Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
This book was recommended to me by a friend and i am pleased i took his advice.
Being from Liverpool made it all the more interesting knowing that these real life storys happened in my home town.
The three men concerned,Dennis Martin,Gary Spiers and Terry O'Niel where definitely cut from a different cloth.They put all their hard work and training out there and...
Published on 10 Dec. 2008 by Paul Mainwaring

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For UK martial artists
If you're a big fan of martial arts and from the UK this book tells some good stories of some important people. But each chapter is something different so don't expect one mans story but loads of bits and pieces.
Published on 25 May 2012 by jazz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
Paul Mainwaring "Mainbeam" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and i am pleased i took his advice.
Being from Liverpool made it all the more interesting knowing that these real life storys happened in my home town.
The three men concerned,Dennis Martin,Gary Spiers and Terry O'Niel where definitely cut from a different cloth.They put all their hard work and training out there and pressure tested it,threw away what didnt work and was left with a potent force of self protection which evolves even today.

It is very honest in its opinion on martial arts ie,what works in real life and what is ineffective,thats not to say it is disrespectful to these martial arts,all mentioned are judged on merits and pitfalls.

For anyone who has read Geoff Thompsons work then you will really enjoy this book,(Geoff Thompson endorses this book).

Overall,this book is an empirical observation of real life situations by very experienced individuals.

Buy it today :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is highly recommended to every combatives enthusiast, martial artist interested in the self-defence side of things., 25 April 2013
By 
N. Engelen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
Working with Warriors by Dennis Martin

On the back cover of the book a quote by Geoff Thompson, the author of "Watch my Back", is shown saying: `Dennis Martin is the most credible instructor of real self-defence in the world today'. Since I met Dennis Martin on a BCA course in 2001 I have attended most of his courses organised in the UK.

After every seminar we traditionally all meet up in a Chinese restaurant to talk about the seminar and to share stories. As my flight is next evening I often spend a couple of hours with Den and Tommy Mac for a coffee. During these conversations I have heard funny anecdotes and amazing stories. I think all of us have been thinking, if not told directly that Den should collect the stories into a book.

Then in 2009 the great news was announced, Den had written and published a book. The subtitle of the book reads: `How three combat experts took martial arts out of the gym and into the street.'

The book's mainly going about Dennis Martin, Gary Spiers and Terry O'Neill. But also other people like Nick Hughes, Marcus Wynne, Simon James and Tommy MacNally who has his own chapter containing an interview, feature in the book.

The book contains many stories ranging from martial arts training to door work, some very hilarious other serious. During his career Den met some interesting and famous people which made me feel jealous. Also a couple of interviews are shown as well as stories by other narrators.

Information without a context to place it in is useless, stories are a great vehicle for bringing over information and the stories also provide a context in which this information can be placed. Therefor this book can be seen as a manual.

This book is highly recommended to every combatives enthusiast, martial artist interested in the self-defence side of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taught by Warriors, 25 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
On the way out to a 2 month trip to Shanghai recently I spotted a copy of Working with Warriors on the shelf in WH Smiths in Manchester airport. As keen martial artist of over 25 years myself and an avid reader of Terry O`Neill`s Fighting Arts International magazine in general and Dennis Martins`On Guard column in particular, it was actually Dennis Martins` name on the spine that attracted my attention and I was astonished when I picked it up and looked at the cover to see Terry O`Neill, Gary Spiers and Dennis himself staring back at me.

This is the true story of the hardcore British pioneers responsible for introducing Japanese martial arts into the U.K. in the late 60`s and 70`s and the no holds barred account of working the doors in some of the biggest and most dangerous venues in Merseyside over the subsequent decades.

I have been taught by and worked with several of the people mentioned within these pages and can, from first hand experience, vouch for the authenticity of their capabilities. In an industry which is now sadly awash with paper tigers this is a refreshing and true account of world class martial artists who set the bar sufficiently high in those early days in both international competition standard and street level self protection that it is unlikely to be raised.

To quote the author;

"Liverpool doormen are not easily impressed"

This is a very true statement. You would, however, struggle to find any of us who are not aware of the three central characters and who would not recognise the legacy left by them through the impact they made (and continue to make) in the martial arts world, the private security industry and doorman folklore. The foreword in Warriors by Geoff Thompson is testimony to this and I would urge anyone who has not read his own book "Watch My Back" to do so.

Dennis Martin is one of the most highly regarded experts in firearms, combat and body guarding consultation in the world and has built a highly successful organisation whilst doing so. This book is an entertaining, invigorating and fascinating read for any martial artist or doorman past or present. More than that it is an absolute must read for anyone considering entering the private security industry at the sharp end and I wholeheartedly recommend it on every level.

Gray Leech
3rd Dan Karate
Merseyside Doorman
Former British Karate Association National squad member.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real World Experience, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
I found Dennis Martin's book to be an excellent insight into violence experienced in the real world. Dennis is someone who has been there and done it, and I feel it's very fortunate that he has shared his experiences. The book also provides excellent guidance on the type of techniques which are best suited for self-protection and the reasons why. Therefore, it provides a great starting point for someone who is looking for the truth in violent confrontations. Dennis separates learning an art from practical application. I found that to be a very important point, taking into account fear,stress,and adrenalin dumps. An excellent book which I would recommend to anyone interested in self protection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 28 Jan. 2012
By 
M. Mcdermott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
As someone who worked violent doors full time for 11 years, I agree with almost every word written in this book.

It is educational and entertaining.

Not so sure about the final part where Den states todays Doorman are more professional?

IMO they are mostly poorly paid shirt fillers, but that is what the industry has come to under the constant watch of CCTV and the SIA, fortunately I got out, just as all that came in.

Most clubs would now rather have the door team beaten up, then order another load from the agency next week, rather than risk legal come back, or upsetting customers.

It is a sad state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 26 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
This book is truly excellent. It's well written, engaging, funny and describes brilliantly the physical apsects of the tales within!

The most eye opening thing is that all of the tales are true! A brilliant book about interesting and frightening situations experienced by people at the top of their game.

Dennis Martin is the british equivalent of Kelly McCann with similar experience and in my opinion, better skills!

This book is worth treble the cover price and is worth reading even up to the very last word, which will leave you laughing.

Well done and I can't wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. R. Owens (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
Well it's about time that Dennis Martin wrote and book and the first does not disappoint. A nice bit of history one that I found hard to put down. There are some great stories of Dennis working with Terry O'Neil, Gary Spiers and Tommy Mac to mention just a few. Also interesting is the beginnings of Close Protection work outside of the Police and Military. Dennis Martin is certainly an accomplished person in the world of CP and security more so than a lot of Military and Police personal I know.

Looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGELY ENTERTAINING, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and found it hugely entertaining, great anecdotes throughout about Dennis Gary and Terry.
Story's from Australia to Japan to the U.K
There are also some great practical tips hidden within it's pages . I have purchased another copy to send to a friend in Cyprus ,because i don't want to part with my copy as I will dip into it again.Highly recommended for anyone in the martial arts or security fields. Generally for anyone a good read and very amusing with Gary s humor always popping up.
FULL MARKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin, Spiers and O'Neil - karate legends, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
Not a seamless work by any means, a series of anecdotes about Dennis Martin, Gary Spiers and Terry O'Neil all famous in the world of karate and in their time equally famous for dealing with the worse of the worse on the doors of many clubs in Liverpool and the North. Not any easy read if you have not been in that sort of business and easy to decry them as men of violence and little more but I would recommend this book to any karate man who wants to do more than march up and down a dojo in a white suit. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working with Warriors, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working with Warriors (Paperback)
A very enjoyable book to read very funny in parts a must for a marshal arts student
I got it as I know the author(left of cover picture) and knew Terry(right)
And Gary(centre)to nod to.
There is a lot of pages in this book so its good value for money as well.
Its for adults not suitable for under 16 I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working With Warriors
Working With Warriors by Dennis Martin
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews