Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall view of various caribbean islands
Its always a toss-up between Lonely Planet and Rough Guide for me. They are both good, but one has different information to the other. In this instance, chose LP as it was in kindle form which RG wasn't and weight was an issue.
Published 17 months ago by Sallyb

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and lacking practical detail
When we visited the Caribbean many years ago, we made good use of the Lonely Planet guide to the Eastern Caribbean, which was really useful and reliable. Unfortunately, you can only get a hardcopy LP guide to the whole Caribbean now - but I invested in a copy remembering how useful the old book was.

Sadly, this guide was almost useless. Although it said it had...
Published 23 days ago by jsm999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and lacking practical detail, 4 Aug 2014
By 
jsm999 (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When we visited the Caribbean many years ago, we made good use of the Lonely Planet guide to the Eastern Caribbean, which was really useful and reliable. Unfortunately, you can only get a hardcopy LP guide to the whole Caribbean now - but I invested in a copy remembering how useful the old book was.

Sadly, this guide was almost useless. Although it said it had been updated in 2011, much of the information inside hadn't been revised since 2009 or earlier, and with plenty of recent development on the islands we visited, this meant it was pretty useless. Restaurants had closed or moved, new ones had opened, and even the maps - which turned out to be the most useful part - were out of date with new or changed roads. The background about the islands, which is usually interesting and worth reading, was also out of date, and we learnt more about current affairs from our taxi driver from the airport.

Even the practical information in the guide was misleading - for example, many/most of the hotels on St Kitts now use US voltage (110V), but the guide still just says 220V. A lot of information we would have found useful just wasn't there - locations of petrol stations and supermarkets out of the capital, restaurants with children's menus, not being able to take a rental car from St Kitts to Nevis, etc.

I don't know whether the information on the other islands is equally patchy and out-dated, but reading through the rest of the book, a lot of the guide seemed aimed at people on cruises with a day at each of various islands, short on detail and practicalities. In places, the guide seemed to be written for a US audience (e.g. 'visit the US Virgin Islands without worrying about border crossings or passports…').

I'm not sure who Lonely Planet's target market is these days - on the one hand, trying a bit too hard to be cool 'liming with the locals', but there's not much practical information for younger independent travellers e.g. where to buy food without spending a fortune eating out. There's also very little information aimed at families (child friendly restaurants, toilets, etc.) So I'm guessing, middle aged Americans on cruise ships who want to feel like they're seeing the 'real' Caribbean (whatever that is)?

Considering the price, I wish I hadn't bothered buying this. We got better information from TripAdvisor, Wikipedia, the complementary magazine in the our hotel room, and our taxi driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not worth it, 28 May 2013
By 
O. Guzman "Lulu" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Caribbean Islands (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
was not useful on our trip. unfortunately it is really not easy to navigate and find info that you need. we always use lonely planet books and this was our first electroni copy. never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall view of various caribbean islands, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Caribbean Islands (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
Its always a toss-up between Lonely Planet and Rough Guide for me. They are both good, but one has different information to the other. In this instance, chose LP as it was in kindle form which RG wasn't and weight was an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Caribbean Islands (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
All the information was up to date and correct and proved to be very helpful. Always came in very handy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product have bought lonely planet books before will be using this on my honeymoon and will defiantly be purchasing other ones for my trips to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good and useful guide to our Caribbean holiday., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This proved to be a well illustrated, comprehensive, and useful guide to the islands that we visited in the Caribbean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top star guide., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and very comprehensive guide. Covers all the Caribean islands extensively. Good guides on the smaller islands are very hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not so useful acctually. has all the expensive hotel etc not the style i prefer travelling personally not for my pocket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good, detailed book giving you all the info you need to know about what to see and where to go in the Caribbean. We used it on our recent trip and it was a godsend. Don't leave home without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Caribbean Islands (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
This was brilliant for our recent Caribbean cruise. Very clear and accurate allowing us to quickly decide destinations and activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews