Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine
I have only used on new undamaged blades and it works fine both small axe and knife.
Will have to wait to see how many times it will sharpen a blade over a longer period of use.
Published on 23 Nov 2012 by cliffrob

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced old model
The latest version of this is available in many other countries. Just search for Fiskars 7861. Amazon.com ($9.99) is currently refusing to ship it to the UK, probably because Fiskars told them not to. The new model is also available globally through Ikea as an Ikea Aspekt sharpener for £5.

The message if anyone from Fiskars is reading... We like your products...
Published 23 months ago by BetterWidget


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced old model, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
The latest version of this is available in many other countries. Just search for Fiskars 7861. Amazon.com ($9.99) is currently refusing to ship it to the UK, probably because Fiskars told them not to. The new model is also available globally through Ikea as an Ikea Aspekt sharpener for £5.

The message if anyone from Fiskars is reading... We like your products but you lose goodwill when you screw us and treat us with such little respect. Net result, we will buy from Ikea and you lose money. Have a nice day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual Fiskars quality. Trust Ray Mears., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought this sharpener with high hopes, as my Fiskars X27 axe is just SO good. It is a hard act to follow, and it certainly proved to be for this sharpener. It is just a ceramic wheel inside a plastic case, but, if it does the job, I will forgive the cheap and rather flimsy feel that for £13.99 I think is pushing it. It didn't do the job, and I found that it failed to live up to my expectations. If it had cost £2.99 from a seller on eBay in China with free P&P, it would have been ok, but £13.99 and it doesn't even work? My X27 is one of THE best tools I have ever purchased, so why they would risk the Fiskars brand reputation by putting its name on this tat is beyond me. It doesn't lock into position if you choose either the axe or knife sharpener options, and to put any real pressure on the axe to sharpen it has already started to cut into the plastic groove. It only seems to touch one side of the blade, and one side is now shiny (but not any sharper) and the other side is still tree sap dulled. This is for sharpening an axe, and should be much more robust and better made. The risk of slipping whilst sharpening your axe with this is great, and, as the X27 has a razor sharp edge, this is now binned and consigned as a "no other option left" tool. This is no reflection on the seller, as they gave first class service and are to be commended, but Fiskars should hold their heads in shame for this product. It strikes me that they have taken a perfectly adequate knife sharpener and then added an option for an axe. They should have left it as a knife sharpener, sold it for £4.99, and then done a proper job with a more robust and sturdier axe sharpener. I have now taken my brothers advice which I should have done in the first place, and ordered myself a Ralph Martindale 6" file for machete and tool sharpening. (From eBay £2.99 + P&P) If it is good enough to be the only sharpener for Ray Mears to recommend to use on his £300 survival knives, it is good enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for knives, hopeless for axes, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
As the title of the review indicates, this item is good for sharpening knives but will certainly not sharpen an axe. I tried to sharpen my splitting axe and seemed to put a blunt edge on it more than anything else. You can do a much better job with a file, granted that it will not retain the polish whereas this does not leave marks but you will at least be able to cut butter with it. Its only designed for splitting axes and hatchets so anything will a large bevel such as a fireman's axe will not fit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
I have only used on new undamaged blades and it works fine both small axe and knife.
Will have to wait to see how many times it will sharpen a blade over a longer period of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's perfect, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
It's better than I expected. Very light and easy to use. In three minutes my axe became sharp again and effective especially on very hard Wood like olive. To tear spruce is even easier.
George Miliotis - Greece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
Well designed sharpener, does what it says on the box. Sharpens my axe and my knifes very well indeed. Good bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
Sharpens axes, knives easily and well. light to carry around and very effective, just slides between axes and knives and away you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works really well, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
Have used this on two axes and it really produced a good edge so I would recommend to anyone as a good product to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
It works really well and it is easy to use. Does not require anyone to show you how to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener (Garden & Outdoors)
Wonderful. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fiskars Xsharpe Axe and Knife Sharpener
£12.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews