Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, could be better
I thought that I would know just about everything in these few episodes, but was pleasantly surprised with some of the information provided.

Pretty educationally based throughout it does have some interesting content.

The production is not quite so hot. I did wonder from the outset why Kate Humble was involved at all and was left thinking the same...
Published on 1 Jun 2012 by R.E. Viewer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NIce entertainment with pretty pictures
Photographically stunning. But that's about it. Explanations are carelessly put together; because the commentary raised more questions than answered them. I could learn more reading about the Earth's orbit. But the photography is stunning.
Published 18 months ago


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Orbit - Earths extraordinary Journey, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely perfect. A real must for those who are interested in this planet. Explained in down to earth (no pun intended)
terms. Along with "Wild Weather" DVD I would rate this a lot higher than 6 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Earth as you haven't understood it before., 4 Dec 2012
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful series with Kate Humble which circumnavigates the world through the year, but from an unusual angle, looking at how the earth's orbit round the sun affects the planet. Making earth science totally accessible, the great presentation, hopping from one part of the world to another at the speed of light (!), and the style of the presenters make this series of programmes thoroughly entertaining at the same time as being informative and educative. I learnt a lot while enjoying myself immensely.

Anyone interested in the vagaries of our varied planet should see this series and if you missed it on TV, now's your chance to appreciate its value. So sit back on a winter's evening with your feet up and see the world from a different - and amazing - perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series on TV and now I can watch it ..., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Great series on TV and now I can watch it again and again. Brings it home to you what a wonderful and unique planet we live on, we just need to look after it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, the scenery and footage are great and ..., 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
love it, the scenery and footage are great and have been well executed. the story of the planets orbit is fabulous and interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and entertaining, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Kate and Helen take you on a brilliant journey around a year of the earth around the sun. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Nov 2014
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Great series by the BBC - very informative and interesting - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought it was a Great Series, Enjoyed Every Minute of, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Personally,I thought it was a Great Series,Enjoyed Every Minute of It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BBC let down, 24 April 2012
By 
Evangelos Tozos "ET" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Some BBC producers have the ability to ruin <would be good> documentaries.In the past it has happened with the BRUCE PARRY series.Now they have struck again with ORBIT.
BBC's excellent documentaries have spoiled us to the point of watching docus like ORBIT and have to say that they could be a lot better.
To the point:if you expect to see great images in this one.. forget it.You mainly get to see the faces of the two female presenters [not their fault of course] and their reactions of wonder [oohs and aahs] to phenomena caused by the earth's orbit around our sun.Too much talking instead of showing.
Someone even had the idea of sticking one of them into a car and have her race on a road on the Equator and then have her say she must be the fastest driver in the world,because the car races along on earth's swiftest moving region.
What they say is interesting [although it can be found in any good book of the genre],they travel all over the globe,but apart of a few really exciting scenes [a short view from the International Space Station,the tide coming in on a coast of China and a few more of a total duration of less than 5 minutes]there is nothing but the educational side of it.
I could never ever watch this documentary for a second time.It really drags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Very satisfied with service and product, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Very educational and very well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orbit - Earth's Extraordinary Journey [DVD]
£6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews