Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cure for death by PowerPoint
Comparing favourably with Presentation Zen Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery (Voices That Matter) this book is a superb guide to improving your presentations. Beautifully designed and presented (but would you expect anything less) the book takes a holistic view of presentation planning, design and delivery.

The author is the...
Published on 16 Sep 2008 by M. Donohoe

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not that good - and very expensive for what it is!
Pros:
Excellent examples, methodical approach and a few really good insights and tips. Most of all, this book taught me that I am NOT being too pedantic about the perfection in my slides, and that I should actually be more pedantic!

Cons:
A lot of this book is actually about delivering a presentation, rather than the actual design of the slides. This...
Published on 21 Jan 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not that good - and very expensive for what it is!, 21 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pros:
Excellent examples, methodical approach and a few really good insights and tips. Most of all, this book taught me that I am NOT being too pedantic about the perfection in my slides, and that I should actually be more pedantic!

Cons:
A lot of this book is actually about delivering a presentation, rather than the actual design of the slides. This particular content provides nothing new, unless you have never had any training in presenting at all. Also, the book is very expensive for what it is; there are loads of pictures and not a huge amount of text, so it's all over and done with in no time at all.

In summary, I came away with a few really good insights into how I can make my presentations better - but I had to wade through quite a lot (and spend quite a lot) just to get just these few tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's New Old Clothes, 25 Nov 2008
By 
Christopher Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had high hopes for this book. It looks very nice. It has the right nods to Tufte early on. But...

But the true content is very thin, includes a load of chart junk (the anti-Tufte - I guess the true cue is in the title, this is a PowerPoint book) and page after page of abstract diagrams demonstrating "flow" - much like the woeful second half of "Say it with Charts" which is about 50 pages of arrows.

Very very disappointing indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cure for death by PowerPoint, 16 Sep 2008
By 
M. Donohoe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Comparing favourably with Presentation Zen Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery (Voices That Matter) this book is a superb guide to improving your presentations. Beautifully designed and presented (but would you expect anything less) the book takes a holistic view of presentation planning, design and delivery.

The author is the founder of her own presentation design business with a client list that reads like a who's who of the business world. Accordingly, samples of some of these presentations are included in the book.

Aside from practical pointers, this book will serve as an inspiration to presentation creators everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated Visuals, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In writing The Presenting Coach, I used this book in my research. It is a beautiful book, as you would expect. But it's more than that, it helps you through the art of making good presentation slides. This is the antidote to the complicated, fussy slides of old and guides the reader to think more about the audience-experience and how to make more impact with less on your slides.

I highly recommend it to those who are already good presenters but who want to bring elegance and sophistication into their slide presentation.

Tricia Woolfrey, Author of The Presenting Coach. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transformative, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: slide:ology: The Art and Science of Presentation Design (Kindle Edition)
Reading this will put an end to your "slidewareness". You'll be able to get the best of a presentation. You'll stop boring people with your lengthy slides. You'll enlighten people with your messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought - and some tips as well..., 13 April 2010
By 
Pelle Gustafsson (Philadelphia, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a how-to-do-it book, but a much better why- (or why-not) to-do-it.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All users of presentation software should read this!, 29 Aug 2008
By 
Ian Smith (Ilkley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is indispensable reading for anyone who has to communicate using presentations and PowerPoint (or Keynote or Impress or whatever). Nancy Duarte lays out what she has learned from many years of experience producing professional presentations for the likes of ex VP Al Gore. Her "how to" approach works very well indeed. For example, she doesn't just say "make use of contrast" but shows five different patterns for using contrast in practice, illustrated with simple diagrams depicting contrasts in size, shape, shade, colour and proximity. This book makes advanced slide design accessible to anyone - if you present to other people, you must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice reference book for creating slide visuals, 2 April 2009
By 
Alain Baute (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Designers probably will get most out of this book, but even without designer skills, there are valuable tips and tricks on improving the visuals on your slides.

I would recommend Beyond Bullet Points: Using Microsoft® Office PowerPoint® 2007 to Create Presentations That Inform, Motivate, and Inspire to get a better idea on the concept of creating text-light slides. Content is king, so get this one first.

I'm not thrilled by some of the graphs slide:ology features. Other than that, I got a lot out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful companion, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Drew (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I travel across Europe and deliver between 2-3 presentations a week to audiences ranging from 10 - 200 people. I work in the tech sector and I bought this book as inspiration to get away from the myriad of boring "death by powerpoint" presentations my audience are subjected to before I get up and speak.

This is a great book for helping me achieve that goal. It focuses a significant amount of attention on the small details that go into making a presentation effective and now I approach slide creation as a fun and creative process, rather than something laborious and a waste of time.

However, this is not "how to use powerpoint" or indeed "how to deliver great presentations", this is purely and simply "how to make your slides have visual impact", if you're happy with the corporate templates your company issues you, or even if you use powerpoint templates as your start, I suspect this book will be wasted on you.

1 criticism of the book is that it doesn't take you through the process Duarte use themselves. They give you lots of side notes about Al Gore and Steve Jobs, but I would have been more interested in what they did with Al Gore's content to make it into the slides he uses in "An Inconvenient Truth". Instead, this book shows you the before and after of bad then good slides. The journey those slides went on is not explored at all.

For an approach on how to get better at presenting, buy Presentation Zen and for a book on how to implement what "Zen" teaches you, buy this book.

The combination of the 2 is great value and you will use the content you read here time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth your time and money, 9 Oct 2008
By 
Darren Osadchuk (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Slide:ology: The Art and Science of Creating Great Presentations," by Nancy Duarte is a book that will change the way you think about your presentations. Almost anybody who has ever had to deliver a presentation would benefit in some way from reading this book.

The structure of the book follows the process that you'll ideally use in the course of developing a presentation, from coming up with the presentation content itself to developing the slides. At every step of the way, Duarte explains not only how you should create your presentations (e.g. how graphs and charts should be presented), but also why your information should be presented that way. Following Duarte's advice results in a slide deck that supports and enhances your presentation, rather than having the deck detract from or (even worse) BE the presentation. The result is a presentation where there is actually a good reason for the existence and content of each slide.

You might be thinking that you're not a designer, so you won't be able to create a presentation as good as some of the examples highlighted in the book, but you don't need to be a designer to improve your presentations. The book does cover some of the fundamentals of design (color theory, fonts, etc.), and does so in an approachable way, so the non-designers in the crowd (which is most of us) will get at least some information about design fundamentals to help you improve your presentations.

A tiny nitpick is that I would have liked to see even more examples of "good" slides in the book - or even better, more examples of bad slides being turned into good ones. The case studies are great, but many of them are accompanied by an often full-page photo of the presenter. I'd have preferred to see that space given over to more images of the slides.

Overall, I found this to be an excellent book that will easily and immediately reward the time you spend reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews