Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never had such a quiet house!
This software is fantastic and so easy to use. My four eldest children range in age from 7 to 14, and they have all been having great fun with this. It has everything you need to create hours of great animations and mini movies. My eldest daughter is currently taking GCSE Media and she has been able to use this to create some amazing coursework. I have not had to help...
Published on 4 Dec. 2012 by Mrs. Aj Morrison

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for the right children
My children recently used it on a school trip so I bought a copy for home including the camera. My boys like making animations using online software but sadly this was only used once before being put away somewhere. Shame.
Published 6 months ago by whitbylad


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never had such a quiet house!, 4 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. Aj Morrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
This software is fantastic and so easy to use. My four eldest children range in age from 7 to 14, and they have all been having great fun with this. It has everything you need to create hours of great animations and mini movies. My eldest daughter is currently taking GCSE Media and she has been able to use this to create some amazing coursework. I have not had to help them with anything, they just took it out of the box, loaded it onto the laptop and away they went!
This would make an ideal christmas or birthday present for any young aspiring director or movie producer, can't praise it enough, the kids words include Cool, awesome, fab and wow...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super fun kit, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
Bought this for Christmas gift for a child who loves animation. Great gift, giving hours of fun and creativity. At first I thought it was rather overpriced but having had it explained to me by a 10 year old I understand the full potential of the kit! I did research this kit before purchase and agree with other reviewers, it's the best on offer and worth the price. Fully recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun and easy to use, 24 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
My three children aged 4, 7 and 11 have spent hours using this software and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. It is not often that you can find something educational, creative and fun that can keep such a broad age range entertained. Very impressive, and easy to use technology worth every penny. Well done zu3d!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
This product is fantastic it has all the equipment you need and the software comes on one disc. I am eleven and I haven't stopped playing with it since I got it. Personally I think it would be a great Christmas or birthday present for anyone of my age or older, or younger with a bit of help from a parent.
The website that supports this animation kit has plenty of tutorials for everything on zu3d which are very helpful, although if I am honest I had to watch some more than once. Zu3d comes with some different colour plasticine however I have lego so I used that.
If a there is a child you know who would like to have a go at making their own animated films and likes using a computer then this would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great software and now impressed by the camera, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
The kids love the animation software. It is really helpful and sufficiently feature rich to make super short films.

EDIT- it seems that the original camera was faulty. A similar camera was sent by the super ZuLogic team, and although it looks almost the same, it works beautifully. The colours and sound are now much, much better. The new camera only uses a USB connection - the faulty one had a separate connection for the sound.

[original text..]
Some things were less good - like the Voice recording. It does not let you test to get the volume correct.
And getting the camera settings correct was quite difficult...

The camera itself was ok - but
* colours burnt out in good lighting, meaning that most movies were made in dull lighting. This may be controlled by one of the many settings - but I could not figure it out. You could not immediately see the effect of changing a camera setting.
* the led lights, over a shorter distance at least, results in spots of light. Nice idea, but less useful than expected.
* the focus ring works - but it is easy to move the camera when you do so. Would be even nicer if the focus could be controlled on the computer [though I guess that that type of camera would cost much more]
* for an HD camera, it seemed moderately low quality (grainy and poor colour matching) - though I tried different fps vs quality settings. The green-screen cloth looked quite grey on the computer, even in good light.
* the built-in microphone is not very sensitive - you have to shout at it to pick up. Tried all settings and twiddled knobs, but never got really good results. The best bet is to complete the movie first, then hold the camera close to your mouth to record any voice-overs.
Not bad enough to be upset - as I said, the kids love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make a Morph story, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr W. (Herne Bay, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
Becoming a film maker has never been so easy with this stop motion animation set. Basically this means that you move your plasticene models a little bit each time and then add them together (Although you can also use drawing as well). The Zu3D web site gives some great examples of films that have been made - my favourite is the Infant class who has created a film of a dinosaur chasing them through the school - and this is because ZU3d also allows "green screen" technology - eg you can add a live video camera film behind your creation - you really can make a plasticene version of "Top Gun"! Plasticene may make an interesting "Wallace and Grommit" type film but you can also use small toys, lego or even household items and just move them between scenes to make entertaining films.

The kit comes with everything you need: camera (nicely made with its own light source and focus),the green screen, a stage backdrop and even a collection of plasticene (oh, and the all-important software that really is a doddle to use)

The software is simplicity itself to use with the ability to add a vision 'track', multiple "sound tracks" (so you can have background sound effects, voices and music on separate tracks) and a 'green screen" film (such as a video of some world landmark or a real-life piece of film). This really is child's play and the results are astounding - with patience and persistence they can become outstanding [It does take some effort and thought to make a stop motion animation of 100-1000 frames]. As finishing touches the software provides Title screen transitions and credit roll-overs so that you can become the director of the piece.

An excellent start in film making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great animation kit, 19 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
Great animation kit with easy to use software with some advanced features.

Bought for my son who loved making some animations with me. We have uploaded a number of videos to youtube:
http://youtu.be/p00eEOk4sTo
http://youtu.be/lDRzk2GhdtE
http://youtu.be/wDAmz3GVTs0

Online tutorials are great. The box contains everything to get started using your PC including modeling clay and a back drop and chroma key green screen.

I was impressed with the pose-able HD webcam the quality is good and holds its position well. It has integral led light to help with lighting. I would recommend using a desk lamp for consistent light when filming, as fame-by-frame animation take some time natural 'window light' will cause shadows and light changes as time passes which become evident in the final movie.

I would recommend buying some extra modeling clay you'll need it as all the family will want a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF IT WORKS FOR STUDENTS - THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT THAT WILL WORK FOR ANYONE!!! ENJOY, 25 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
As a teacher I have been lucky enough to use Zu3D in a number of school both main stream and SEN.

I have nothing but good words to say about the product:
1. It is very easy to use and learn once the studnets have watched the Tutorials;
2. It has so much scope and can be introduced into any subject area;
3. Students really love it and are mesmerized by the challenge;
4. It meets a lot of the New National Curriculum needs;
5. It is brillaint for capturing imagination; improving confidence and allowing low ability students to excel.

I will be getting a box for my nephews as a Christmas present - to ensure peace and tranquility when they come to visit.

Don't hesitate in your decision to get this for your kids! As an adult I really love it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, and very intuitive to use., 14 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
I bough this animation kit for my daughter a few months ago and we are still delighted with it. Among other things - we wanted to make some time lapse films of a water swelling dinosaur egg toy. I looked around at a few animation kits and tried a couple of them but this is without doubt the best and most intuitive animation kit we have seen. Although the packaging and tutorials are aimed at younger users, the ease of use and features in the kit reveal that the software is really very sophisticated, well presented and capable of producing some really good animations, worthy of packages that are a lot more expensive than this. We love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hours of creating!, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zu3D Animation Kit for Windows PCs and Apple Mac OS X: complete stop motion animation kit (CD-ROM)
Got this for my 10 year old. She's created some good stuff with it already. Really good product just a little short of instructions that allow a child to just get on with it unaided. Would recommend it to any budding animators though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews