Customer Reviews


535 Reviews
5 star:
 (420)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
I pre ordered this box set with great anticipation being a lifelong Bond fan. Already have the DVD's but was tempted by all the films in blu ray in a single box set. I wasn't dissapointed. The films were taken from the original prints and cleaned up with loving care. The result is the best quality I have seen for these classic films. Absolutely stunning. Dr. No looks like...
Published 21 months ago by DJT

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bond 50 Blu-Ray 1 Step Forward 2 Steps Back
Bond 50 Blu-Ray Collection UK Set

All discs are Region Free (except Quantum Of Solace - Region B)

The Case: One box contains two sturdy book-style holders; `1962-1981' and `1983-2012'. Two Blu-rays side by side 24 slots, 12 in each book. There is one space for `Skyfall' however should it have a two disc individual release, I'm not sure how that's...
Published 18 months ago by Troy


‹ Previous | 1 2 354 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond the best, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Paul Schembri "Paul Schembri" (Malta Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
From all the movies on Blue Ray these films are the best in blue ray and sound. Buy it you will love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection to Have, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Really happy with the purchase of the Bond collection in Blu-ray. The video looks fantastic and watching the extras are a really good addition. It is better than the old DVD sets.

One comment stands out for me on one of the extra items from Dr. No in that the restoration team mentions that they wanted the move to look like it was filmed last year to look like it was in the 60's, not that it was filmed in the 60's. For that alone they sure do make it look like it was filmed after the Quantum of solace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond 22 Film Collection, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Being the James Bond fanatic that I am I would reccomend to anyone who Likes James Bond
James Bond 22 Film Collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 22 Films 50 years Bond at his best, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
This Bond set is the best I have ever seen Bond the restoration of the films is top notch and the packaging is unreal 23 disc in 2 bond books from 1962 till 2012 with a sleep set aside for Skyfall, plus the extras ohh boy what a rush on top of the extras you have on each bond movie disc there is a further disc with all new extras and they are divine.

A must for any Bond fan, price is amazing and Quality 2nd to none well worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next to nothing new here, but a very decent collection on Blu-ray - with a few caveats, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
NB: As is their wont, Amazon have bundled the reviews for the Blu-ray and DVD boxed sets together. This review refers to the Blu-ray edition. Please bear in mind that the DVD version only includes the one-disc versions of the films, losing nearly all the extras apart from the audio commentaries.

With the release of Skyfall imminent, EON and MGM/UA have finally got around to releasing the remaining Bond films that weren't on Blu-ray (with the exception of non-EON entries Never Say Never Again and the 1967 Casino Royale), releasing them in a lavish boxed set that's surprisingly sturdily constructed but offers virtually nothing new for those who have already faithfully collected the Ultimate Edition DVDs. The plentiful extras have been carried over pretty much wholesale from those two-disc releases, with one exception - Casino Royale is a strange hybrid of the two-disc special edition and first single-disc release, containing most of the special edition's extras but losing Martin Campbell's picture-in-picture commentary, two featurettes (The Art of the Freerun, Catching a Plane - From Storyboard to Screen), the revised documentary Bond Girls Are Forever, storyboard sequence and filmmaker profile featurettes (Martin Campbell, Chris Corbauld, Phil Méheux, Gary Powell, Alexander Witt and David Arnold). The version of Die Another Day only features the extras from the Ultimate Edition, with the much better extras from the original DVD release, including the 76-minute making of documentary, still AWOL.

The picture quality is for the most part very good, though it's not always as convincing as you feel it should be, with the suspicion that some scenes have been scrubbed up a little too brightly compared to the way they looked on the big screen. GoldenEye thankfully corrects the overcropping of the Ultimate Edition DVD release that was particularly noticeable when cutting off letters and numbers on video displays and is now in the proper framing but it has some noticeable DNR work done on it, though it's not as dramatic as some reports claim. More worrying is that the UK set doesn't offer the original mono soundtracks on the early Bond films that were previously released on Blu-ray, such as Dr No, From Russia With Love, Goldfinger and Thunderball, instead offering remixed stereo tracks that often favour the sound effects a little too much. The new to BD titles do contain the original mixes, but if you want them on the earlier films you'll have to buy the US set - which will cause a problem for those without multi-region Blu-ray capability since the set is a mixture of Region A-locked titles (Dr No, From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, Thunderball, Live and Let Die, The Man with the Golden Gun, Moonraker, For Your Eyes Only, Licence to Kill, The World is Not Enough, Die Another Day, Casino Royale and Quantum of Solace) and Region-free ones (You Only Live Twice, OHMSS - thankfully the uncut version - Diamonds Are Forever, The Spy Who Loved Me, Octopussy, A View to a Kill, The Living Daylights, GoldenEye and Tomorrow Never Dies).

As for the exclusive extras disc - well, it's a huge disappointment. Rather than include any new extras from Quantum of Solace such as the deleted "The name's Bond. James Bond" ending or any of the slew of other promos or documentaries about the series it's just a brief selection of soundbites, very brief featurettes, a few video diaries for Skyfall and a collection of title sequences from the films. There's no booklet either, but at least the book-style packaging for the films is especially strong, has a space reserved for Skyfall and is designed for repeated use - which plenty of these films will be getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ****WARNING****, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
This really should be a five star release. The restoration work and transfers are quite simply stunning. I started watching them in chronological order, got to Diamonds Are Forever And it wouldn't load. Took it out and there's a big crack running from the centre circle about 1.5cm into the disc. OK, these thing happen. Speedy Amazon replaced within two days.

When the second set arrived I thought it would be prudent to visually check all the discs. I find in the replacement set two 'The Living Daylights', and no 'Goldeneye'. Good job I haven't yet sent the first set back.

All in all one star docked for the crappy quality control.

I've read somewhere else that other buyers have had the same problem with duplicated discs, not sure if it was on Amazon though.

If you haven't yet checked yours, then it might be a good idea to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be afraid of scratches, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I'm writing this review to hopefully convince anyone thinking of not buying the set because of the way the disks are inserted into the boxes.
Though unorthodox and it does remind me of the 1st edition Buffy boxes. I would have to add that the 1st edition Buffy disks were hell on earth to try and get back into the boxes. They were very tight fitting and after putting them in I had to resist the urge to pull them back out to see if I scratched anything.

Now the James Bond disks fit right in their place, the cardboard back is scratch free sealed paper. They're half covered by a cardboard flap that can't be moved. You can put the disks in and pull them out easily by holding the rims of the disks. They're held in place perfectly. They won't fall out easily. Each page is about 3mm thick. The left page is a work of art on each page. A wonderful collage of photo's from the two movies that are found on the right page.

Long story short. Don't worry about scratching your disks. I'm not and I'm always worried about scratching my disks (I don't even lend out my disks for this exact reason).

As for the rest of it: I can't bring it any better then IOWBOY already did, so I won't even try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set, but the bonus disc is a joke, 18 Oct 2012
By 
The Raven ""Max"" (Brno, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
All films look better than ever. Before I bought this when I was looking for a review of the set this is what I wanted to know.

Questions.
1. Are the Bond films basically the Blu-ray versions of the former James Bond "Ultimate edition" DVDs?
2. What exactly is on the Bonus disc?

Answers.
1. YES!! Fantastic that all these extras are on there. Anyone who had the Ultimate Editions will agree the extras on show there would have been hard to beat and they are represented here on each film's disc with each film looking better than ever in remastered HR colour. Bizarrely, however, Casino Royale which previously had never had an Ultimate Edition DVD treatment is given it here, but then Quantum of Solace hasnt been given any makeover at all! In fact, its the exact same Blu Ray disc that was originally released in 2008...it even has the same trailers...from 2008!!!

2. What a con!! An hour of features? Yeah. 45 minutes worth is Skyfall videoblogs you could get off YouTube. Others; the cars of Bond etc are just 2 minute clips. However, the BIGGEST disappoint is the "Being Bond" featurette which I had assumed would be fresh interviews with the Bond actors discussing the role. Instead its 4 minutes (YES, 4 minutes!!) of old spliced together Bond interviews which add nothing that we havent seen before. A truly missed opportunity.

However, if you are not bothered about that, you wont be disappointed. I still give the set 5 stars because with all the great remastered films on offer and the literally hours and hours of extras it would be churlish to complain about one bonus disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond expectations..., 4 Oct 2012
By 
D. A. Podesta - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I'm up to 'Thunderball' now and after watching the first three films, I am amazed over what restoration technology can do. 'Dr. No', even with it's low budget at the time, watching this in HD makes it look like it was filmed very recently!

I have seen hundreds of HD transferred movies and this box set out-stands them all. I love the packaging, plus it has an empty sleeve for 'Skyfall'.

A must for all 007 fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Putting the record straight!, 8 Oct 2012
Without going through every review,i can't be sure,but i get the impression that almost every review on here is for the blu-ray box set and not the standard one. I'm sure hidden away there are some but the majority talk about the more expensive blu-ray set which gives a false reading for the overall score! I have purchased the cheaper version,partly because i can't afford almost a hundred pounds...and partly because i'm not that bothered about all the extras,all i want to do is watch the films! I see some bright spark has given it one star for having no bonus footage...you didn't think to check first!? My score is based on the quality of the films and to me they are fine,if i wanted to spend a hundred pounds i would have done! So i'm happy with the item i purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 354 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962]
James Bond - 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1962] by Marc Forster (Blu-ray - 2012)
87.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews