Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Rory, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
I grew up listening to Rory on scratchy vinyl, and live in europe got more than it's fair share of abuse. Lots of scratches around bullfrog blues where the needle dropped a bit heavy.

Finally saw Rory at the Glasgow apollo on the Jinx tour, where I got to hear and feel the real thing live. Still raises the hairs on the back of my neck to remember Rory playing, and this album captures a good sense of what it was like to be at the venue.

Rory'll never be replaced as an entertainer on stage, so if you've never been to see him live, buy this album and get a taste of the best live act there has ever been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC LIVE ROCK ALBUM, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Alan Butcher "alan butcher" (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
This album features the great guitarman at his very best.Opening with Messing with the kid,we are off into the sweaty blues rock world of the legend from County Cork.Laundromat comes next.It was the opener of the first Rory album after he left TASTE behind.Then comes I couldve had religion.This was a song that Bob Dylan loves and he almost recorded a version of his own a few years ago.Pistol Slapper Blues is an old Blind Boy Fuller song made classic by Rory here before Going to my home town - a genuine foot stomper.In your town is a better version than the studio version on Deuce.The whole thing ends with Bullfrog Blues,always guaranteed to bring the house down.Rory was always his own man.He was the first rock star to brave playing in Belfast during the trouble in Northern Ireland and his name was as big as Guiness during the seventies. Rory made a number of live and studio albums,but this is probably the best of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rory Gallagher...Legend..., 8 May 2012
By 
M Saunders (Dublin ,Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
One of the top ten guitar players of all time, he was a purist. He would not sell himself out. Influence on every good guitar player since that you can think of really...Put on this recording...Play it loud and enjoy...The Blues/Rock...Legend...Rory Gallagher at his live best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rory Gallagher Live in Europe, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
Rory Gallagher is perhaps the best guitarist to grace a stage since Hendrix himself. Cruelly taken from us early Gallagher is an absolute master of his art.

I have had this briliant album on vinyl for many years but am happy to secure a copy on CD too now.

Nobody beats Rory for Rock and Blues delivered with passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rockin', 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
This 1972 album utterly rocks. The first two tracks of straight hard electric blues are unsurpassed. Wilgar Campbell (drums) and Gerry McAvoy (bass) provide excellent support for Gallachers raw vocals and soaring blues guitar. Comparisons are tempting with the Jimi Hendrix Experience, but without their experimental side. The slower tracks are also good, displaying Gallachers influence from Irish music a bit more, with the use of harp and mandolin. Gallachers guitar playing, although limited in style, is really underestimated as this album will show. This is an excellent full-on blues album, better than Taste, and in my opinion as good as the later Irish Tour recordings from 1974.
Recording quality is good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 April 2004
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
rory gallagher at his best,live,every track a winner plus two bonus tracks. 'messin'with the kid' opens this superb cd followed by 'laundromat'.great guitar playing throughout.'going to my hometown' excellent mandollin and an unbeatable clossing number 'bullfrog blues' keep on rocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to my youth, 24 May 2009
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
I remember singing the opening lyrics of "Messing With The Kid" as we travelled on coaches to play football all over England. They were great times, so why had I not replaced my vinyl copy of 'Live In Europe' when the CD came to popularity? Fortunately I made the purchase and brought back the memories. My daughter asked me if I was ever going to change the CD as it remained on the cd player in the car... not for a while yet, darling. The extras on the disk merely add to a great original. What a waste that Rory died young but at least he left us this classic live recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 Nov 2008
By 
Julian Stevens (BRISTOL, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
Not that there was anything much lacking with the original transfer to CD (except for the accompanying 1980 album Stage Struck, which was just a head-banging row by comparison) but now, digitally remastered, this is better than ever. I've still not heard any Taste, his original three piece band, but the minimalist three piece format was maintained for this and was, in my view, never bettered. 1974's Irish Tour would have been better without the addition of Lou Martin on keyboards.

Anyway, whilst Side 1 is competent and energetic, the album really comes to life on Side 2, featuring his two all time classics, namely Going to My Home Town and In Your Town. In fact, the album's almost worth having just for those two alone. The DR issue adds a couple of somewhat dull and ancient bonus tracks which, for some unfathomable reason, they've stuck not at the end of the album proper but in between In Your Town and Bullfrog Blues. This is without question a pain in the neck, as although they can be edited out (but you still get an intrusive 30 seconds of the first of them), the glitch in the audience applause that this causes is very noticeable. I wonder what dipstick was responsible for that? That aside, it wasn't until hearing the DR edition that I fully appreciated what a superb rhythm section drummer Wilgar Campbell and bassist Gerry McAvoy constituted (each of whom has a brief but brilliant solo slot on Bullfrog Blues), so my advice is to insist on nothing less.

After hearing his live recordings, particularly this one, his studio albums (that I've heard) sound a bit flat and staid by comparison. He really was that good in concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it some bottle (neck), 30 July 2003
By 
Peetie (Dartford, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
If you like electric blues then this album from is for you. Rory mixes up the styles despite the trio format and you get a collection of straight electric trio, the same but with slide/bottleneck, and one accoustic and one mandolin (plus band) track.
The opener "Messin with the Kid" was often used to open his shows and its a great dynamic introduction followed by all his tricks including the pinch harmonics he specialised in, and enthusiastic vocals. "Laundromat" is an out and out rocker. For me the standout tracks are "In Your Town" the ultimate in bottleneck electric blues. I spent hours trying to recreate the power of the slide riffing, difficult when you've only got 30 amps of power, but this was always a killer part of his live shows and this version is a great one. Finally you could only end with those "Bullfrog Blues". If you like power trio music with a strong leaning to the blues, this if for you. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chance to hear a master, 2 April 2009
By 
Paul J. Cunningham (Eureka, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live! In Europe (Audio CD)
Downloaded this as a nifty mp3 cheap as chips too!
Is it the best Rory ...No!...is it a complete synopsis of the man life ..No!
It is however a perfect introduction to one of,if not THE best blues guitar players ever.
Sure we could fill this review with Buddy Guy references (BTW he was Rory's hero)throw in Albert Collins,Stevie Ray even Gary Moore ...point is ...as much as I love the aforementioned they come no-where near the passion and power of Rory and his beloved battered 1961 Strat.. to really appreciate Rory you need to see the live footage ...BUT
As an introduction or as a cd for the car this release is perfect....In Your Town or Bullfrog Blues show Rory at his best the opening 2 tracks (Messin with the Kid and Laundromat) provide the ultimate introduction for a newbie ...just close your eyes and allow Rory to move you a time when this were simple and pure talent was needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live! In Europe
Live! In Europe by Rory Gallagher
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews