Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing.
Having watched the highlights of the IronMan event in Kona over the years I vividly remember the rivalry between Dave Scott and Mark Allen. Long before the current hi-tech triathlete scene, these guys really were pioneers. Matt Fitzgerald captures the energy (and exhaustion) of the event along with a captivating back-story for each character so that we get to see so much...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by smcoll

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read for Ironman fans
Easy read and great insights into an epic rivalry- worth a read for triathlon fans. Interesting to know the personal stories of these two great figures in the sport.
Published 9 months ago by mood08


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing., 11 Jan 2012
Having watched the highlights of the IronMan event in Kona over the years I vividly remember the rivalry between Dave Scott and Mark Allen. Long before the current hi-tech triathlete scene, these guys really were pioneers. Matt Fitzgerald captures the energy (and exhaustion) of the event along with a captivating back-story for each character so that we get to see so much more than than the one-hour highlight shows. A must for anyone interested in the history of the sport and endurance events in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, inspiring!, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inspiring book with a lot of great stories,I really loved the year by year battles these athlestes faced. I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read whether you're interested in Triathalon or not!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
I was bought this book for my birthday. As a "recreational Triathelete" I thought it was fantastic. Really well written and interspersed with interesting views on the motivation to do, and succeed in endurance sports.

I think this is well worth a read if you're interested in Triathalon or not - the story is that interesting and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story line - mediocre writing, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content of the book and main theme are riveting but it could have been better written. Worth buying and reading, Matt Fitzgerald is an accomplished coach / athlete so he has extensive knowledge but it probably would have packed more punch had it been co-authored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read for Ironman fans, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy read and great insights into an epic rivalry- worth a read for triathlon fans. Interesting to know the personal stories of these two great figures in the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of one of the greatest Ironman World Champs ever, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great insight, but it does go on a bit.

Plus both of the athletes at the centre of the book have refuted a lot of it as, well, b*ll*cks basically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, gentle read with a fantastic breakdown of the race itself, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron War: Two Incredible Athletes. One Epic Rivalry. The Greatest Race of All Time. (Kindle Edition)
A nice enjoyable book that delivers all of the tension the of Iron War race right down to the wire.

The attempts to break down the science of the two competitors was not an area that held my interest but could not stop my enjoyment of the book or my marvel and respect of Dave Scott`s and Mark Allen's achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very inspiring read, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. P. Broughton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron War: Two Incredible Athletes. One Epic Rivalry. The Greatest Race of All Time. (Kindle Edition)
A friend recommended this book to me and like he said, it's one of the best sporting books I've read. It follows the story of two top level athletes. Two very different characters using very different techniques to achieve there goals finding themselves racing against one another. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a story about a race, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron War: Two Incredible Athletes. One Epic Rivalry. The Greatest Race of All Time. (Kindle Edition)
The book covers the not only the 1989 Kona Ironman, but also the background, the science mad the obsession of toe men's pursuit of supremacy. A fascinating read with something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron War: Two Incredible Athletes. One Epic Rivalry. The Greatest Race of All Time. (Kindle Edition)
Loved the rivalry, the back stories and the passion that both protagonists show in their effort for glory. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews