Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandman's Deadly
An excellent follow-up to the first installment of Sandman Slim.

This time Lucifer is in LA and Sandman Slim is roped in to provide some protection. However, there are some other guests in town. Zombies are on the prowl.

Sandman Slim has some additional help in the form of a Czech gypsy porn star, Brigitte Bardo.
With the Zombies suddenly...
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by The Dapper Dude

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book in search of a plot.
Having read Sandman Slim I have to admit to being slightly disappointed in this second novel in the series. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book because it broke through the logjam of what have become standard urban fantasy novels. This author set out to give the reader a character whose voice is humorous but also irreverent, impertinent, dark and tough, but I do feel...
Published on 14 Mar. 2011 by J. Lesley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book in search of a plot., 14 Mar. 2011
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Having read Sandman Slim I have to admit to being slightly disappointed in this second novel in the series. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book because it broke through the logjam of what have become standard urban fantasy novels. This author set out to give the reader a character whose voice is humorous but also irreverent, impertinent, dark and tough, but I do feel sorry for anyone who did not read that first book because in this one Richard Kadrey shows no mercy in trying to bring a new reader up to speed about most of what happened there. All of the incidents are remarked upon and figure prominently in the action of this book, but new readers are left with their legs churning as they try to catch up on what has happened in the past. It isn't necessary for an author to take a huge amount of time to bring current and returning readers up to date with their storyline and that would have been a welcomed addition here.

James Stark is the son of an angel and a human woman. His childhood was definitely not of the Ozzie and Harriet type and the scars of his feelings concerning his parentage play a key role in the character's development. Kadrey uses this book to explore that topic and the situations with Mason, Kasabian, Lucifer, Kinski, Candy, Vidocq, Allegra, and others from the Sub Rosa. He also introduces a new character, Brigitte Bardo (probably not her real name) who is a Czech gypsy porn star whose real purpose in life is to kill zombies. Stark begins to find zombies all over the place so he and Brigitte start killing them.

The wicked, black humor is still very much in evidence in this second book and there are some major advances made in the character of James Stark. I enjoyed most of the book except I kept waiting to see what the actual plot was going to be. When it finally came I didn't find it nearly as interesting as I had hoped. Definitely still worth reading for fans of gritty noir urban fantasy so it will not be a waste of your time. I just hope you've read the first novel before you crack this one open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandman's Deadly, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent follow-up to the first installment of Sandman Slim.

This time Lucifer is in LA and Sandman Slim is roped in to provide some protection. However, there are some other guests in town. Zombies are on the prowl.

Sandman Slim has some additional help in the form of a Czech gypsy porn star, Brigitte Bardo.
With the Zombies suddenly popping up, it comes about that somebody is behind this and Sandman Slim is on the case.

There is a new revelation with Sandman Slim expecially when he comes unstuck with a Zombie. We see a new side to him. Of course, there is still the Vigil and Aelita's on the move.

If you enjoyed the first book then I think you will have a lot of fun with this. Mason hasn't gone away just yet and it is only a matter of time before there is a stand off.
An excellent read.
Hat's off to Mr. Kadrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars developing beautifully, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I'm surprised how much I'm enjoying this series. It's witty, self aware, and secondary characters have no problem pointing out the fallibility and sometimes stupidity of the main character. I'm growing fond of the characters. There's enough moral ambiguity for me to chew on. The one liners are great, and every so often there is a page of theological v pop culture debate that is worth reading twice and leaves me with a smile on my face.

The plot holds together well, the LA atmosphere hangs like smog, the motivations are viable, the writing is immaculate, and I can't find a single thing to criticise. I need to pace my approach to the next vol, or I will consume them too quickly, stop appreciating them fully, and run out too soon. Like a good box of chocolates, these need savouring, one at a time, slowly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book from beginning to end, An absolute masterpiece. I can't wait to read the text of the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good fast pace read! sandman slim is the all round bad, good guy!, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
good fast pace read! sandman slim is the all round bad, good guy! There are plenty of people you want him to kill!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Just as brilliant and gripping as the first book in the series can't wait to read more.
Supernatural fantasy doesn't get much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Sandman Slim is a great anti-hero. His approach is nihilistic and criminal and all round crazy. A really good read and a great twist on the heaven and hell story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A step up., 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The first good was good, predictable in some sections, unexpectedly fun in others. This book became everything that the first book lacked. A better story, greater character development, more scope. A fully enjoyable read. Hopefully the third book will be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More guts gore & ghouls, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Zombies, split personality, lucifer as boss & uptight angels as enemies. Kasabian as a talking head instead of being a UK rock group. I love Stark aka Sandman Slim. A little too angst filled at times but when at his wildest he's a wonderful creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars continues the awesomeness, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Kadrey continues to twist your noggin with characters that are wholesomely badass good guys and equally wholesome bad guys. Arghhh I don't know which side I want to win all I know is the sandman is gonna make it all burn whilst Nero plays his fiddle and dances!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Book 2)
£3.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews