Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORE EVERY X-MEN FAN: BUT BEWARE OF REGION CODING
Am a big comic fan, love all the x-men movie's, though the last stand fell a bit short. All movies came in tiny slip cover's, nice overall box packaging. Extremely stunning picture quality and sound.

But please note one thing the region codes:

X-men is region A,B & C
X-men 2 is region A,B & C
X-men The Last Stand is region A,B & C...
Published 19 months ago by MATTHEW CHAN

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Region Free not delivered
While it was stated region free. The first delivery was a totally non-region free set. After return of product, the second delivery has 1 disc that was still not region free. Amazon could have done better in ensuring the QC of its products to be delivered to ensure customer satisfactory. Cannot rely on return policy to address customer satisfaction.
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by Henry C. K. Yip


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORE EVERY X-MEN FAN: BUT BEWARE OF REGION CODING, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
Am a big comic fan, love all the x-men movie's, though the last stand fell a bit short. All movies came in tiny slip cover's, nice overall box packaging. Extremely stunning picture quality and sound.

But please note one thing the region codes:

X-men is region A,B & C
X-men 2 is region A,B & C
X-men The Last Stand is region A,B & C
X-Men Origin's: Wolverine is region A & B ONLY (NOT C)
X-men: First Class is region B ONLY (NOT A or B)

SPEC'S:

X-MEN ORIGIN'S: WOLVERINE

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
Spanish: DTS 5.1
French: DTS 5.1

Subtitles
English,Portuguese,Cantonese, French, Spanish, Mandarin (Traditional)

X-MEN: FIRST CLASS

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (21.79 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English SDH, Spanish

X-MEN:

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Portuguese: Dolby Digital 5.1 (less)

Subtitles
English SDH, Spanish, Portuguese, Korean, Mandarin (Simplified), Mandarin (Traditional)

X2:

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Portuguese: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English SDH, Spanish, Portuguese, Korean, Mandarin (Simplified), Mandarin (Traditional)

X-MEN: THE LAST STAND

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English, English SDH, Spanish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously good image quality., 21 Aug 2012
By 
N. J. H. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
As other reviewers have pointed out, X-men First Class and Wolverine are not region free, they are region B (however they still play perfectly well on something like a PS3 for example but may not work on specific blu-ray players so keep this in mind). However, luckily because I had the PS3 I had no trouble watching all of the movies and I can say without question that I am so glad I decided to invest in the blu-ray copies.

I'd previously seen all of the movies before in standard format, and they're brilliant, but with the addition of this high image and sound quality they just look fantastic. Things like people's skin, their teeth, the landscape (for instance one particular scene focuses on a water droplet on a leaf which looks so clear and detailed that you can see as much as the wax of the leaf). I expected that the movies would look great but it seems that the sound has been enhanced as well. I noticed this the most with Wolverine (the character, not the movie). When someone comes into contact with him we hear this really clear metallic noise which was barely audible in the standard versions. But also things like footsteps are enhanced - I definitely recommend listening out for all of the new things which before we couldn't appreciate as much.

As for the movies themselves - who doesn't love shape-shifting, weather weilding, metal-filled, life-sucking mutants? Well the humans in this case. I love getting to see all of the characters and what their different mutations are, the introduction of new characters as the films progressed is nice too. The best film by far has to be X-Men: First Class which is essentially a prequel to the whole series and we get to see the young version of our favourite characters (and we get to learn things about the characters which we may have had questions about for two or three movies, like how Xavier was paralysed for instance).

Well worth the money. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super packaging., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
Rarely have I come across such a well packaged product.Most box packs these days come in flimsy flip boxes where most of the times the flaps tend to get dislocated which is such an irritation.This package comes in individual slim cases with cover art with all details as you would have if you bought them individually.So much thought has gone into designing the packaging.Simply love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all movies are Region Free, 29 May 2012
By 
Bharat Rastogi (Ghaziabad, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
X-Men has a following of their own and this set is actually a great gift for the fans. The video is crystal and the audio will leave u encased if you have a good surround system.
My idea of writing the review is only this : I just need to let people know from other regions as A & C that the last 2 movies...Wolverine & First Class are not region free. The wolverine is Zone A&B and First class is only Zone B.
Other than that there is nothing to complain..the packaging was excellent, the product reached before stipulated time and the fun was unlimited!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
A fantastic collection for all the family . The whole collection together makes for endless viewing. I totally recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great value for money!Delivery speed was impressive, it arrived within the 3 - 5 day waiting. Plus, it was super-saver so it didn't cost me a penny! The DVDs themselves are really good quality and I really enjoyed watching them. For someone who doesn't have all the movies - this was the cheapest way of buying them that I could find and the box is pretty nice too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a X-Men fan I loved loved loved these films. I already had the first film and the third but wanted the full collection I am so glad I got this box set. Can't wait for the Wolvereen film to come out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this serial, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
It's coming with a great catalog of visual effects, the story is fantastic, although a bit confusing because of the back and forward in time... but the action and the effects are just amazing, enough to keep you entertained for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waited for ages for this boxset to appear, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
Outstanding quality & price with every X-men blu ray film in boxset Should have been available six months ago but had to wait a very long time for the X-men first class film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] (Blu-ray)
I'd seen all the movies before, but not on Blueray. Good visuals and sound. Thin package for 5 films but that's perfectly fine with me. I haven't looked at the extras, but isn't a priority to me.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000]
X-Men: The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] [2000] by Matthew Vaughn (Blu-ray - 2011)
Used & New from: £27.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews