Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute folk bargain
An excellent way to hear the best in British folk music and at a such a fantastic price. Ideal as a sampler for those artistes you don't know too well. There isn't one weak track on any of the three albums and it is a real bonus to have the sets from our up and coming young folk performers. It's good to know there is so much talent about.
Published on 15 Mar. 2012 by Roger Vincent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection
I cannot be wowed by this CD but it is an eclectic collection of the best of 2012. It is what it says on the package
Published on 22 Mar. 2013 by Mr. Keith D. Elms


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute folk bargain, 15 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
An excellent way to hear the best in British folk music and at a such a fantastic price. Ideal as a sampler for those artistes you don't know too well. There isn't one weak track on any of the three albums and it is a real bonus to have the sets from our up and coming young folk performers. It's good to know there is so much talent about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BBC 'do it again', 12 Mar. 2012
By 
Neil Spurgeon (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
Once more the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards arrive on our radios and to celebrate and augment the revival of the most exciting genre of music in the world, once again they issue a BBC Folk Awards 2012 (3CD)three CD box set of the finest harvest of the folk and acoustic year. From June Tabor & Oysterband - together again after all those years - we also have Scots triumphs the Peatbog Faeries, a new generation of Watersons, Christy Moore and Bella Harding just to name a very small part of a fantastic lineup.

Not only are there the old, tried and famed recordings here such as the Oggie Man and Brigg Fair but also a third CD again containing the very best of the young folk musicians, those who will keep the tradition rolling along into a new generation when today's stars have passed into the firmament.

For all true folkies this is a 'must have' record, for everyone else, dip a toe into the water and see what you are missing. Then get yourself down to your local festival (there will be one within 20 miles for sure) and start to bop again like we did last summer !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Folk of the year!, 11 Mar. 2012
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
As one might expect from the title of the album this is selection of all the nominees for the 2012 BBC Folk awards and unsurprisingly features the very best folk music produced in the last year and it certainly contains some crackers. I was particularly impressed with the offerings from the artists nominated for the young folk awards. This album will appeal to seasoned folk veterans and is the perfect introduction for anyone who is curious about folk music. With 3 CD's of music, it is also great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
If you like folk music and want a selection of the best without buying lots of different albums then this takes some beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
A great gift for folk! How to get a great selection of good music for friends. This is a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent anthology of folk, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
P. Pitchford "Phil Pitchford" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
This is an excellent range of folk music from Martin Simpson to Christy Moore (On Moresambe Bay is seminal). In additon to the 2 CD's there is a bonus CD of young folk. plenty to wet your appetite here and excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
I bought this for my father who loves folk, but doesn't know any modern folk. He was happy to discover new singers and bands which he enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value collection, 21 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "m_farncombe" (Guildford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
Good sample of British folk, consisting of two disks of award nominees. Most folkies will have music by Oysterband, Martin Simpson, Spiers & Boden, Emily Smith, Bellowhead, the Unthank sisters etc, leaving little 'new' stuff for them. The third 'bonus' disk contains music from nominees for the young folk award, and to my surprise it was this disk that I enjoyed best, particularly music from Graham Mackenzie, Blair Dunlop and Ioscaid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bargain., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
I am a fan of the folk music spot every Wednesday on Radio 2 at 7pm, and the occasional show on BBC4. To buy the 3CD Folk Awards 2012 and the 3CD Folk Awards 2013 together for less than £15 is an excellent aquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Keith D. Elms (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] (Audio CD)
I cannot be wowed by this CD but it is an eclectic collection of the best of 2012. It is what it says on the package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD]
BBC Folk Awards 2012 [3CD] by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews