Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cutting Edge Pop
Following an increasingly impressive run of varied releases, Visions may well be the album to send Montréalaise babe Clare Boucher skywards if not stratospheric. And there are few finer platforms from which to perform such a launch than with 4AD who, after last year's success with Gang Gang Dance, seem very much to be in the market for acts that sound like what The...
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Gannon

versus
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit samey
its awight, but once you have heard the single which is lovely the rest is a bit samey, a little bit synthy plink, but not in the good way royksopp do for example, worth a listen but not your pocket money
Published on 3 April 2012 by Mr. B. Miles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
Listening to it all the way through really is a treat as it has so many intricate layers of sound you can listen to it 100 times and still find new beauty in it. Definately worth getting for the cool cover alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simplesmente perfeito!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Comprei esse LP no dia 29 de março e aguardei ansiosamente a chegada do mesmo no dia 30 de abril. No momento da entrega não deu outra: só felicidade! Grimes abusa de melodias que tocam o espírito, faixa a faixa do álbum; sem dizer que a qualidade do vinil é incrível e me proporcionou momentos de muito prazer. Nota 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ephemeral, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions (MP3 Download)
listening to this album always brings me home, home to my primal mystic core
there is an otherworldly intuitive sound to the entirety of it which I adore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars visions cd, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
im very pleased with this cd artist..as i saw her on sky ,as a guest and i liked the sound and musical style she was singing...and the synthesizer sound was compelling ..worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so talented, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
It really is incredible that all of this is created by just one person. Grimes is really talented and very original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grimes, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
Cool!
Tiene unas canciones muy buenas, el tipo de música que despliega me encanta así realmente fue una buena compra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Critical Choice, 15 Dec 2012
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions (MP3 Download)
The reviews here are a bit of a mixed bag, but I'd recommend it. It has a decent retro feel and for those who, shall we say, have been around electronic music since the late seventies, it will feel nicely familar. That doesn't take away from the modern beat slant of the album and in particular, I found the production very good. Listened to on a decent system, you can pick up some really clever touches - the production is spacious and involving. It ticks a lot of cross-over boxes and she should be applauded - it's a brave album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Without knowing, it's just what I've been looking for..., 25 Sep 2012
By 
P. stephens "fil6584" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
Surprising, delighting, captivating, eclectic and eccentric by turns, Visions is one of those albums that you've been looking for, but didn't know you were looking for.
With so much over-hyped beigeness running through the music that is pushed upon us these days, it's so refreshing to find someone who is looking to go and explore without it feeling contrived or forced.
There's much more to the album than the track 'Genesis' (check out the video by the way, it's wonderfully 'loopy', in a good way) and each listen brings its reward.
I for one would hate to be stuck in some sort of musical middle age and I'm always on the look out for something stretching and rewarding....this album is just such a piece of work.
Go on, stretch yourself and give this album a go. Open your mind and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Post-Internet' Cheerleader, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
Hooky as hell sums up Grimes 4AD debut neatly. You'll be humming along to a vocal melody one moment before it disintegrates into synthetic vapour, transforming abruptly into something just as ear-wormingly infectious. 'Be A Body' initially seemed the standout, with a weightless nursery-rhyme refrain segueing into a crudely drawn electro beat that rides a brilliantly low-ended tribal choir sound that instantly reminded me of the song 'That Mystic' from Night Slugs affiliate Kingdom.

The more I listened, the more each song on the album made sense and opened it's rich delights. 'Eight' romps along on a squelchy robotic voice that grooves via its own malfunctioning rhythm. The most accomplished (but not necessarily the best, though it is fantastic) song is surely 'Skin', gliding on the most palatable vocals you'll find on the album (Grimes voice is twisted and high-pitched quite often, and I assume will be a Marmite ingredient for some), and also has the most obviously love-lorn lyrics and approachable song-structure. Other obvious highlights include bouncy electro tracks 'Genesis' and 'Oblivion'.

I've read criticism concerning Grimes unusual song-titles but I actually think they have a charming quality that fits into the overall aesthetic, for example the first song has a title not unlike something a teenager would hurriedly scratch into a scrapbook, and 'Symphonia IX (My Wait Is U)' seems like its riffing on the obscure names given to Japanese role-playing games, or indeed the song that would soundtrack said game. I absolutely adore this album and it feels like something that will only grow on me over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Visions (Audio CD)
absolutely superb - though genesis was the best song then I heard oblivion !! BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visions [VINYL]
Visions [VINYL] by Grimes (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews