still talked about by the most surprising people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin, Spiers and O'Neil - karate legends, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
Not a seamless work by any means, a series of anecdotes about Dennis Martin, Gary Spiers and Terry O'Neil all famous in the world of karate and in their time equally famous for dealing with the worse of the worse on the doors of many clubs in Liverpool and the North. Not any easy read if you have not been in that sort of business and easy to decry them as men of violence and little more but I would recommend this book to any karate man who wants to do more than march up and down a dojo in a white suit. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working With Warriors (Kindle Edition)
Awesome read especially if you're from the area. Terry O'Neill still working doors in the wirral today. Always a gentleman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots to enjoy in this book, 27 Sep 2013
By 
J. HILTON "jameshilton2" (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working With Warriors (Kindle Edition)
As a martial artist of some 35 years, I have probably read many hundreds of books, most were forgetable at best. Once in a while I find a really good one...like this one. This is not a how to learn to be a bouncer type book but rather a series of recollections and interviews with 3 veteran martial artists. I met Gary Spiers years ago and can easily believe all of the stories in this book.
I widespread Fighting Arts magazine so was familiar also with Terry o'Neil and Dennis Martin. All top guys with lots to share within self protection. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGELY ENTERTAINING, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and found it hugely entertaining, great anecdotes throughout about Dennis Gary and Terry.
Story's from Australia to Japan to the U.K
There are also some great practical tips hidden within it's pages . I have purchased another copy to send to a friend in Cyprus ,because i don't want to part with my copy as I will dip into it again.Highly recommended for anyone in the martial arts or security fields. Generally for anyone a good read and very amusing with Gary s humor always popping up.
FULL MARKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working With Warriors
Working With Warriors by Dennis Martin
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews