Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


412 of 440 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'But that was long ago and in another country'
'His children are falling from the sky,' is the arresting opening sentence of the second novel in Mantel's trilogy, exploring the life of Thomas Cromwell at the court of Henry VIII. Hawks at the king's hunting party in Wiltshire have been named after Cromwell's dead daughters, an odd memorial, but one that immediately reminds us of Cromwell's loss of those dear to him,...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Purpleheart

versus
77 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dense, but not deep
This sequel fails to deliver the interest and and colour of Wolf Hall, and overall is pedestrian and boring.

Mantel persists in her strange narrative style: third person, with Cromwell often only referred to as 'he', with a first person's perspective. A new innovation is the awful phrase 'he, Cromwell', rather than just 'Cromwell' which makes the English...
Published on 6 Jun. 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2175 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

412 of 440 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'But that was long ago and in another country', 15 May 2012
By 
Purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Hardcover)
'His children are falling from the sky,' is the arresting opening sentence of the second novel in Mantel's trilogy, exploring the life of Thomas Cromwell at the court of Henry VIII. Hawks at the king's hunting party in Wiltshire have been named after Cromwell's dead daughters, an odd memorial, but one that immediately reminds us of Cromwell's loss of those dear to him, and the cut-throat world in which he is now a key player. 'When they look down they see nothing but their prey, and the borrowed plumes of the hunters; they see a flittering, flinching universe, a universe filled with their dinner.'

As has been observed by others, Mantel is writing at the height of her powers and her language is full of delights. She doesn't burden us with her research, which effortlessly provides the structure to her novel - it is her sensory description which allows us to think we know what it is to inhabit the world of Henry Tudor. She conjures up - with even more skill perhaps - the workings of Cromwell's mind and the political machinations required to serve his king and to remove and execute a queen, according to the law of England. Cromwell has read Machiavelli and clearly thinks he could write better if he had the time - but there are always papers, always business to be attended to if the kingdom is to prosper.

Wolf Hall is an extraordinary novel, fully deserving of its prizes and the praise it gathered; Bring Up the Bodies is its near equal. If Wolf Hall was very much about the fall of Wolsey and the rise of Cromwell to high office, Bring Up the Bodies is about Cromwell holding on to power while Anne Boleyn loses it, and the cost of that to both. Mantel is writing a trilogy and this makes sense for the second act. Wolsey is still a character in this novel; his spirit guiding Cromwell, his loyalties and actions. Anne Boleyn loses her influence when she fails to provide Henry with a son and heir. Cromwell and Anne Boleyn supported each other in their rise to power but Cromwell notes the signs that the king's interest is moving and determines not to repeat Wolsey's mistake of not fulfilling the king's wishes quickly enough. The long-standing fascination with the Tudors is such that most of us know the plot - but Mantel triumphs in creating suspense and pathos for Anne and in keeping us strongly aligned with Cromwell's point of view, even as he schemes and orchestrates the evidence against her.

About halfway though the novel there is an pivotal scene where Henry is believed dead after a jousting accident. Mantel describes Cromwell's thought processes as the court panics and the country is on the brink of chaos. One moment he is caught up in emotion as he gazes at the king, 'Henry is waxen, and he sees the shocking tenderness of human flesh evicted from steel. He is lying on his back, all his magnificent height stretched out on a piece of ocean-blue cloth. His limbs are straight. He looks uninjured. He touches his face. It is still warm. Fate has not spoiled him or mangled. He is intact, a present for the gods. They are taking him back as he was sent.' The next moment he is thinking how he will pre-empt a civil war. It is a tour de force which both informs us of Cromwell's character, allowing us to make sense of his later actions, and gives us some insight into the fragility of the peace the Tudor reign has brought.

Henry's fickleness is clear throughout this novel, the renaissance prince is shown to be increasingly narcissistic and Cromwell has to draw on all his powers to manage him. It was part of Hilary Mantel's genius to tell this story from Cromwell's viewpoint. He is a man who has gained power through merit and hard work rather than by birth and privilege - and that appeals to our age and sensibilities. He is powerful and yet he knows that his power is vested in the king and in the value he brings him. Later in the novel Henry convulses with rage and says 'I really believe, Cromwell, that you think you are king, and I am the blacksmith's boy.' Cromwell is able to avert Henry's rage - whilst thinking that Henry would not have survived the smithy and the need for a cool head around fire and molten metal - but he knows that he will only survive if he gives the king money and the possibility of peace and an heir and so he goes to work.

Mantel has a mischievous way of inserting lines into her narrative that seem to come from Elizabethan plays not yet written - just one more enjoyable part of this rich and exciting novel.

If you read nothing else this summer - read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine body of work, 14 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Hardcover)
After the superbly crafted Wolf Hall no one could have expected the sequel, Bring Up The Bodies to extend and develop the stylistic writing and brilliantly realized imagery- and yet it does, triumphantly so that as a deliberately shorter 'middle book' of a trilogy the story of Cromwell and the fall of Ann Boleyn, is both dark and totally gripping. This is no filler middle book but a brilliant tour de force of daring and beautiful writing. Whilst in Wolf Hall the narrative imagery and establishment of characters/setting seemed to dominate here it is the dialogue sequences that stand out with wonderfully crafted confrontations between Cromwell and Boleyn and as her world implodes the supposed "lovers" that Cromwell entraps. The daring also comes in Cromwell's thought world as he occasionally lapses into fantasy reverie about the situations that he both creates and is entangled in. His increasing isolation (as he works late and almost constantly) is offset by endless summonses and orders from the king to deal with Boleyn and engineer the marriage to Jane Seymour. In the background there are constant references to Wolsey and More as victims of the kings capricious whims or Boleyns supposed scheming. Within all this Mantel finds time for dark humour (call me rizly) and the wonderful mangling of his name in mock affectionate terms (Henry calls him crumb, Boleyn mangles his name in pseudo French pronunciation) so that he appears to be a shapeshifter- Cromwell uses a protean and prodigious energy to serve all his "masters" whilst himself remaining the master of his own destiny, yet enemies remind him of his probable fate under Henry if he puts a foot wrong. Mantel is highly skilled, sincere and totally in control of her material. Originally this was never intended to be a trilogy but as a reader I am grateful for one more volume that will see Cromwell meet his maker- for now mantel is his maker and overall she has produced a stunning piece of work- worthy of the booker longlist and a good tip to win overall. Its a mesmerising read in what will be Mantels tour de force- her finest body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illumination of a famous tale, 2 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Hardcover)
Having read `Wolf Hall', I was chomping at the bit to read `Bring up the Bodies'. This book is large, heavy; it appears a challenging read from the outset, yet I was hooked. I work an hour away and I carried this book with me on the train everyday if only to capture a quiet moment to indulge myself in Thomas Cromwell's world. When I completed it, I read it again.

Mantel is an incredible writer; her prose brings the court of Henry to life in a manner other writers can only dream of. The characterisation of Cromwell is compelling. Thomas is often portrayed in other volumes as a devious, scheming bully, instrumental the fall of Anne Boleyn, betraying his former mistress when the tide turned against her. Mantel takes the facts of 1536 and puts forward an alternative; Cromwell's motives are understood and I even found I sympathised with his plight, a balancing act of humanism against the impenetrable will of a disillusioned king.

The characters of Anne and Henry are fascinating. For one moment, Cromwell can see Anne's attraction and the next he cannot; the moment has past and therein lays his power against her, she cannot charm him as she does others. Anne acknowledges this and it grates on her; her vanity is wounded and this is her eventual undoing. Henry is the big love in Cromwell's life as the king was to Wolsey previously; yet the king's character is cleverly constructed to imply a deeply flawed individual, spoilt and sulky, yet somehow charismatic. He is neither deserving of devotion nor despicable as a tyrant; his character portrays what we dislike most in present-day politicians etc. - an inability to engage with life in a real world to which they have never been party. Somehow one feels pity for Henry, his privileged upbringing has left him utterly isolated, yet he is surrounded by false friends. Cromwell is his only true ally yet Henry is often too short-sighted to appreciate his worth.

`Bring up the Bodies' is an interesting, stimulating read; the story of Anne's fall is tragic and thought provoking. The text is exceptional; the description rich and captivating, not a cliché in sight. Mantel even makes policy readable! There is moments of extreme emotion, despair, and yet humour in the oddest places; much as in reality.

I cannot wait for the next book to be released; HM please hurry!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dense, but not deep, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This sequel fails to deliver the interest and and colour of Wolf Hall, and overall is pedestrian and boring.

Mantel persists in her strange narrative style: third person, with Cromwell often only referred to as 'he', with a first person's perspective. A new innovation is the awful phrase 'he, Cromwell', rather than just 'Cromwell' which makes the English appear worse, rather than better. As well as confusing the reader (with no gain in terms of more sophisticated understanding), this clumsy form of expression can lead to daft writing, such as "The earl is on his feet. He remains seated."

The readability of the novel is further diminished by the poor use of paragraphs, extraordinarily long chapters, and the lack of clear breaks between different scenes. I expect that everyone reads for a limited period at a time - certainly not for 150 pages without a break. Without obvious breaks in the text, and the tendency to segue directly from one event to the next, there is no logical place to stop reading, and when starting to read again, I often had to back track to find the thread of the narrative again. The novel has a 'stream of consciousness'feel to it, without the depth or insight that usually accompanies this style of writing, and gives no consideration to how the reader might respond to the text.

I've read many, many novels in my time, some quite long and demanding, eg Tolstoy's 'War and Peace', and 'Anna Karenina'. I don't mind thinking hard to get full value from the text, but in this case, I felt that maintaining the concentration required was more akin to understanding a tedious tax form, rather than appreciating literary depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Up the Bodies, 10 May 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
If you loved Wolf Hall as much as I did, I am sure you will enjoy this novel every bit as much - if not more. In Bring up the Bodies, sequel to "Wolf Hall", Hilary Mantel continues Thomas Cromwell's story. "Wolf Hall" concentrated on Henry's divorce and the fall of Wolsey; this book takes place between autumn of 1535 and the summer of 1536 - a relatively short space of time, but one in which momentous events occur.

Henry's divorce has not brought peace to the realm. England abounds with rumours, scandal, intrigue and gossip. It seems to be always raining - the destroyed crops blamed on Anne Boleyn and the discontent she has brought to the country. People do not like change, but perhaps a Prince might bring some solace to the King and the people. However, as we know, this is not to be. Tudor times were full of politics and danger and Hilary Mantel brings those people to life as no other author has managed in a book about this era. Her writing is sublime - when she describes the Bishop of Winchester entering a room, for example, she writes, "when Stephen comes into a room, the furnishings shrink from him..." You have an immediate feeling for what and who people are. Having said that, I must address the fact that some people reviewing "Wolf Hall" said they found it confusing to know who was speaking. I can't say I ever found that myself but, if you did, bear in mind that this novel is very much in the same style and carries on from "Wolf Hall" almost seamlessly.

The fall of Anne Boleyn has been much written about, but this novel really makes you empathise with the volatile Anne as her plotting and planning is undone in the intrigue of the Court. It seems every time Cromwell visits, his arm is plucked by an informant as he leaves the Queens side - mostly by the slightly sinister Lady Rochford, who seems to spend her time waiting in the shadows. You can feel Henry's bitterness at all the turmoil and scandal for a second marriage and still no son, unable to name a legitimate son as heir and his discontented eyes roving towards Jane Seymour. Cromwell's happy home is used to great advantage to contrast with the atmosphere at Court and Mantel's portrayal of Cromwell is sympathetic and realistic. This is, overall, a triumph and I am already eagerly anticipating the third part of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


150 of 173 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful prose but not the equal of Wolf Hall, 11 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Hardcover)
Had Amazon given me the option, I think I would have given this 3.5 stars. It's a beautifully written book which is, at times, touching, funny, tense and always intelligent. I certainly devoured it. Nevertheless, I found it a lesser novel to Wolf Hall for several reasons. (Minor spoilers below if you are not familiar with Tudor history).

Firstly, whilst it carried on the tale of Cromwell, I didn't feel that it added much thematically to what had already been explored in Wolf Hall. There were additional considerations on statecraft and age but so much territory had already been covered that it felt like an addendum to the previous novel rather than a discreet work. Compare it, for example, to "I, Claudius" and "Claudius the God", which tell two halves of a story but use the two halves to explore quite distinct themes; consequently, both Claudius novels feel fresh in a way that Bring up the Bodies doesn't.

I also found the plot less rewarding - I think because it deals with a difficult transitory period concerning the pomp and fall of Anne Boleyn. Therefore, the actions lend themselves less easily to a novel than the passage of Cromwell from Putney bruiser to Master of the Rolls and Secretary to the King as told in Wolf Hall. There is a less clear direction of travel for our main protagonist and he has less agency in the journey he goes on, at times seemingly 'going through the motions'. This sets up some nice comparisons with the fall of Wolsey but I couldn't escape the feeling that the interrogation of Boleyn's lovers, for example, was a less brilliant literary execution (pardon the pun) than that of Thomas More in the first novel. It just seemed more pedestrian and, I think, that is because Mantel had less juicy historical ingredients to play with.

I can't help but feel that this is a bridging novel (I believe there is a third novel en route?) and, consequently, is largely designed to get the main characters from the end of Wolf Hall (the 'rise of Cromwell') to the beginning of the next novel (the 'fall of Cromwell'). That is not to say that it isn't good - it is very good - but whereas Wolf Hall was a book that functioned wonderfully as a self contained exploration of plot, character and theme this novel lacks both the internal coherence of those three factors and the excitement of so much novelty and invention.

I can't help but wish that Mantel had cleansed her pallet with another project between Wolf Hall and Bring up the Bodies so she could come to the material fresh. Sadly, I imagine that the effort of holding the life of Cromwell and the constituent themes of the book is too taxing to break it up like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
G. Squires "Jinx" (Neilston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I found this sequel to move seamlessly on from Wolf Hall and carried me with it in breathtaking style. It is a gruesome time in history and hitherto, I have only thought of the era as cruel, bloodthirsty and one dimensional - ie just facts. This story takes you right into the heart of it, you are surrounded by all the names that you learned in history at school but they are people, you find out if you like them or not, are afraid of them or not, approve of them or not. They live so vividly around you that you can hear the swish of the opulent clothes, hear the words being said that lead to disaster while you want to shout, 'No! No! Don't say that, they will kill you for it!' It is not a comfortable read and you must pay attention to all the nuances and tiny things going on as they all have an impact later, but it is absorbing, shocking, terrifying, infuriating and moving. These people were real. Can't wait for the third part ... and the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The order goes to the tower 'Bring up the bodies'. Deliver, that is, the accused men', 1 April 2014
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Paperback)
Superb work, which I think was even better than 'Wolf Hall', perhaps because I'm now used to Ms Mantel's writing style and also feel I know Thomas Cromwell - a character who's usually in the background of Tudor histories where we focus on Henry VIII and his entourage.
This work covers Henry's disenchantment with Anne, as he falls for Jane Seymour, 'like a flower, head drooping, modest as a drift of green-white hellebore' . Meanwhile it is left to Cromwell to arrange the legal case for Anne's adultery and convenient execution:
'the process clear, logical and designed to create corpses by due process of law.'
The stream of consciousness style of writing puts the reader inside Cromwell's head - recollections from years ago float alongside current events and make him a character you understand. Can't wait for the final volume; although I feel I know him so well I can't bear for him to meet his end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Hardcover)
Have just finished reading this book, being the sequel to the Wolf Hall for which the author won Man Booker Prize in 2009. I am pleased that she won this year's Man Booker Prize for the sequel. It is very well written, she is the master of English language.

Anne Boleyn is now the queen but she fails to deliver what she promised, a son to the king, Henry VIII. Thomas Cromwell now chief minister to the King observes the downfall of Anne Boleyn and Henry's lust for a young Jane Seymour. There is no place for Anne and she has to be removed, rather like a chess piece on a chess board. Thomas Cromwell now arranges for her removal and her end comes in 1536.

Hilary Mantel's portrayal of the Tudor era is vivid, the people come alive, and her style of writing is gripping and in my view this is one of the finest books I have read and would recommend it to anyone interested in historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Wolf Hall, mainly due to the subject matter, 16 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book chiefly because I find the events covered fascinating and because Mantels treatment of Cromwells character is intriguing. In Wolf Hall he is largely a hero, here he is both light and shade; a devoted family man, yet willing to send innocent men to the scaffold over an old grudge. Her foreshadowing of his own end lends what should be a triumphant ending a macabre chill. The tension and violence of Anne Boleyns last days are conveyed beautifully.

However - as I stated in my review for Wolf Hall, the writing style is atrocious. It didn't bother me as much simply because I read it straight after Wolf Hall and so knew what to expect. But if a new or more commercial author tried to write this way their book would never be published. Terrible grammar and inconsistent formatting - it's not 'literary', it's just pretentious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2175 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews