Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for Waits
Although I'm a fan of Tom Waits' entire body of work, like many people I was first introduced to his 1970s Gin Pan Alley persona. This is Tom at his 'Nighthawks At The Diner'-era best, playing stripped-down arrangements of classic songs, often with very familiar skits and sketches in-between. As a Waits fanatic, I'd call this a must-have; it provides insights into a lot...
Published on 1 Dec. 2011 by Duke Groovy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ALBUM
I bought this as a gift for my husband. He seems very pleased with it and plays it a lot. Not much else to say other than the success must be reflected in the amount of use.
Published on 24 July 2012 by Gweb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for Waits, 1 Dec. 2011
By 
Duke Groovy (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
Although I'm a fan of Tom Waits' entire body of work, like many people I was first introduced to his 1970s Gin Pan Alley persona. This is Tom at his 'Nighthawks At The Diner'-era best, playing stripped-down arrangements of classic songs, often with very familiar skits and sketches in-between. As a Waits fanatic, I'd call this a must-have; it provides insights into a lot of his earlier work which he himself very rarely visits (tunes of this style were conspicuously absent from his earlier compilation 'Orphans'). If you like your songs about warm beer and cold women on the corner of 9th and Hennepin, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WAITS, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
Superb album consisting of great songs and humour. The '75 recordings are of really good quality, the later 80's songs sound a little muffled, but are still worth a listen, especially 'Time'. If you think, "well, I've got all these songs, what's the point", the point is, they stand side by side with the studio versions, my favourite 'San Diego Serenade' is excellent, but so are the other tracks. A wonderful addition to any Waits collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE TOM WAITS, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
C. STEVEN (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
Everything we love about this guys work. No simple redoing the classics, each song gets a complete intimate reworking in this great set. The guy is a poet and a vital chonicler of US culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a winner!, 16 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
This is a superb recording of Tom at his very finest. I love this period of Waits' career, and this this a truly fine live rendition of some of his greatest work. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ALBUM, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my husband. He seems very pleased with it and plays it a lot. Not much else to say other than the success must be reflected in the amount of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it..., 4 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
In 3 little words, I guess the title of this review says it all.

The concert is "fine", nothing compared to the vintage Nighthawks. But no idea why the producers (?) of this record decided to include a few extras completely out of context (recordings with very low quality from TV shows from the 80s).

Giving a -1 star is impossible, but the glitch during one of the musics (sounds like the tape recorder that was doing the initial recording failed at some point...) would definitely justify it.

From a longtime Waits fan here goes the definite final comment: this is not even for collectors. If you enjoy hearing him live, stay with the Nighthawks which is of the same Waits period and has the same kind of alignment (jokes included...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth bothering with, 14 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Round Midnight (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong, I am a massive Tom Waits fan, but the songs but all the songs on this live CD are pretty messy versions and only vaguely resemble the tight and well played versions on Nighthawks at the Diner and other albums of that period. I bought it because the description says it is the "holy grail" of waits recordings with just him and his piano but If you don't know Tom Waits just get "Nighthawks at the Diner" instead. No doubt many people will buy this just to hear what its about, but I say there is a good reason why it has not been previously released (if that's true).
I have to admit this is not my favourite period of Tom Waits, I prefer his earlier crooning stuff or best of all his later Crazy stuff like rain dogs, swordfishtrombones, the Black rider and everything else he did. The completists will want it but I would recommend anything else by him over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'Round Midnight (Live)
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews