Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 199 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the trail of Those Who Kill in Denmark
Fans of The Killing - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] will be delighted to discover that The Killing's Lars Mikkelsen (Troels Hartmann) can be seen in Danish TV2's Those Who Kill (Den som drber) as police chief Magnus Bisgaard. He is joined by another face from The Killing - Jakob Cedergren (Philip Dessau) who is cast as shy psychiatrist Thomas Schaeffer. Both actors perform...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Mikey

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Danish lite
I watched this Danish crime series shortly after I watched the last episode of The Killing on BBC. The fact that they are both Danish (but produced by competing broadcasters), have strong, independent, untraditional and at times troublesome/troubled female police detective leads and are set in an apparently constantly dark, cold and wintery Denmark of course doesn't mean...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Danish lite, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I watched this Danish crime series shortly after I watched the last episode of The Killing on BBC. The fact that they are both Danish (but produced by competing broadcasters), have strong, independent, untraditional and at times troublesome/troubled female police detective leads and are set in an apparently constantly dark, cold and wintery Denmark of course doesn't mean that I should expect the same quality etc. And maybe comparing them is not particularly fair on this series as I LOVED The Killing.

It IS apparent right from the beginning that this is a very different style because where it took 20 episodes to reveal the perpetrator in The Killing, Those Who Kill lets us know within the first 20 minutes and the focus then changes to trying to understand the killer's motive/mind which will help solve the crimes rather than following the normal police work of interviews etc. (and of course the victim's family) as is the case in The Killing.

The full series has 10 episodes; and for every two episodes, a new serial killer turns up, which again makes it possible to combine them to a total of 5 feature length movies. (there is a 6th storyline which will be released as a separate movie and which is not officially part of this first - and only - season).
The first two episodes take off when the body of a young female is found in a forest north of Copenhagen. The young Detective Chief Inspector, Katrine Ries Jensen, is put in charge of her first murder case and chooses to work with the intellectual and shy Forensic Psychiatrist, Thomas Schaeffer, to solve the murder. Katrine and Thomas succeed in tracking down the killer but he gets away and after his first meeting with Katrine he picks her as his next victim.

If this sounds like something you've heard before, then yes, you'd be right - very Wire in the Blood - from the male psychiatrist who has issues with the police (and vice versa) to him talking to himself while trying to put himself in the killer's place etc., but I'll spare you any further comparisons with other series from now on...

Most of the actors do a very good job with the material they have - particularly the actors in the roles of the killers, Katrine, her boss (played by Lars Mikkelsen - politician of The Killing) and the psychiatrist (although he does spend an unreasonable amount of time seemingly lost in some killer's head while staring into space with his mouth wide open). Unfortunately there are also some seriously uneven performances - "Molbaek" was particularly cringe-worthy in my mind. To be fair he didn't have much to work with that is how clichéd and stereotypical his role is as the thick, obnoxious subordinate with a "Jutland" accent.

All in all an OK series that does improve over time (from a poor first episode) with better performances from the actors and more developed storylines, but a long way off the top marks! 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


178 of 199 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the trail of Those Who Kill in Denmark, 9 Feb 2012
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fans of The Killing - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] will be delighted to discover that The Killing's Lars Mikkelsen (Troels Hartmann) can be seen in Danish TV2's Those Who Kill (Den som drber) as police chief Magnus Bisgaard. He is joined by another face from The Killing - Jakob Cedergren (Philip Dessau) who is cast as shy psychiatrist Thomas Schaeffer. Both actors perform equally as well as they did in DR's The Killing with a little less Lars and alot more Jakob in this programme.
Screened from March 2011 in Denmark ,the series was screened in the UK on ITV3 in February and March 2012.
The first mystery involves a serial killer is just under 90 minutes long is enjoyable and makes me want to check out the rest of the series.
Bodies are discovered in a forest north of Copenhagen and young, ambitious DCI Katrine Ries Jensen (played by Laura Bach) is eventually assigned the case. She wants to have Schaeffer assist her much to Bisgaard's annoyance. Eventually she gets her way and Schaeffer becomes part of the team.
Bach is just as good as the male stars of the show. Unlike The Killing, we do not get to see much of the character behind Katrine. In The Killing we had excellent exposure to the person behind the cop DCI Sarah Lund.
Guest starring in this story is Carsten Bjrnlund as Adam Krogh. Bjrnlund appears in The Killing 2 as Major Christian Sgaard.
Story 2 features guest actor is Swede David Dencik (Brotherhood [DVD]). The story starts with the discovery of a family murdered in their home. Curious Schaeffer turns up and is promptly arrested!
In the third story an inmate has been killed in one of Denmark's prisons. Then another is killed. Jensen and Schaeffer are on hand to investigate. In this story we discover a little about the background of both Jensen and Schaeffer. The gripping conclusion has Jensen in yet another life-threatening situation.
The fourth story features Kim Bodnia who will soon be seen on BBC4 as a main character in Bron / Broen / The Bridge Series 1 Episodes 1 - 10 and briefly Thomas Levin (TV1 host Ulrik Mrch - Borgen - Series 1 [DVD]).
Later in the series in the fifth story, Marie Askehave (Rie Skovgaard - The Killing 1) guest stars along with brief appearances from Peder Holm Johansen (Leon Frevert - The Killing 1) and Mille Dinesen (Cecilie - Borgen 2). Another brief appearance from Henning Valin (Policeman Jesper Andersson - The Bridge / Kandidaten).
The sixth and final story was not screened as part of the TV series in Denmark. It was made to be shown in cinemas from March 2012 and so far is not released on DVD in Denmark. Only in Germany has it been screened on TV and released on DVD (late 2011) but as it's for the German market, the whole series is dubbed. This story features Petrine Agger (real life wife of actor Sren Malling) who has appeared with her husband in both The Killing and Borgen. Recurring throughout the series is Iben Dorner (Sanne the PM's secretary in Borgen / The Candidate (2008) (Kandidaten) (Region 2) (Import)) as Thomas's estranged wife Benedicte.
Alongside other Scandinavian crime series, Den som drber certainly gives The Killing and Wallander a run for their money.
Den som drber has certainly impressed me.
Enjoy the mysteries.
Wish there were more but Danish TV2 decided not to renew it in late 2011 as ratings were not too impressive in Denmark even though it had sold well overseas and done particularly well in their southern neighbouring country Germany.

If Those Who Kill is still not enough Danish drama for you until the next series starts later in the year, you can see more of Jakob in the following films - Morden i Sandhamn (Still Waters) (Murder in Sandhamn) (English subtitles) (Swedish import) where he appears speaking Swedish this time as DCI Thomas Andreasson in Swedish TV4's ratings hit of Christmas 2010 a three part drama based upon the debut book of Viveca Sten. Also Dark Horse [2007] [DVD] (with Nicolas Bro - The Killing 2), Frygtelig lykkelig (Terribly Happy) [DVD] [2008] a fantastic little film with Lars Brygmann - Borgen, and Kim Bodnia - The Bridge, Stealing Rembrandt [DVD] with Lars Brygmann and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau among others.

To fill those Saturday nights until the next Scandinavian series here is a selection of other Danish TV series and movies that I have seen. All have English subtitles and are either very good or excellent. I'll be putting reviews on each soon.

- Unit One: Season 1 [DVD] - series one starring Mads Mikkelsen, Trine Pallesen (The Killing III), Lars Brygmann (Borgen), with Borgen guest stars Thomas Levin, Lars Knutzon, Sren Malling and Benedikte Hansen,

- Submarino - with Those Who Kill's Jakob Cedergren

- Aftermath - a powerful drama starring The Killing's Sofie Grbl, Mikael Birkkjr, Carsten Bjrnlund, Stine Prtorius, Borgen's Lars Brygmann,

- Julefrokosten - a comedy with Borgen and The Killing star Sren Malling,

- Ledsaget udgang - a comedy featuring a prisoner being released from jail for the day,

- Vrelse 304 - with Mikael Birkkjr and Stine Stengade, alongside Swedish actor David Dencik from Those Who Kill,

- Kandidaten - a thriller with Nikolaj Lie Kaas - look out for Birgitte Hjort Srensen (Katrine from Borgen) and Those Who Kill's Iben Dorner (Bendikte / Sanne from Borgen) ,

- Cecilie - a horror thriller starring Borgen's Claus Riis stergaard, Pernille Agger and Mille Dinesen, The Killing's Lars Mikkelsen, Morten Suurballe, Kurt Ravn and Peder Holm Johansen along with Sonja Richter from the film Forbrydelser and Anders W. Berthelsen from Krniken,

- Krniken - a fantastic epic 20 episode drama set in the Fifies and Sixties starring The Killing's Ken Vedsegaard and Lars Mikkelsen

- Brotherhood - a neo-Nazi drama starring Swede David Dencik from Those Who Kill, Thure Lindhardt and The Killing's Nicolas Bro,

- Nightwatch - a horror starring The Killing's Sofie Grbl,

- Sekten - another horror starring The Killing's Sofie Grbl,

- In Your Hands - a prison based drama starring The Killing's Ann Eleonora Jrgensen and Nicolaj Kopernikus,

- Den Rette nd - a comedy starring The Killing's Sofie Grbl, Ken Vedsegaard, Carsten Bjrnlund, Troels Munck alongside Borgen's Lisbeth Wulff,

- Italian For Beginners - a drama starring The Killing's Ann Eleonora Jrgensen,

- Matador - Complete Series - an epic drama starring The Killing's Bent Mejding,

- Den Bl Munk - an enjoyable drama set in a Copenhagen jazz bar briefly featuring a young Nicolaj Kopernikus and Jakob Cedergren from 1997,

- En familie - a drama with Borgen's Pilou Asbk and Krniken's Anne Lousie Hassing,

- Smukke mennesker - a comedy drama with Sebastian Jessen from Borgen 2 along with one scene each from The Killing's Nicolas Bro, Benedikte Hansen, Carsten Bjrnlund and Kurt Ravn along with Dar Salim fróm Borgen,

- Sandheden om mnd - a comedy drama starring Thure Lindhardt and The Bridge's Henning Valin,

- Let's Get Lost - a comedy starring Borgen's Sidse Babett Knudsen alongside The Killing's Bjarne Henriksen and Nicolaj Kopernikus,

- Lotto - a comedy starring The Killing's Bjarne Henriksen and Nicolaj Kopernikus,

- Til dden os skiller - a comedy starring Borgen's Lars Brygmann and Sidse Babett Knudsen (just listen to her as an opera singer!!! - WOW!), along with The Killing's Nicolaj Kopernikus,

- Bag det stille ydre - with Jakob Cedergren,

- Springet - with Mikael Birkkjr of The Killing 2 and Borgen,

- En enkelt til Korsr - with Carsten Bjrnlund and Kurt Ravn of The Killing 2, Lisbeth Wulff from Borgen and Bjarne Henriksen from The Killing 1 - Borgen,

- Above The Street Below The Water - with Sidse Babett Knudsen, along with The Killing's Nicolas Bro and Anders W. Berthelsen,

- Applaus - with Paprika Steen and The Killing 3's Sara-Maria Maltha,

- The Hunt - with Mads Mikkelsen, Bjarne Henriksen and Krniken's Anne Louise Hassing,

- A Royal Affair - with Unit One's Mads Mikkelsen, along with Sren Malling and Sren Spanning both of Borgen and The Killing, Bent Mejding from The Killing alongside David Dencik and Mikkel Boe Flsgaard from Those Who Kill,

- En mand kommer hjem - comedy with The Killing's Nicolaj Kopernikus in a minor role,

- Den du frygter - psychological thriller with Paprika Steen and Borgen's Bjarne Henriksen, Stine Stengade and Lars Brygmann,

- Nordkraft - drug fuelled stories starring Thure Lindhardt and Borgen's Signe Egholm Olsen and Claus Riis stergaard,

- Marie Kryer - period drama starring Borgen's Birgitte Hjort Srensen and The Killing's Sren Stter-Lassen,

- Dig og mig

- Dansen,

- Alting bliver godt igen,

- Flugten,

- Anklaget,

- Kongekabale,

- Sorte kugler,

- Efter Bryllupet,

- De unge r,

- Brothers,

- Open Hearts,

- Af banen,

- Drabet,

- Offscreen,

- Old Men in New Cars,

- Truly Human,

- Allegro,

- Reconstruction,

- Prag,

- Flame And Citron,

- Pusher Trilogy,

- Shake It All About,

- Monas verden,

- Facing The Truth,

- Flickering Lights,

- Fluerne p vggen,

- Bleeder,

- R, Hit First, Hit Hardest,

- Nste skridt,

- Bagland,

- The Boss of it All.

Sorry they all could not be linked, but Amazon restricts to ten links per review. More to be added soon.

Two non Danish films featuring Danish actors are RAGE starring Jakob Cedergren with Jude Law and Dame Judi Dench. It is an American film from 2009. Also there is a 4 episode Irish mini series from 2004 PROOF starring Sidse Babett Knudsen as a woman arriving in Dublin searching for her sister presumed dead. Both films are in English.

UPDATE DECEMBER 2012 - One of Denmark's best ever dramas is coming to DVD in the UK in January 2013 - Unit One which featyres a wealth of familiar faces. Unit One is an Emmy award winning police series from 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Nordic, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just re-watched this DVD, and as a big fan of the genre, I have to say, emotionally, it punches way above its weight. I disagree with an earlier reviewer who suggests it doesn't dwell too much on the character of the lead players as much as the "Killing" did. Although we learned more about the circumstances of Sara Lund, I felt no emotional connection with her character. In this series I did. So much so, that although I'm not overly sentimental, I had tears running down my face at the end of the last, and most powerful episode. As in most of the Nordic Noir thrillers, the main protagonist is damaged, and at times, the way she allows her past to affect her actions can be maddening. Lars Mikkelsen from "The Killing" is here, but in a far more sympathetic role, that called for far subtler acting than before. If you're a fan of this stuff, you'll recognise other actors, from "The Killing" and "The Bridge", which was by the way, my favourite Scandinavian series until I watched this. The acting and production values in everything they do is far superior to anything the UK, or the USA delivers. Having spent some time working in Sweden a few years ago, I was deeply impressed by how the atmosphere those countries are captured in the exterior shots, although I have to name check "Hit and Miss" here, for capturing the landscape of the North of England in the same way. Look, you get 511 minutes of quality goods here, for less than you'd pay at the cinema to see Tom Cruise playing Tom Cruise. Don't think about it, just buy it. N.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Danish Crime Series, 1 April 2012
Excellent series. Six self-contained episodes; wonderfully acted and as well made as The Killing and Wallander but far more exciting than both; I enjoyed The Killing but it was too formulated; I would put this on a par with the French cop series Spiral (- if I was in a jam I'd be calling for back up from Laure Berthaud!) I'll be checking out some of Mikey's Eurocrime recommendations but I won't be going round to his house for dinner - he's probably seen some pretty gruesome visceral stuff! Well done Danish TV - this almost makes up for giving us that awful Sandi Toksvig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No complaints after initial reservations, 13 Sep 2013
By 
L. A. Marek "1871schoolhouse" (COCOA BEACH, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trying not to like this TV series since it feels like Laura Bach is just too good looking to fit her part, however all of the other actors are so good they combine to overcome any initial reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOSE WHO KILL., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had previously watched the series on television and enjoyed it, but being able to watch the whole thing one after the other, and not having to try and remember last weeks episode was a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WEAK ON PLOT, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suppose it is inevitable that Those who Kill will always be compared (alas, usually unfavourably) to The Killing. Judged on its own merits, though, the later series offers several hours of good viewing. There is some fine acting and each episode is skilfully directed and edited to produce a climax of almost unbearable tension. Your worst nightmares - being buried alive, finding your child handcuffed to a ticking bomb - are all here, agonizingly played out. But nightmares don't always make believable plots. In the first series of The Killing, 20 episodes were dedicated to the solving of one crime. There were no multiple deaths and very little violence. We watched as the detectives blundered their way from one red herring to another, as the grieving family unravelled. It all seemed believable. Instead Those who Kill brings us into the far trickier world of fictional serial crime. As the series progressed the accumulation of murders seemed almost desperate and I constantly had the impression of watching a Scandinavian version of Criminal Minds. Except these murders are not scattered all across the USA, but all - seemingly on a weekly basis - in friendly little Copenhagen. And then there were the detectives, Katrine and Thomas. I loved their good looks and the electricity between them, and Thomas's complicated family life made for an interesting sub-plot. What I found unbelievable were his flashes of genius, those brainwave hunches that brought the squad exactly to the point where the killer was about to strike next. All rather far-fetched. To sum up, a series that at times had me on the edge of my seat, but no match for The Killing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Those who kill, 31 Dec 2012
I watched this series when it was screened in GB and I immediately bought the DVD to keep up with my collection of Danish productions. However, as a big fan of Nordic Noir I found it a sad disappointment. It followed the blueprint of American productions and, apart from the excellent performance of Jakob Cedergren, all characters were under-crafted and ever so slightly erratic. I was hugely disappointed by Lars Mikkelsen, after such a brilliant rendition of Troels Hartmann in the first series of The Killing. Katrine Ries Jensen as Laura Bach was a second rate example of the otherwise fantastic heroines of Nordic productions. Scarred by violence and abuse as a child, her attitude that inconsistently swerved between aggression and empathy, as it unfolded through the episodes, failed to graft the psychological complexity of an individual with her type of baggage.
My only consolation was that I was able to see some of the faces that I had loved both in The Killing and in Borgen. Additionally, I became acquainted with an actor worth of much consideration, Ulrich Thomsen, else Martin Hegh in the episode Ondt blod.
However, I have only seen the first series but I seem to understand that there are/will be more because I can see that a box set sold as a 'complete series' is available. Does anyone know anything about this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant series. Not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely hooked on Nordic Noir.Brilliant plots with many twists & turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews