Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!
Simply superb, you will not read a better book about leadership, sacrifice and courage than this book. A wonderfully written book that brings home the realities of the longest battle in the second world war, the Battle for the Atlantic.

As a measure of how well regarded this book is by the Royal Navy, for those young RN officers undergoing training at Britannia...
Published on 8 July 2008 by Mike

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the reviews
I'm just wondering why so many reviews (I appreciate everyone's enthusiasm!) refer to the MOVIE when this is the Penguin BOOK version? I really wanted to know if there was more in the book that we haven't seen.
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by Hungry Joe


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 8 July 2008
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
Simply superb, you will not read a better book about leadership, sacrifice and courage than this book. A wonderfully written book that brings home the realities of the longest battle in the second world war, the Battle for the Atlantic.

As a measure of how well regarded this book is by the Royal Navy, for those young RN officers undergoing training at Britannia Royal Naval College this book is given as a prize presented to the Cadet with the best performance in leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiction that is as close to reality as you can get!, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Jerz Jurkiewicz "Jerz" (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seldom have I read a book that is able to emulate the emotion and reality of the war at sea. There is something different and special with the way that Monserat has portrayed the life of "Compass Rose" a convoy escort, and the people involved. The ship is eventually sunk and some of the survivors go to a new ship and the story follows a number of the crew.

I have read a number of books on the stories of the convoys in the second world war but it is this fictional book that really makes me understand the misery and relief of surviving the convoys. It is difficult to explain this in a review and I would recommend anyone to read the book alongside any of the factual books and you will see what I mean.

Incidently, the BBC audio dramatisation (Donald Sinden, Phillip Madoc, Helen Baxendale and others)is also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiction that reads like a true story, 24 Sep 2002
By 
S. Diment "sue_diment" (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
The Cruel Sea is the story of the crew of a newly commissioned corvette, acting as an escort to merchant convoys during World War II. The crew is initially mostly inexperienced, from non-naval backgrounds. The plot focuses on their differing reactions to some of the horrifying experiences they have as the German U-boats attack their convoys with increasing success. Some will survive the war, and some won't - but all of them will be changed by their experiences.
Monsarrat served in corvettes himself during the war, and perhaps this is what gives the book an air of harsh reality. Although it is a fictionalised account, I found myself checking this part way through, because the story felt so real. Well worth reading - and if you enjoy this type of book, you may also enjoy H.M.S Ulysses, by Alistair MacLean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...women, marriage and emotion should not play a part in war..., 14 Dec 2011
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This superb book tells the story of how Britain fared in the battle of the Atlantic, the longest continuous military campaign in World War II. It pitted the Allies against the superior U-Boats (which attacked in sinister-sounding "wolf-packs") and war ships of Germany and it lasted until May 1943, when the German forces were overcome by new uses of the technology available to British vessels (improved radar and sonar known as "asdics"). During this battle the Allies lost 36,200 sailors and 36,000 merchant seamen, and the Germans lost 30,000 sailers. In addition, the Germans lost only 783 submarines, while the Allies lost 3,500 merchant vessels and 175 warships. At the end of the war, Rear Admiral Leonard Murray, Commander-in-Chief Canadian North Atlantic, remarked, "...the Battle of the Atlantic was not won by any Navy or Air Force, it was won by the courage, fortitude and determination of the British and Allied Merchant Navy."

The statistics tell their own story but the individuals involved, in sometimes horrendous events, bring the numbers to life. The Compass Rose, a vessel known as a corvette - a small ship that was used to search out and attack U-Boats and also to pick up survivors from ships that had been sunk, is captained by Ericson and though there are personal problems between the initial No.1, Bennett, and his fellow officers, this is sorted out when he opts to remove himself, supposedly suffering from a duodenal ulcer. Captain Ericson and his new No.1, Lockhart, make a good team. The writing is brilliantly perceptive as long as the men are at sea and there is plenty of heart-in-mouth action here. The portrayal of men who have been torpedoed and are waiting to be picked up by rescue ships, was devastatingly realistic and horrendous.

On land, however, I felt Monsarrat had a jaded view of women. One working-class woman's portrait is particularly viciously drawn as she proceeds to neglect her sickly baby by leaving it alone all night while she's out having fun. No one doubts it happens, but it is odd that we only see the faults of one sex. All the problems men have in the book are caused by women, but there is only one unfaithful sailor, mentioned right at the end. Why raise this subject at all if not to apply blame - and what about the millions of women who were faithful?. Captain Ericson reflects on the history of Gregg (whose wife is another slut) and concludes that: "women, marriage and emotion should not play a part in war... Some women were worthless, and some were getting bored with the war: when the two things coincided, no result, however mean or sordid should ever come as a surprise." Later he compares unfaithful women to people doing nothing for the war effort, States such as Spain and Ireland, for instance. Airily, he concludes these are also degrees of unfaithfulness and: "one may forgive a woman an occasional cold spell, but not her continued and smiling repose in other men's arms." The conflation is stunningly inapt. How is it possible to compare female incontinence with a preference for neutrality among sovereign states? I find most of his remarks about women quite bizzarre. I tend to think I should overlook all this nonsense because the rest of the book is so good.

Elsewhere Monsarrat raises two approaches to the war in the persons of Hamshaw and Keys. Hamshaw the smug administrator earns Monsarrat's scorn by being content to be a sheltered cog in the war machine, while Keys is lambasted for his cynical belief that no one in this war is doing anything that won't promote their self interest. But these are just extremes and there are much larger forces that act upon people and much more compelling reasons for going to war. Not many young enlisted men believed they would die - few really believe it will happen to them. In the end there are only inadequate rationalisations for war. Most often, people do what they feel is right, or follow blindly behind the next man.

I feel Monsarrat's gifts for describing action and the actual conditions and events that these brave and honourable men came up against are wholly impressive. This novel is a wonderfully rousing account of the Battle for the Atlantic and a stirring and often poignant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 30 Nov 2004
By 
B. Jonsson "Literate Warlock" (falun, dalarna sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
The Cruel Sea had been in my book shelf for years, as part of some book sale deal when I first opened it. Not knowing what to expect, I started reading with an open mind and found myself completely enclosed by the atmosphere of WW2.

The book, a literary masterpiece, slowly and humbly tells us stories of war, fighting and death as well as love, longing and comradeship. The characters so real and true, it is hard to believe this is not based on real events. Or should I say, of course it is! Montsarrat is well acquainted with naval affairs, having worked as an officer himself and having lived through the war. Of course characters resemble persons he has met and actions are of course depicted in the most realistic ways, I wouldn't know, being totally ignorant to naval ways.

What i do know, however, is that I still think this may be the best book I have ever read! Montsarrat was indeed a compelling author and i have tried to find more novels by him.

I recommend you to read this book, for no other reason than that it is wonderful literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 23 Feb 2007
By 
D. J. MELHUISH "djamesmel" (OBIYAMA, KUMAMOTO-SHI Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
I first studied this classic at high school in England. The author's knowledge and love of the sea and naval battles shine through. His characterisations and the motivations he gives his cast are well-thought out. He is able to bring the reader onto the corvettes during battles, skirmishes, slack times. Monsarrat superbly describes the brutality of war, the beauty of the landscapes and seascapes, romance, pride in what the sailors are trying to achieve. A masterpiece and thoroughly deserving of its reputation. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that compels you read on...., 20 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
The length of The Cruel Sea at first could see readers hearts sink, but for naval/military history enthusiast or casual reader alike, the book entises you to read on.Readers will often find themselves reading to pass the time, and then deciding to read on because of the way that the reading is so enjoyable. The book never trwals over ideas to long, and and never goes back to old material unless it is to portray the thoughts of the crew, and for that use, it is most effective. Picturing yourself in the situation the characters find themself in and/or picturing just the characters in their current state has never been as easy as it is with this book, and graphic details help this along. You know each character, and when a new one turns up there is no time wasted on a gradual revelation of their character, you are told, and you know. A good book, and one that even the remotely interested should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story of the war at sea, 28 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
This is realism at its best - none of the glossy side of war, more an insight into the human aspects of the conflict. This was certainly the best naval story I have ever read. I was sorry when the book ended as I felt that the characters had become persomal friends. Compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars george, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Kindle Edition)
I have been waiting for The Cruel Sea to be published on kindle for over a year, To find it at last has made my day. It is my favourite book and written by a master of his trade. The characters are so real that you find yourself caught up with them. it is a fantastic read i had a paperback copy of this book and almost wore it out. You almost feel the atmosphere of what life on a small ship must have been like, You can smell the sea, You almost feel the roll of the sea. Iam only sorry that I cant give this book,A story of men against a common enemy, The cruel, cold, unforgiving sea more than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad I wasn't there, 17 Jan 2002
By 
A. Thirsk (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cruel Sea (Paperback)
Although this is a work of fiction, it is just oozing with a realism that is borne out of the truth. Monsarrat was in this long hard stuggle for control of the Atlantic. A battle which cost 3000 ships and 30,000 men on the British side alone. Sometimes this novel seems to become a continuous catalogue of carnage but strangely seems to become de-humanised to the suffering just as the people envolved also become less vulnerable as the war grinds on. And grinds on it does to such an extent that you feel like you are there, in this (now) alien world, where life is one long stuggle against the 'cruel sea' interspersed with short but very violent clashes with the enemy. Without giving too much away, I felt that the book lost momentum 2 thirds of the way through when some of the crew of the Corvette transfer to a new Frigate. The description of the events seems to get a little thinner and a clash with german destroyers is brushed over but not so as to ruin the book. This has been written by someone who was there and knows what it was all about. There is no gung ho approach here. No one who reads this would want to go to war. In fact it should be made compulsory reading for all. I have given this book 4 stars but it should be 4 and a half. I thoroughly recommend that this book be read along with 'Das boot'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cruel Sea
The Cruel Sea by Nicholas Monsarrat
£3.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews