Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2012
An excellent way to hear the best in British folk music and at a such a fantastic price. Ideal as a sampler for those artistes you don't know too well. There isn't one weak track on any of the three albums and it is a real bonus to have the sets from our up and coming young folk performers. It's good to know there is so much talent about.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
Once more the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards arrive on our radios and to celebrate and augment the revival of the most exciting genre of music in the world, once again they issue a BBC Folk Awards 2012 (3CD)three CD box set of the finest harvest of the folk and acoustic year. From June Tabor & Oysterband - together again after all those years - we also have Scots triumphs the Peatbog Faeries, a new generation of Watersons, Christy Moore and Bella Harding just to name a very small part of a fantastic lineup.

Not only are there the old, tried and famed recordings here such as the Oggie Man and Brigg Fair but also a third CD again containing the very best of the young folk musicians, those who will keep the tradition rolling along into a new generation when today's stars have passed into the firmament.

For all true folkies this is a 'must have' record, for everyone else, dip a toe into the water and see what you are missing. Then get yourself down to your local festival (there will be one within 20 miles for sure) and start to bop again like we did last summer !!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
As one might expect from the title of the album this is selection of all the nominees for the 2012 BBC Folk awards and unsurprisingly features the very best folk music produced in the last year and it certainly contains some crackers. I was particularly impressed with the offerings from the artists nominated for the young folk awards. This album will appeal to seasoned folk veterans and is the perfect introduction for anyone who is curious about folk music. With 3 CD's of music, it is also great value for money.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 April 2013
Good sample of British folk, consisting of two disks of award nominees. Most folkies will have music by Oysterband, Martin Simpson, Spiers & Boden, Emily Smith, Bellowhead, the Unthank sisters etc, leaving little 'new' stuff for them. The third 'bonus' disk contains music from nominees for the young folk award, and to my surprise it was this disk that I enjoyed best, particularly music from Graham Mackenzie, Blair Dunlop and Ioscaid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
This is an excellent range of folk music from Martin Simpson to Christy Moore (On Moresambe Bay is seminal). In additon to the 2 CD's there is a bonus CD of young folk. plenty to wet your appetite here and excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I am a fan of the folk music spot every Wednesday on Radio 2 at 7pm, and the occasional show on BBC4. To buy the 3CD Folk Awards 2012 and the 3CD Folk Awards 2013 together for less than £15 is an excellent aquisition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Apart from June Tabor and the Oyster Band the up and coming folk singers were better than the more established artists/groups. It made great listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I bought this for my father who loves folk, but doesn't know any modern folk. He was happy to discover new singers and bands which he enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
This was bought as a gift for a friend who really enjoys Folk Music. He is looking forward to the 2013 version and many more great artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
My brother-in-law always make a Christmas list so he always gets what he wants, so I'm presuming he's happy with all the gifts we got him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)