Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plant Power and Earth's history
So far this series has been amazing. Iain Stewart does justice to the screen adaptation of David Beerling's book ( series consultant) The Emerald Planet.
Prof Stewart brings to life the story of how plants have not only evolved but have been key in our evolution. From the first land plants and how leaves evolved to how they have adapted to become so successful. Each...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by J. D. Fraser

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay-ish, but not too much depth
I found this series unrevealing in its novelty though still a pleasure to view its filmography as it was well produced and concise. Definite primetime viewing on the ol' goggle box for non-scientists, though I expected this to be about terraforming, and was anticipating views of planets in our solarsystem being sculpted into destinations for future life. The revelations...
Published 5 months ago by Matt Woodward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plant Power and Earth's history, 15 Feb 2012
By 
J. D. Fraser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
So far this series has been amazing. Iain Stewart does justice to the screen adaptation of David Beerling's book ( series consultant) The Emerald Planet.
Prof Stewart brings to life the story of how plants have not only evolved but have been key in our evolution. From the first land plants and how leaves evolved to how they have adapted to become so successful. Each time I watch the clip of Iain eating the habanero chili the funnier it gets - I love the way he brings the power of plants to life.
Iain Stewart's enthusiasm is infectious and makes each episode a pleasure to watch. As he globe trots around the world he shows us the success of the plant kingdom. Not only are the camera shots superb but the CGI scenes blend in effortlessly showing us the giant insects that roamed the earth 250 million years ago.
Altogether this series is a definite hit and each time I have watched an episode I get a little bit more out of it. Congratulations to the BBC, Iain Stewart, the writers (David Beerling's book) and the producers for such innovative and well researched and produced piece of filming.The Emerald Planet: How plants changed Earth's history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Jun 2012
By 
The Neon Weasel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
The norm for this kind of programme is to focus on how the animal life,us included,evolved and shaped the world around us.So its a refreshing change to see one that flips the coin,and gives us a view of the other side,shows us what happened before animal life evolved.How plants were the first to conquer the planet,and how they shaped evolution and forever altered the world we live on.This is the only kind of programme the BBC can consistantly make these days,their standards are the ones all others are judged by,so I knew technically it was going to be good.The only reservation I had was that it was being presented by Prof Iain Stewart,a brilliant man,and very knowledgeable,but not the most engaging presenter around.For me his style was always a little clinical and aloof,but not this time out.He fully engages the viewer,communicates his love of the subject matter and takes you on a wonderful journey of discovery.He couldnt be better believe me.

This is natural history at its very best,visually stunning and informative in the extreme.Feel free to look,but you wont find a better made programme,or one as enthralling as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well presented documentary, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I found this to be a very interesting documentary about the origins of plants on our planet and how important they are to life on Earth. Without plants we would not have evolved. Professor Stewart fully engages with the viewer, presenting a most interesting and visually stunning account of the evolution of plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most original interesting documentaries that I have ever seen. The effect of plant life on the geological shape of the planet is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 6 Mar 2013
By 
A. Possehn (Dresden, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Incredible series covering a wide field of topics and very well put together!!! Great research, great explanations and typical amazing BBC series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abolutely amazing, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Totally fantastic, beautifully presented documentary. All of Prof Iain Stewart's programmes are incredibly informative and brilliantly put together. This one is a wonderful example
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Blu-ray?, 10 April 2012
By 
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This amazing series was shown on BBC in HD, I wonder why it seems it is only being released in DVD?

My only gripe with the content is the conveyed misconception about plants 'breathing' while showing computer generated close-ups of stomata opening and closing along to 'breathing' noises! Plants do not breathe!!! The exchange of gasses takes place by diffusion along a gradient. Other than this, the series was excellent and very worthwhile owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very important role of plants in shaping the Earth's history., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD opens up our eyes to the role of plants as equal partners in the story of our planet's life. Partners equal to animals, the power of water, of the atmosphere, the Earth's interior that reveals itself through vulcanism, earth quakes and continental drift, and all this together with Sun and Moon with their force of gravity and solar rays. In a way this has all been known since our school days, when the teacher showed us impressions of ancient leaves in stone, brought up from coal mines. But here the knowledge is made more specific, filling in many details that most people have not been aware of. For example the relatively late arrival of flowers, and how such animals as bees can only have come into existence after the plant world invented the flower. Also the arrival of fruits, and how Man's ancestors developed color vision in order to be able to distinguish the bright colors of ripe fruit from the surrounding foliage. A great DVD. I shall now probably have to read David Berling's book "The Emerald Planet", where more detail is given.

A drawback of series like this, is that the information relevant to the subject matter is interspersed with sections of beautiful imagery combined with soft music, that leads the brain into a kind of dreamlike mode. When Iain Stewart's voice then returns, it is some times difficult to return to the mode of attentive listening to rational explanations. Hence frequent rewinds become necessary. For without registering the moderator's comments and explanations, the learning value of the material would be almost nil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Grow a planet DVD review, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic!! I absolutely loved this DVD - great series and well presented in an easy to digest form. Hope they make another series?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Grow a Planet, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow a Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Very well documented demonstrates clearly how our planet evolved worth every penny. I would recomend this DVD to anyone and it should really be used as an education tool in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Grow a Planet [DVD]
How to Grow a Planet [DVD] by Iain Stewart (DVD - 2012)
8.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews