Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2014
This is the third book by Marie Sever I have read. It took a while to get into and to be familiar with all the characters but I enjoyed it. It is easy to read and has a warmth about it which comes out in the descriptions.
The only downside was that I found it finished a little abruptly which was partly due to my kindle saying I had read 94% of the book so I want expecting it to finish and partly due to it having excerpts from two of Marie's other books at the end.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
This is the second book by Marie Sever that I have read. It is (as the first - Wipe Your Feet Please!!!) very funny and difficult to put down. I feel for Jean with her trying clients and typically teenage son.

Well worth a read!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
A fun enjoyable read. It's full of funny moments and well paced. The depiction of the characters is a brilliant portrait of humanity. As a Bridgnorth resident it's nice to see mention of local places in fiction too! The book is let down by errors, though. Typos and homonyms, mostly, but with a high frequency, one every few pages. For example, site instead of sight, ha instead of he, and at one point Samoas instead of Sumo (autocorrect, perhaps?) There was also a short paragraph that seemed to have been copied from earlier in the story to repear later - twice in succession. Definitely needs a professional proofread. Other than that, though, a great book, packed with humour, with an engaging narrator and fun characters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
The trials and tribulations of a dog sitter (and a variety of other domestic animals), who is juggling motherhood to a teenager, husband who becomes a recluse when writing books and many times married sister. Amusing and lighthearted!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Easy to read. Interesting to be a fly on the wall and find out how other people live. Quite challenging to be a house sitter at times.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Another excellent book by Marie Sever, made more enjoyable because I knew of all the places she mentioned.
Looking forward to the next one having read her previous two .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Very entertaining read. Read in just one sitting. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Make sure you read her new book taster chapter at the end.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Very good made me laugh,not a job for the faint hearted me thinks.
but on the whole you do get to see a lot of the uk keep it up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
key under blue pot & please milk the goat by Marie Sever good read enjoyed it what a good way to earn money
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
This has made me want to be a house/pet sitter too ... leave out the reptiles though!!! Really nice little book which gives a few happy hours of reading. If like me, you enoy a voyeuristic look at other peoples lives this is a good one for the collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse