Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the number one album of 2011
Opening track 'Prisoner' is simply amazing & is a continuation from their initial 3 five track vinyl & CD EPs but with a slight transformation taking us more into an explosive thundering Kraftwerk/Pink Floyd/Future Sound Of London/Coldplay type territory even if it is not really like any of those. You should play this opening track a few times before you proceed any...
Published on 9 Jan. 2012 by R.Cooper

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok album
Published 6 months ago by Vanessa L. Denham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the number one album of 2011, 9 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
Opening track 'Prisoner' is simply amazing & is a continuation from their initial 3 five track vinyl & CD EPs but with a slight transformation taking us more into an explosive thundering Kraftwerk/Pink Floyd/Future Sound Of London/Coldplay type territory even if it is not really like any of those. You should play this opening track a few times before you proceed any further as it's quite mesmerising. A berserk drummer (what a drummer) & a crazed female singer plus a female keyboardist (the brilliant Heather) who has also now gone bonkers & a still seemingly in control guitarist is buried within all of this as he introduces the build up with those ringing Floydish chords. It is a simply astonishing start. Maybe you don't need to go any further & just put this on endless re-play. Next 'Endless Summer' is more of this explosive kind & carries on some of the traditions of Aussie bands of the 80s like Choir Boys/Triffids. The songs have no choruses as this seemingly unusual story of inspired intense love unfolds with often Hayley singing about a "her" or a "she" hence some mystery "I've been on fire to go inside her" & "even in the way she walks" as whether she is singing from a male point of view or female or whether it is her love for the Aussie landscape of which unusual images are scattered in the CD booklet or all 3? 'Long Highway' as Hayley's Cyndi Lauper type supercharged vocals from this fragile looking female "hear me roar" is 100% emotion. Also brilliant, 'Try Colour' continues this huge sound with thundering drums & synthesizers - could such gentle looking people create such a huge tough sound. In fact the album is just like one long track & the remaining numbers are 'Rosebud', 'City Girl', 'Nobody Nowhere', 'Austerlitz' (a reflective instrumental which seems like an album closure before exploding again into further high energy), 'Deep Wide Ocean', 'Peace Of Mind', 'Reprise', and then grand finale 'Catch Me' "and in the towns that I love love love love" is another slab of total brilliance. Perhaps some things slightly missing are a really killer melody plus it's also slightly one dimensional & also not an easy work to get into but nevertheless the production, outstanding performance & interesting lyrics carries this beautiful & astonishing work into the stratospheres. Forget the media's yearly top album awards for 2011 this was or is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best they've ever done - and that's saying a lot!!!, 4 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
I had every track the Jezabels had released before and bought this album the day it came out. It took me about 6 times listening through to start loving it properly, but since then I can't listen to anything else. Amazing stuff - they are just terrific. At first there seems no stand-out track, and then they grab you by the throat - Rosebud was a sleeper that becomes perfection. I love the complexity of their music and the musicianship is the highest. This group packs a huge punch. It's a shame the album is so hard to buy - they deserve to sell it in the millions. And why so expensive on Amazon???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds familiar but new!, 28 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
I wasnt sure whether to shell out for this album but I was in fopp in Edinburgh and a track was playing which I thought was Florence or an odd track from Susie of the Banchees period but no, it was this band so I bought the album. After a few listens it was evident that this was a well put together album with good songs which knit together and are well executed and with a familiar feel of F&THM but with an independant edge of their own. The songs flow well and the album works at every level and the quality of the somgwriting is very evident. If you want music that means something and shows musicianship rather than supericiality of style over substance then this is the one for you.Great vocals,good production and a freshness to a familiar sounds make this one of my favourite albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album for the summer, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
Andi (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
I first heard of The Jezabels when they supported Garbage this year. Amazingly enough, this album was actually not only cheaper here than on iTunes, but the bonus CD was a great addition (not just an extra slapped in to make it seem better value). A really great album at a fantastic price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love them!, 2 Aug. 2012
By 
Lyra's friend (Port Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
Was so eager to get their albums, nearly got their digital MP3 versions. But they expedite the delivery and got the CD very quickly!! Was so happy!
Discovered this band by chance when they were supporting Garbage on their UK tour, and loved their music. They have a great presence on stage. An excellent band! Will follow them closely :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new bands around, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
This album is an incredible debut for the Jezabels. Each track is strong individually, but they combine to make a truly amazing musical experience that shows there is, in fact, hope for modern music! The singer has a beautiful voice and an original style, and there are a number of particularly effective combinations between the keyboards and guitars. The only problem they face is how on earth to create a followup album that matches this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great relaxing album, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (MP3 Download)
Brought this to help me get through a essay, and i was not disappointed. fantastic songs, lovely and relaxing

i recomend this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
Having heard one or two tracks prior to buying, I was delighted with album and have played it over and over. Looking forward to the new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
Bought for a Christmas present and i love it, especially the live stuff on the second disc. Mace Spray and Endless Summer are two highlights for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner (Audio CD)
I first saw the Jezebels as the support act to Depeche Mode in Manchester this year. Thoroughly enjoyed their set and bought this album as a result. Its full of 'big', rocky, anthemic tunes, which I like, but her voice can get a bit tiring after a bit. Well worth checking out, especially at second hand prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prisoner
Prisoner by The Jezabels (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews