Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 February 2012
Manager of a counting house, through which huge quantities of cash are shipped, John cuts a sad figure as a man frightened of life. Uptight and tense, bullied by his boss and mocked by his staff, perhaps impotent, he maintains an unlikely position as best performing manager through obsessive hard work, assisted by being prepared to make up from his own pocket any small shortfall in the accounts. For the most part he is almost robotically lacking in emotion, but under pressure the underlying rage on occasion bursts out.

Then John's discovery of a petty theft by two of his employees triggers the idea for the heist with which the drama opens.

As much a psychological drama as a thriller, the intricate and intriguing plot switches back and forth in time over a period of months, in order to explore the motivations of the "inside men" and reveal both the complex details of the planned theft, and how it works out in practice. The three main characters and the women in their lives are all strongly developed with distinct personalities.

In a reverse of the norm, the earlier parts of the drama are in many ways more suspenseful and gripping than the denouement. I can understand why some viewers have reported feeling let down by the ending. My sense of disappointment was short-lived when I realised that, in leaving some morally ambiguous outcomes, the plot leaves us with a good deal of food for thought.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 June 2012
Inside Men is a four part drama which screened on BBC1 during February 2012. A fine cast aided by a well written script deliver fantastic viewing and suspense which is let down by the final episode.
Warren Brown, Steven Mackintosh and Ashley Walters are the lead actors and perform very convincingly in their respective roles.
Inside Men is a gripping drama and worth the four hours spent watching. If the ending had been better, this would have been given five stars.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 February 2012
The title of Inside Men refers to 3 employees of a cash depository who come up with a daring plan to rob the place of over £100 million. It also refers to what goes on inside the minds & hearts of these 3 different guys, at what actually makes them men. All 3 have very different motives, ranging from a mid-life crisis & being treated like a doormat to just providing for their families. But these are ordinary working men - how will they cope with hiring career criminals? Can they keep their nerve once the job is done? After all, the police know that on jobs like this, there's always an inside man.

This 4-part BBC drama (each episode just under 1 hour) is incredibly well made - it's exciting, atmospheric, edge-of-the-seat stuff, rounded off with believable dialogue & superb acting. While all the actors do an excellent job, Steven Mackintosh is particularly worthy of note with a compelling, sympathetic performance which had me rooting for his troubled character. The characters all felt very well-rounded & believable, rather than just walking clichés.

Sadly, the first 3 excellent episodes were marred somewhat by the final one, where serious holes developed in the plot. The problem was they added in a new plot-line which felt like it hadn't really been thought through. As such, I suspect it was added on at the last minute just to give one of the characters a bit more to do & that things would have hung together a lot better without its inclusion. But the rest was so good, this minor blip is easily forgiven. There is no denying that this is an excellent series, which I immediately bought after seeing it on TV & can see myself re-watching over & over again.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
This had all the makings of being a truly great crime drama but was sadly let down by the format (flashing up future events before they happened) and the progressively weakening plot and depressingly feeble ending.

It began so well and the promise of a great heist movie unfolded but then constant flashes of what is coming later combined with one member of the gang chickening out and threatening to spill the beans slowed the momentum and ran the story into the ground. The final nail in the coffin of this film came at the end, a desperately wet lettuce ending with the boss giving up and driving the loot back into the depot. I have never seen a film that begins with such high excitement and spirals down to end up as the most weak and pathetic crime heist ever.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
The first 3 episodes of inside men was so engaging, well written, well acted and entertaining, then came the end episode. Without giving anything away I can tell you it was one of the most confused, unsatisfied endings I have watched. It is sad the writer could not find a better way to end this story.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
An intriguing and brilliant crime drama with a really good cast and plot, conveying a sense of fate and tragedy that has also a moral reflections on men and their torn role in life and society. An excellent BBC production (as usual).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
This four part drama was gripping from beginning to end. Intelligent and unusual scripting and directing makes this one of the few DVDs I will be keeping in my collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
I bought this film really because I enjoyed the acting of Warren Brown in the excellent serial Good Cop.
Inside Men is a heist movie that works very well, with good acting by Warren Brown and Ashley Walters as a couple of employees in a money sorting plant with a plan to steal from the company they work for.
Steven Mackintosh [the plant manager] who at first seems to be a mild mannered career manager, eager for promotion but shows his true ruthlessness as he becomes involved in the robbery.
BBC - more please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
*** Spoilers *** Included by necessity so that I can explain my reasons for not liking as much as I had hoped!

Thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes and couldn't wait for the remaining but felt the story began to lose momentum by the middle of the 3rd episode.

By the end of episode 2, I half thought that John (the manager of the counting house) could of been planning this heist for a long, long time and had adopted the persona of the underdog many years previously to dupe everyone - his character seemed to be unravelling at such a pace that he was willing to sacrifice everything (which in the end he did).

I didn't quite follow the part where Chris went to Police to report a crime was going to happen but then the heist took place anyway (despite it being on a different day) without any Police presence or intervention - a weak part of the story and used, I suspect, to ensure that Chris was ultimately the good guy and the hero!

Why John sacrificed everything to then give himself up was part of his complete breakdown - he knew he couldn't escape and the worst of what he had done was the betrayal of his wife and child. As for Marcus and Gina escaping, they would and should of been held to account and I didn't like the way they were made to look like they would get away with it.

All in all, I would of scored 3.5 stars as it was better than 3 but not as good as 4!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
The story was like from another world about the betrayals by leading figures of the establishment. At all times I felt like I was actually taking part in the story, and I couldn't leave my chair whilst watching as I enjoyed the spectacular story of the world today in real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.