Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great hack 'n slash
Darksiders 2 is one of those 'rather difficult hack 'n slash' games that are technically very sound but most people never see past the face value. If you just sit there mashing buttons then you will probably find this game quite boring and extremely difficult, the whole beauty of the game comes from chaining together large combos and seeing how many enemies you can kill...
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Paul R

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's about time I wrote a review for this..
Once again THQ has released another awesome, epic feeling/ twisted plot of a story...[not really.. still good though]
This time you are "Death"- yay! This death has obviously had a bit of a make over but whatever the change seems pretty cool..
To the main part for potential buyers:--
Pros:
-Awesome story following Darksiders
-Pretty easy...
Published 14 months ago by ShyGuy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great hack 'n slash, 2 Dec. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Darksiders 2 is one of those 'rather difficult hack 'n slash' games that are technically very sound but most people never see past the face value. If you just sit there mashing buttons then you will probably find this game quite boring and extremely difficult, the whole beauty of the game comes from chaining together large combos and seeing how many enemies you can kill without taking a hit yourself. The difficulty is fair to those experienced with this type of game and quite hard to those who have no idea what they are doing. This game is similar to Devil May Cry in that if you just push buttons without thinking it through you won't last very long. The gameplay is very nice, it is possible to pull of complex combos, cancel and generally do everything you'd expect to be able to in a game like this. I think a lot of people bought the game because of how the box looked or the adverts on TV and didn't expect it to be as complex as it is.

If you like Devil May Cry you should like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's about time I wrote a review for this.., 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Once again THQ has released another awesome, epic feeling/ twisted plot of a story...[not really.. still good though]
This time you are "Death"- yay! This death has obviously had a bit of a make over but whatever the change seems pretty cool..
To the main part for potential buyers:--
Pros:
-Awesome story following Darksiders
-Pretty easy to master [Always found the Darksider games to be movie/cut scene based]
-Fun but I carefully say this as it can be if you just chill out and enjoy the scenery and puzzles.

Cons:
-Graphics aren't that much better than Darksiders 1
-Story actually felt shorter than the First game.. could have been all the fun I had I know..
-Not for people with little patience, I could actually see someone with little patience flinging a controller at the screen as some puzzles are literally easier than you think... I mean you could spend an hour trying to work a bit out to then find out it was a simple Massive ball/massive testicle in the wrong slot...
-Still that wannabe DMC button bash feel (got enough of them games out now)

Conclusion: I know the Pros and Cons are short but only cause the game fell short of my expectations for such an amazing start to a sequel... Don't feel like My opnions are solid and enough to buy this game nor others but think of it in this way-> "What if DS3 comes out and I have missed an important part to the story?"... Yeh you're probably right they'll just fill you in within the first 10 mins of a massive cut scene in Darksiders 3...
I bought it and haven't regretted it, as I like the story, a lot.. I see it as a movie I get to interact with.. with the obv limitations ofc! still I get to play it how I want and the pace I like it.

*Grammer and spelling is terrible.. please forgive and hope this helped you*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good sequel., 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Havent finished it yet but enjoying the puzzles and fighiting the monsters. I love the idea of mixing my favourite style games for a perfect hybrid. Platformer that explores like prince of persia, fights like god of war, looks like a darker version of world of warcraft, and the MMORPG add on with the loot drop and character customisation is super fun! There are a few annoying glitches though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great product, I highly recommend it to everyone.
Definitely the best action of 2012.
Great graphics, perfect gameplay the only flaw is the plot a bit thin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 29 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great graphics and combats. Stunning environments! Also very long, since i m playing for about 20 hours and it s not finished yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best ever, 15 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I enjoy a chalenge solving the puzzles and fighting bosses and riding Despair was fun. The armour was cool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazing adventure, great platform. I love this game in Xbox 360 version. I hope that you choose it for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game for my brother and he loves it! Best purchase I ever made, he stays out of my way :')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All who live know my name, all who oppose me shall know Death., 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Darksiders II is a great sequel to the first Darksiders game. Playing as the eldest of the four horsemen Death is total bad-ass. The new and improved features of this game such as the all new perk tree and diverse arsenal of weapons is what made this game really enjoyable to play.

The reasons why I believe this game deserves 5 out of 5 stars are stated below:

The aesthetics:
In Darksiders II you are introduced to a vast new world known as the 'Forge Lands' were you meet new, intriguing characters. The looks of this game are certainly something that I credited and the detail that THQ have put into the environment is brilliant. You have access to all kinds of locations such as vast plains, dense forest and secluded buildings which harbour its own mystery. I find that the colour/contrast of the game is attractive and the way both objects, characters and backgrounds are presented are certainly appealing.

The characters:
Playing as Death is AWESOME. From the name you have this sense of being feared and you know that you aren't going to take no for an answer. All though Death looks legendary his movement is as good. To me War was big and slow and although you could do flips and skilful dodges, Death is more flexible and his mastery of this acrobatic skill is like a sixth sense to him. Dodging, attacks, climbing, grabbing, running, you name it Death is an expert.

New Features:
THQ have included new features in Darksiders II which I believe has enhanced the game play of this game. The all new perk tree was a great new feature that allowed you to customize Death the way you wanted him to be like. You have perks such as ghouls and harvest. Ghouls is a skill were you could call upon (2-4) Ghouls to fight for you for a period of time, you can then increase the perks such as Ghouls duration and health each time you levelled up. Side missions is the next new feature which has definitely increased play through time on Darksiders II. You can now interact with NPC's who will offer you quests to eliminate side bosses or do a certain task which doesn't impact in the main story. I was certainly happy when I found out about this, as in the original Darksiders you couldn't do any side quests, which was *sad face*. The new abilities which we are welcomed on Darksiders II are genius. All though many new abilities have arrived in this game two stand out for me. Firstly the 'Soul Splitter' ability which is granted to Death roughly in the middle of the main quest line. Soul splitter allows Death to utilize similar abilities to interdiction all by himself. Deaths actual soul is removed from his body which transforms into stone, and then split into two. The end result is two forms of Death (Green and purple) and Deaths actual body in the form of a stone reaper (so basically he is immune to damage). The player can switch between which Death they are controlling and the main use of this ability is to crack puzzles and open doorways etc. The second ability that I liked was the Death grip. Although we see a similar ability in the original Darksiders named the Abyssal Chain, Death Grip allows for more flexibility and can be used on more objects. Firstly with Death Grip you can use it to climb up walls and grab onto a glowing pedestal. You can also use it to swing to secluded area which may behold a chest, page of the dead or other collectible. Like in Darksiders I it can be used to grab smaller enemies and pull them towards you or grab larger units and propel yourself to them. However a new feature is you can grab friendly NPC's to get to the other side of a route which is expected during the story line.

You can also find new items such as weapons, Armour, potions and collectibles. I like this feature as if you locate a better weapon (whether it be axe, mace, hammer, scythe, render or claws) you can equip it. + there are different Armour sets which look different so you can somewhat change the look of Death. However the Armour doesn't just change the look of Death, different Armour may improve critical damage or arcane, so if you want to critically damage your enemies, choose armour which improves so.

Ultimately this game is a must buy if you have played the original Darksiders. Everything has been improved, looks, interactivity and the story is awesome. AND YOU PLAY AS FREAKIN DEATH! and your HORSE GLOWS GREEN!

Note: The only thing that I found was annoying was that THQ took out the ability to dash on wire and the root-like material which you could cling/climb on. I don't understand why they took that out o.O?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Platform gaming that is a rarity in this generation., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It is a well known fact that this generation of gaming is devoted to shooters. I don't really find shooters that much fun, the only ones I have enjoyed in the last 8 years is the Bioshock series. If you have no idea what Bioshock is, stop reading this and buy them instead, I finished Infinite last night and it's still all I can think about. Anyway I digress.
Darksiders brings us back to the days of real adventure gaming where you can explore and find cool stuff in your enviroment, where you have boss battles that push you (If you play in hard mode), a great story that keeps you involved in the game. The game also looks pretty nice too for a game that has not cost the earth to produce. Death is a pretty cool guy and it is fun being in control of him.
Game play is pretty limited in that you are killing numerous minions but it is still fun! If you have ever played God of war, the game play is pretty much exactly the same and this is where I talk about the game's short falls.
There is nothing new in Darksiders II. Everything you see here has been done before in someway before and the thing that holds this game back is it never made me go "Wow" A good game should surprise you or show you something original but apart from the take on the story this game is just a standard adventure game.
Also there the weapons system is kinda strange. You have scythes as your main weapon and then you have a second slot which is filled by a heavy weapon, generally a war-hammer or axe. When enemies are defeated they drop wepons which you can pick up and you find chests with new weapons inside, such as scythes that do fire damage etc. Unfortunately this system fails because once you have found a weapon which deals good damage you will go never revert to the previous one so why not just have one pair of scythes and upgrade them like in the original Darksiders? It feels like it is a half attempt at including RPG elements that just doesn't fit or work how it should.
All in all Darksiders II is a fun game but don't expect your mind to be blown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darksiders II (Xbox 360)
Darksiders II (Xbox 360) by THQ (Xbox 360)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews