Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars1,156
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2015
I am not sure why some folk have had difficulty with this item and getting it to work as it does so very much out of the box.
This is what I did to set it up as an access point as I am off on holiday so want to ensure I have Wi-Fi in my room and do not have to rely on a wired connection. There are other configurations if you wish.
At home plug the cable (supplied)into the Lan socket on device plug the other end of the cable into your wireless or wired router. Plug unit into the wall socket (mains). Open your wireless laptop ipad or iphone go to Wi-Fi settings and look for the SSID name (it will be TP-Link*****) click on this and then enter the password or pass code that is on the label on the unit. You will connect to it. Open your browser and type in to the address bar http://tplinklogin.net and you will then access the router set up pages (to access the default user name is admin and password is admin)then you can choose the mode of use and change to more personal passwords/usernames. -job is done. Disconnect and restart and connect with the new pass code and you are good to go. There are perfectly good written instructions and a small CD ROM which is superfluous to my mind.
Fab bit of kit - well done TP-Link!

This may be helpful to some
http://www.manualslib.com/manual/710000/Tp-Link-Tl-Wr710n.html
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
great bit of kit but had a lot of trouble getting it to work in client mode. this ended up being the setting in the wireless called WDS. its on auto by default and it would seem most uk routers use WDS 3. this is what was isolating anything connected to the tplink device lan port via cable from getting a dhcp assigned address from my main wireless router.
i ran through quick setup again setting the WDS to 3 , rebooted and voila. the xbox connected to the tplink got a dhcp assigned address from my router and internet worked from them on.
hope this helps someone else out there as i was pulling my hair out at one point.
now its working its great. very fast connection and all is very good. great for 16 quid which is half the price of a xbox wireless adaptor and i can use this with anything at all with an ethernet port to make it wireless.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I wish I had bought this device sooner! I moved into a university residence complex of apartments in September where internet is supplied only by Ethernet, which left me with the problem of not being able to use my Android phone or tablet online.

After some searching I found that the TP Link 702N was the device I needed; when the package arrived I couldn't get over how tiny the device actually is, and come with a flat short Ethernet cable and a mains plug that can also power the device by USB if you so wish. Setting up is effortless, you don't have to go near the admin panel of the router if you don't want to, plug in and play, the device itself is preconfigured as an access point, which is the function I require. Setting up on my devices was a matter of entering the default password found underneath the device on a sticker, although it is advisable to change this through the routers admin page; as too is maybe not broadcasting the SSID if you don't want anybody snooping on your network.

In summary this is a brilliant device with so many functions for the price, highly recommended!
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I bought this router from Amazon to use with my SKY+HD box instead of the Wireless Connector offered by Sky. I decided to buy this as not only was it cheaper, it has a higher maximum rate 150Mbps vs 130Mbps of the Sky offering and isn't locked down so could be used with other equipment. It was easy to setup and works flawlessly giving good speeds. The version I bought from Amazon came with a UK plug as I noticed some reviews mention those from other suppliers coming with a European plug. I chose to set it up in client mode (think glorified wifi dongle) rather than any of the other options as this seemed most appropriate for my setup. Overall I found it easy to use and setup and very versatile although the documentation barely mentioned client mode and I already have a TP-Link WR1043ND so am familiar with their web interface. The information for doing this is a bit vague so here is how I got it working (I dropped a star from the rating because the documentation would be confusing for someone who doesn't understand the basics of setting up a wi-fi router)

Setting it up for use with Sky+HD On-Demand (formerly Anytime+)
===============================================================
ON YOUR MAIN ROUTER (Virgin SuperHub, Sky etc.)
1. Note your routers IP Address and mask e.g. 192.168.0.x, 255.255.255.0
2. If you have a wireless access list setup make sure you add the WR702N's MAC address to the allowed list.
3. Add the router WR702N to your DHCP reserved address list e.g. 192.168.0.254

ON THE WR702N
1. Connect it via the ethernet cable to your computer and disable wifi on your computer so that the ethernet is the only network connection
2. Point your browser at 192.168.0.254
3. Login with admin as the user and password (you may want to change the password)
4. During the setup select client mode
5. When prompted for an IP address ensure that it is in the same subnet as your router e.g. if your router address is 192.168.1.x then make the WR702N address 192.168.1.254 for example
6. Ensure the subnet mask is the same as your router e.g. 255.255.255.0
7. Set the default gateway to the address of your router e.g. 192.168.1.1
8. When prompted reboot the router you can log back into it via the address you chose above e.g. 192.168.1.254

ON THE SKY+HD BOX
Ignore anything on the sky site about activating on-demand you just have to set it up on the box
1. Plug the ethernet cable into the green ethernet socket on the back of the box do not plug it into the WR702N yet.
2. Connect the WR702N to the power supply (the usb socket on the sky box isn't powered so you may need to use a plug)
3. Go to the services menu and select the network page
4. Plug the ethernet cable into the WR702N and wait a minute
5. The network page should detect the network and which point just follow the onscreen instructions.
6. If any of the options on the page say fail just unplug and re-plug in the ethernet cable to the WR702N.

Hope this helps someone who is trying to set one of these up with Sky.
88 comments|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a tiny little router, capable of doing everything much larger routers can do - and it can also be used as a wireless access point, as a Wi-Fi repeater and as a wireless client.

So, what can't it do? Well, it's ethernet-only, so if you have an ADSL (telephone wire) internet connection, you can only use it as a router if you also buy an ADSL "modem", and that would rather defeat the "small is beautiful" ethos. It only has a total of two ethernet ports, so if you want to plug in a large number of wired network devices, you're out of luck. And its Wi-Fi only works on the 2.4GHz band, which is relatively congested, and can only manage speeds up to 150Mbps (using up to two channels simultaneously).

What it *can* do is pretty much everything a much larger router can do. It support DDNS, can issue IP addresses (DHCP) and can route between the Wi-Fi and one of the ethernet ports (LAN) on one side and the other ethernet port (WAN) on the other side. So if you have cable internet with an ethernet presentation, this one tiny little box can be your home network. In that respect, it's the Mac Mini of routers. At 8cm x 7cm x 3cm it really is tiny, suitable for someone who doesn't want their home cluttered up with boxes, cables and flashing lights. There is one blue light on this little fellow, but that's it. Oh, and did I mention, it has a USB port, so you can connect a disk drive too, if you want.

If you already have a router, you can configure this device as:

- A Wi-Fi access point (AP). This lets you convert an ethernet (wired) network to wireless. If you're in a hotel that provides an ethernet cable but no Wi-Fi you can create your own hotspot.

- A Wi-Fi repeater. If your existing Wi-Fi doesn't provide coverage to all your house, you can plug this device in somewhere that is inside the existing Wi-Fi coverage but close to the bit that doesn't have Wi-Fi. It will then relay the Wi-Fi signals and extend coverage.

- A Wi-Fi client. THis means you can plug in a device that doesn't have Wi-Fi, such as an XBox 360, and it will connect the device to your existing wireless network.

- A Wireless ISP router. It's unusual in this country for your internet backhaul to be wireless, but if it is, this device can be your gateway device.

I use mine as an Access Point. I wanted to be able to use my home network at the bottom of the garden, which is out of range of the Wi-Fi signal. I have a greenhouse with mains power about half-way in between, so my choices were (a) to use the wireless repeater function to boost my existing wireless signal to the bottom of the garden, or (b) to use a pair of powerline devices to send my home network over the mains as far as the greenhouse, and then use the TP-Link device as an extra Wireless Access Point to provide coverage to the far end of the garden. This router can work either way, but I chose to use it with powerline devices as wireless repeating slows the wireless data rate down a fair bit. It works very well indeed, and only takes up a tiny bit of room in the greenhouse. I use these Netgear Powerline Adapters], which have a power pass-through, so the TP-Link device piggy-backs on top. I have a 15cm ethernet patch cable to connect them together.

If I didn't have an array of wired network devices, I would be tempted to have one of these as my main router. If TP-Link can make a router this small, why have one that's larger than a hardback book?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
After arriving in my residence halls at university I was quickly aware there was a lack of WiFi. Instead, there was a single Ethernet port which had to be plugged into my Macbook in order for me to receive internet connection. I was sick of using my Macbook's Internet Sharing function in order to provide WiFi for all my devices, mainly because it meant my laptop had to be on and plugged in 24/7! So I decided to look at a cheap small router as an alternative.

After a little research I found this product and was convinced that this was a good idea. The packaging is very Apple-esque, and the router is absolutely tiny! Honestly fits easily in the palm of a hand. It is pre-configured as an 'access point' so out of the box it is literally plug and play! Although the router has 5 other options once you login if you are a bit tech savvy and wish to alter the settings or properties. This is literally the only complaint I have; advanced setup can be a little difficult and requires a fair amount of technical knowledge.

Once setup, however, it is literally plug and forget...asides from everyone in my dorm now asking for the password! All jokes aside, once it is plugged in you can honestly forget about it! Range is surprisingly good and the speed is more than adequate. I am able to stream 1080p Netflix to my Playstation and still browse the internet on my phone.

Only real complaint I have is the lack of the 5GHz frequency band, that and no 300+Mbps speed. Albeit for the price this is by no means a deal breaker. Out of curiosity I decided to test the limits of this device, pre-configuring the router for the 'n' band at the highest power and speed. Once connected to multiple devices using heavy bandwidth the speeds absolutely crashed. Just something to keep in mind, this product is best suited to just a few devices that are not using heavy bandwidth!

Verdict:

This is a great product by TP-Link. Absolutely tiny, very portable and cheap, brilliant for providing WiFi where there is an ethernet port and no WiFi. I would definitely recommend :)
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
I have had this piece of kit running on my LAN for about two weeks now and it has performed brilliantly.

1. If you do not configure this piece of kit at all, but just a. plug it into a working ethernet-RJ45 connection and b. just power up by powering it over USB this gadget will automatically start working as an access point. Just make sure you plug in the net first and then the power. This gadget will detect it is being used as an AP and default to a working environment.

This is why the gadget is so handy to bring to hotels, friends, if you need to do a presentation, or whatever. You do no have to ask for their wireless details, just plug it in and it works. In this mode the gadget can be accessed from a client as 192.168.x.254 by default.

As a first time user you do not need to plug in an Ethernet cable directly to your computer and set to 192.168.0.xxx, if you start by using it as an access point you can just connect with the default ssid and passkey, then check whether it is at your lan's standard net/subnet addres as 192.168.x.254 and then log in to it as admin. Change the setting to whatever you want and you are up and running in seconds.

2. The signal is excellent and the connections as an AP are stable. My old router (a non-wireless zyxel from 2002) had (over time) had an AP added on (an Edimax) which did leave dead spots in the house. So I had added a high gain aerial. This worked, more or less accepatably. (The best aerial location was found by moving it around and then running around with a smartphone detecting the signal strength). This gadget was plugged in downstairs to test and it performd well immediately. The old AP was shut down because this one outperformed it, even without looking for an optimal spot. I had originally bought this to try on trips and holidays and I now find it in permanent as a low cost replacement of my old gear.

3. I have foudn that it shows no sign of any problems with 3 laptops and 3 smartphones connected, so I am confident it can do even bigger loads.

I may configure it as a router to bring on holidays (if the WAN is not detected while driving it can still be used to let everybody enjoy their own eBooks, MP3s and videos off a laptop or NAS-disk), that way the photos can be copied from the smartphones to the disk while diving and than uploaded at hotels, MC-donalds etc..

I have not found any disadvantages, yet. It's tiny size may make it easy to lose or be stolen. A USB with NAS port would have been brilliant too. As it stands I cannot fault this device. I may replace my LANs AP with one permanently.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I wanted to use the router as a repeater, so I can only share my experience about this mode. I was getting a very weak or no Wifi signal from my BT Homehub router (upstairs, front of house) in my kitchen extension (downstairs, back of house). I live in an older house with solid walls. Now I have a very good connection with my Nexus 7 tablet in my kitchen, and can stream video using BBC iPlayer without any problems at all.

I have located my repeater in the middle of the house, and I think its important to ensure that you are getting a good Wifi signal from your main router (the one connected to the internet) at this location.

Thanks to other reviews, I have located the step by step instructions on setting this up (before I bought this). FYI, its FAQ ID: 397 "How to Configure Repeater Mode on TL-WR702N" on the TP Link website. I followed this and had no trouble setting it up. The printed instructions that came with the router is not as clear as the FAQ.

I was a bit confused at first as there is no new SSID when using this in the repeater mode. Its just repeating the main router. To test its working, I went into my kitchen, and told my Nexus 7 tablet to "forget" the connection to my main router. Then I ask it to search for Wifi connections and the SSID of my main router showed up but with a much stronger signal. After I entered my passkey (for my main router), I was connected to the internet. Now, when I move around the house the tablet just seems to pick up a good signal in every room :)

The router is well protected in the manufacturer's box, but not excessive. It came with an USB power adaptor. The power cable is a bit short, so you may want to get a longer one if you want to locate your repeater higher than a metre about your mains socket. There is also a short flat and quite flexiable ethernet cable which would be good for client mode operation? There is also a mini "resource" CD, which I have not touched.

I would recommend this to my friends.
66 comments|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Have bought two of these.
Got the first one to use as a bridge from a wired network to a mifi whilst also acting as a wireless access point for the wired network. It IS possible (reports on some forums show some people struggling with this, as was I).

Doesn't work "out of the box" for this, but does it well with a bit of careful configuration. It took a while to figure out, so I hope this helps anyone trying to do the same thing.

Steps: (all done accessing the 702 and mifi in a browser by their ip addresses) read the docs. This isn't a walk-through, but should fill in the gaps for competent non-experts who have got it sort-of working, but not quite right.
1 Get the 702 and the mifi both on the same subnet (nnn.nnn.nnn.xxx) and give each a fixed IP address.
2 If you want to use the mifi as a direct access point as well, then configure its DHCP server with a set addresses range (not including any of the fixed addresses).
3 Then configure the 702 DHCP server with a different (again unused) IP addresses range. You should now be able to access both and they should co-exist without generating address conflicts. Whichever DHCP server gets the request first should deal with the request, so the 702 should serve the wired network and wifi clients logging into its SSID and the mifi should serve details to anything that accesses its SSID. The 702 should respond to clients on its side of the bridge before the mifi gets a look in, so they should all get the address, gateway and DNS settings the 702 gives them.
4. In the 702 DHCP configuration, set the "optional" (you NEED them) gateway address to the address of the mifi (or the 702 doesn't know where to route internet traffic and won't tell its DHCP clients either) and set the DNS servers 1 and 2 to some active servers you know work (either from your ISP, or public servers like google's 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4) for the same reason.
Both settings get passed on to the 702's DHCP clients and they then know to acces the net via the mifi (because otherwise the 702 router is a dead end) and have working DNS to tell them where to find stuff. Once set up right it just sits there and does the job and at less than £20.

Bought a second one to provide a wireless link to a projector that has ethernet but no wifi (much cheaper and more flexible than a dedicated "projectorco" dongle).

All in all great value as a cheap "fixit" / "add or access wifi" piece of kit and even better as a geek's toolbag "swiss army wifi gizmo".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I love gadgets, especially those that make my life easier. Very rarely do I ever come across a device for home use that works so well and so easily. Often, consumer/home devices are rubbish - buggy firmware, underpowered, incomplete features and other misgivings. So I usually go for professional-class devices (I'm an IT pro) and avoid cheap devices like these. Sometimes I'd spend hours configuring a device, trying to figure it out.

Not this one. It just works, with almost zero hassle. OK, I had to figure out a few minor settings, but in minutes this router just worked!

I use it as a repeater for my WLAN and the LAN port for one device that needs a wired connection. I also tested having a switch connected to the LAN port and devices connected to the siwtch - also works nicely.

Tips: use IE to configure the device, Chrome didn't work for me. Also, assign your computer a static IP (e.g. 192.168.0.12) since the DHCP server wasn't on by default (though in most routers it usually is).

I replaced a pair of homeplugs with this device which were starting to degrade. A similar device - a wireless repeater - would normally cost a lot more but thank goodness for this product. I'll probably buy a few spares, just in case :).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 167 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.