Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being slapped in the face by sunshine
People say music is stagnating, but they might change their mind after listening to this. The album opens up with "Fantastic explosion in time" which sounds like Led Zeppelin on a wild drug trip through the outback, this song alone would make an album but it hardly measures against the rest. The sound out track for me is "Moth Wings" which is like being slapped in the...
Published 23 months ago by Ben

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great.
I love tame impala so was excited to hear these guys, and whilst this band have a similar blissed out summery vibe and certainly have thier moments they really lack Tame impala's songwriting skills.

The songs mainly sound a bit half baked and just a bit too loose to satisfy.
(Plus most of the riffs and ideas dont really go anywhere).
I find the main...
Published on 25 May 2012 by Stoker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being slapped in the face by sunshine, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Beard Wives Denim (MP3 Download)
People say music is stagnating, but they might change their mind after listening to this. The album opens up with "Fantastic explosion in time" which sounds like Led Zeppelin on a wild drug trip through the outback, this song alone would make an album but it hardly measures against the rest. The sound out track for me is "Moth Wings" which is like being slapped in the face by a big ray of sunlight; "You Broke my cool" also sounds brilliant, very cool despite what the title suggests. Either way, this is the best thing I've heard all year (it even beats Palma Violets and Peace who are also so good I spent a week humming and staring into space thinking about their songs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant album, got a great energy about it. Highly recommend it to anyone.
Any Tame Impala fans will be sure to dig this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Dig Brother, I Dig, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warning: This album will make you feel like you are surfing and eventually you will drown in these sound waves. Best music purchase of 2012 for me! If you are expecting Tame Impala then be surprised because this band is the next best thing only to sound fractionally like their sister-band. This record overall gives me the feeling of a group of songs that were wrote in the mid 70's, only to be recorded & released in 2012 by a fresh-exciting Australian rock act named POND. This album grew on me after a few listens and now I have their entire back catalogue on my computer. Just mind-blowing, a highly recommended album. 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nostalgic Sound, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the only Pond album I have heard and it is of a good quality. The writing is well thought out for the most part, with some songs falling short of the mark set by others but, while not every album is constructed entirely of brilliant songs, the theme that runs through it is strong. Childhood, nostalgia, adventure... it amounts to something that makes you smile at certain points, whether that be because of the fun tracks, such as: "Elegant Design" and "Moth Wings", or the classic sound that gives the artists a life-filled presence. They are not the best psych-rock revival band but they have a unique sound that still makes them stand out from the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic explosion of sound!, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beard Wives Denim (Audio CD)
Fantastic explosion of explosions again and again and boom! Rakkaa, great stuff, 20 more words? Great great great great great great like a certain cereal but better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beard,Wives, Denim, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is their 4th release. Frond was brilliant but this is a Fab album. Psychadelidic rock at its best. It grows on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great., 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beard Wives Denim (Audio CD)
I love tame impala so was excited to hear these guys, and whilst this band have a similar blissed out summery vibe and certainly have thier moments they really lack Tame impala's songwriting skills.

The songs mainly sound a bit half baked and just a bit too loose to satisfy.
(Plus most of the riffs and ideas dont really go anywhere).
I find the main problem is the vocals which become irritating after a couple of songs and are frequently too high pitched and cringe worthy, which is a shame as there are some interesting ideas here.

So all in all a pleasant record in places but not worthy of the hype.
Cant wait for the next tame impala album though!

(Finally, are this band really not aware of the fairly well know SubPop band of the same name? That seems a bit unusual)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beard Wives Denim
Beard Wives Denim by Pond (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews