Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grindfest lovers' dream.
I've been playing games in the Disgaea series since picking up Disgaea : Hour of Darkness for PS2 about 6 years back, and the games have gotten progressively better and better with each re-release. If you have this game already for PS3, don't let the fact it's a port put you off. This improves on MANY issues with the PS3 version, and adds some entirely new features and...
Published on 4 May 2012 by G. Kelly

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much useles in-game conversations
Only for fans of this game and this type of game.
Game story is slow, full of useless dialogs.
I am not fan of this type of game.
Read game rewiews before purchesing.
Published 6 months ago by Dragan Galic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grindfest lovers' dream., 4 May 2012
By 
G. Kelly "Awesomeist" (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
I've been playing games in the Disgaea series since picking up Disgaea : Hour of Darkness for PS2 about 6 years back, and the games have gotten progressively better and better with each re-release. If you have this game already for PS3, don't let the fact it's a port put you off. This improves on MANY issues with the PS3 version, and adds some entirely new features and improvements not seen in any existing Disgaea games yet.

For those that have played the PS3 version, this game includes all of the Raspberyl mode DLC from that version, all character DLC, and various new DLC-esque expansions. The entirely new content in this game is the addition of two new chapters for characters Rutile (a Half human, half nekomata delinquent), and Stellar Grossenburg (A Majin in training). The replacement of voice actors and the lack of emotions displayed by said actors makes these new chapters somewhat lackluster, but the experience overall is nice, and adds some fun new content to the game. In terms of minor additions, the "Skip animations" setting will no longer skip animations for attacks you haven't seen yet. They also added a new "Absorb" function in the class, so once you have created a character, you can completely absorb them to take all of their skills, evilities, and a portion of their levels. Finally, characters Fuka and Desco from Disgaea 4 have been added as an "End game" treat, once you have completed all extra scenarios.

For those who have never played a Disgaea game. Are you a fan of RPGs? Strategy games? Have you played Final Fantasy Tactics, or Tactics Ogre, but been left feeling like there just wasn't enough content? Disgaea is a great series to get in to. This particular game makes references to Japanese and American pop-culture frequently, and constantly makes stupid yet funny puns and jokes that keep you smiling whilst playing. Everything in this game is absolutely over-the-top. The highest possible level is 9,999 (not a typo), individual stats like Attack can reach in to the millions, and the current highest damage seen dealt is in the trillions. Want to become the best? This is a game where you can put plenty of effort in to have a great set of characters to show for it. Countless hours of fun, with endlessly generating gameplay, and lots to do after you've finished the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a newbie....but love it!, 20 May 2012
By 
PL (Bradley Stoke, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Ok...I will be honest...I almost gave up on this straight away as it seems like there is a lot to learn (I have never encountered the series before). I love Final Fantasy etc so the genre is familiar, but wow this game is pretty out there and really different. It has great humour, though, and once you kinda embrace the madness, it is a brilliant game. I have been on it today for around 8 hours and have barely scratched the surface. It's the kind of thing I was looking for, having invested in a Vita I wanted an immersive/addictive game.

All I would say is GIVE IT A GOOD CHANCE before you make your mind up. It is certainly different, there is quite a lot to learn, but it is so worth it and for me is a definite must have for the Vita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention not only brings you every DLC that was available in the PS3 version, it tweaks the game with several improvements that were only present in Disgaea 4 AND adds a bunch of new stuff that even Disgaea 4 didn't have. The game is less expensive than the combined cost of all the DLC for the PS3 version and the new features will make sure this monster consumes hundreds of hours of your time, again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tons of fun and amazing value for money!!, 17 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
First of all I should say that i'm a veteran of the series having played the previous two titles. If you are completely new to the series then you may find it slightly overwhelming as you play on, but please don't stop reading now because once you get your head around the game mechanics it is well worth your time!

The main story is fairly short but it is well written and is downright zany! It likes to poke fun at most cliches in RPG games and does so very well. It doesn't take itself too seriously. It also has an equally zany cast of characters which make this game absolutely brilliant! Once the main story is completed you are left with tons of sidequests to complete, which take up the majority of the game. It could take you 100+ hours to finish everything and see everything. Also for fans of the series most of your favourite characters from previous games make an appearance so there some great fan service (as expected from NIS America).

I should probably elabourate slightly. In this game you can level your characters to lv9999. There are over 50 classes of character each with their own sets of special moves which can be upgraded separately. There are a large selection of items, which (surprise, surprise) can be leveled seperately in an interesting fashion. Each item has its own little world which is a randomly generated dungeon. Battling through this will level your item up. If this wasn't enough there are also multiple ending to unlock and things like 'pirating' and the 'Land of Carnage' to get acquainted with.

Also if you already own the ps3 version of this it is worth noting that the Vita version actually contains all DLC as part of the standard game. All I can say is that I bought this game when it came out and I've clocked up 60+ hours without really denting the sidequests available, but more importantly i've played for 60+ hours without being bored. I haven't touched another game on my Vita.

So to sum up I really can't recommend this enough. Even if this isn't your kind of game just give it a shot as it really is an experience worth having. If it sounds overwhelming don't worry because online forums are very welcoming to newcomers and help and advice is always around the corner. With a little bit of effort you will have one of the most fantastic gaming experiences possible. It will keep you occupied for hours on end, which is especially useful if you're waiting for titles such as Gravity Rush, Killzone other blockbuster titles for the Vita. So yh, don't miss out!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
VERY GUD GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more chaos from the Disgaea universe, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Being the son of the overlord of hell is to live in the shadow of greatness, but what if the said son plotted the downfall of his father?

Back are the favourites from the universe such as the prinnys, explosive bad tempered penguins and the geo battle squares.
You take on the role of the protagonist as you recruit more followers to your cause [mostly the become enslaved to you after being beaten in combat] as you nearer you goal - to become the overlord of hell.

You will quickly realise that defeating the overlord is not going to be a straight forward fight as the first encounter with him results in you assaulting his hand, which takes up the entire battlefield..!

As well as the usual `missions` that make up the storyline, you can take a break and jump into the item world, each and every item in the game can be played as a battlefield against the residents that `live` inside the item, each floor you complete increases the items power, so the deeper you delve the more useful and powerful the item is going to be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top game, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Sw Howell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
8/10 game i recommend this for any good gamer full of action great graphics give it a try and smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Really enjoying this game. Owned it on ps3 and with all the dlc thrown in its even better on the ps vita. Game looks very good on the smaller screen as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game out on the PS vita, 21 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) (Video Game)
An excellent game, takes what was great about previous entrys in the series and improves upon them. In the vita edition you get all DLC which is great value for money. JRPGs are the best gaming genre by far and this game is the best JRPG by far. Will keep you busy for literally hundreds and hundreds of hours. If I was on a desert island and was only allowed one game.... this would be it :)Most of my other vita games such as Little big planet and Soul sacrifice don't even get played due to Disgaea 3.... to addictive. A must buy for strategy JRPG and grind vest lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita)
Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention (PS Vita) by NIS America (PlayStation Vita)
25.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews