Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2012
Opening track 'Prisoner' is simply amazing & is a continuation from their initial 3 five track vinyl & CD EPs but with a slight transformation taking us more into an explosive thundering Kraftwerk/Pink Floyd/Future Sound Of London/Coldplay type territory even if it is not really like any of those. You should play this opening track a few times before you proceed any further as it's quite mesmerising. A berserk drummer (what a drummer) & a crazed female singer plus a female keyboardist (the brilliant Heather) who has also now gone bonkers & a still seemingly in control guitarist is buried within all of this as he introduces the build up with those ringing Floydish chords. It is a simply astonishing start. Maybe you don't need to go any further & just put this on endless re-play. Next 'Endless Summer' is more of this explosive kind & carries on some of the traditions of Aussie bands of the 80s like Choir Boys/Triffids. The songs have no choruses as this seemingly unusual story of inspired intense love unfolds with often Hayley singing about a "her" or a "she" hence some mystery "I've been on fire to go inside her" & "even in the way she walks" as whether she is singing from a male point of view or female or whether it is her love for the Aussie landscape of which unusual images are scattered in the CD booklet or all 3? 'Long Highway' as Hayley's Cyndi Lauper type supercharged vocals from this fragile looking female "hear me roar" is 100% emotion. Also brilliant, 'Try Colour' continues this huge sound with thundering drums & synthesizers - could such gentle looking people create such a huge tough sound. In fact the album is just like one long track & the remaining numbers are 'Rosebud', 'City Girl', 'Nobody Nowhere', 'Austerlitz' (a reflective instrumental which seems like an album closure before exploding again into further high energy), 'Deep Wide Ocean', 'Peace Of Mind', 'Reprise', and then grand finale 'Catch Me' "and in the towns that I love love love love" is another slab of total brilliance. Perhaps some things slightly missing are a really killer melody plus it's also slightly one dimensional & also not an easy work to get into but nevertheless the production, outstanding performance & interesting lyrics carries this beautiful & astonishing work into the stratospheres. Forget the media's yearly top album awards for 2011 this was or is the best.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
I had every track the Jezabels had released before and bought this album the day it came out. It took me about 6 times listening through to start loving it properly, but since then I can't listen to anything else. Amazing stuff - they are just terrific. At first there seems no stand-out track, and then they grab you by the throat - Rosebud was a sleeper that becomes perfection. I love the complexity of their music and the musicianship is the highest. This group packs a huge punch. It's a shame the album is so hard to buy - they deserve to sell it in the millions. And why so expensive on Amazon???
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
I wasnt sure whether to shell out for this album but I was in fopp in Edinburgh and a track was playing which I thought was Florence or an odd track from Susie of the Banchees period but no, it was this band so I bought the album. After a few listens it was evident that this was a well put together album with good songs which knit together and are well executed and with a familiar feel of F&THM but with an independant edge of their own. The songs flow well and the album works at every level and the quality of the somgwriting is very evident. If you want music that means something and shows musicianship rather than supericiality of style over substance then this is the one for you.Great vocals,good production and a freshness to a familiar sounds make this one of my favourite albums of the year.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
This album is an incredible debut for the Jezabels. Each track is strong individually, but they combine to make a truly amazing musical experience that shows there is, in fact, hope for modern music! The singer has a beautiful voice and an original style, and there are a number of particularly effective combinations between the keyboards and guitars. The only problem they face is how on earth to create a followup album that matches this!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
Was so eager to get their albums, nearly got their digital MP3 versions. But they expedite the delivery and got the CD very quickly!! Was so happy!
Discovered this band by chance when they were supporting Garbage on their UK tour, and loved their music. They have a great presence on stage. An excellent band! Will follow them closely :-D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
I first heard of The Jezabels when they supported Garbage this year. Amazingly enough, this album was actually not only cheaper here than on iTunes, but the bonus CD was a great addition (not just an extra slapped in to make it seem better value). A really great album at a fantastic price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
The second CD is the best bonus disk I've had! It is brilliant, and contains most of the best songs from the LP CDs you could buy separately (some great live, acoustic and studio versions of some brilliant songs). Disk one is also very good (not quite legend-killer after legend-killer, but more a solid, layered album) - together they are a steal and a wonderful find for me. They are stylish, groovy, heart-felt, subtle, unconventional and the best of conventional at the same time! I bought this with Feist Metals recently, and it was a purchase that has made me fall in love with music a little more and become a lot more enthusiastic about finding what's out there - this is purchase you will only regret if you don't have much taste!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I saw the Jezabels supporting the Pixies at the Hammersmith Appollo and was very impressed so decided to check them out. I was not disappointed. It is difficult to describe them but think a cross between Kate Bush, Cranberries, Cocteau Twins and U2 (and maybe a bit of Inxs but this is a bit of a cheap comparison) The album is full of ideas and far more commercial than expected from seeing them live, but this might reflect them moving on. Great vocals, great guitar sound (especially when sounding like Robin Guthrie rather than the Edge) and great keyboards. I will follow them with interest and hope to see them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
I bought this after stumbling across the band on the Danny Macaskill film and then bought the EPs that were already out.

All i can say is if you like the other tracks already released then you will love this album. The entry in to the first track alone is superb. The other tracks are also great and the bonus CD is worth buying on its own.

If you already like the band, buy it. If you know the band, buy it anyway!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
A bold statement you might think, but this for me is the pinnacle of musical accomplishment!

I have not tired of this album since the day it was released. Rosebud and Endless Summer are absolute gems and Long Highway is nothing short of a masterpiece.

I'm not sure what else I can say and even live they surpass expectation. My only concern is how they're going to follow this?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.71
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)