Customer Reviews


7 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Read
This book is a great read for Historians or anyone intrested in the evolution of the Queen's traditional message to the commonwealth at Christmas.

From her first ever in 1952 to the first TV broadcast reading the text is intretsing as you can see how the world has changed in nearly 60 years of messages.
Published on 24 Dec. 2011 by SAS

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring but complete
This may appeal to Monarchists or Historians, but few others. It was free, and to me it was worth exactly that.
Published on 3 Jun. 2012 by Stephen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Read, 24 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great read for Historians or anyone intrested in the evolution of the Queen's traditional message to the commonwealth at Christmas.

From her first ever in 1952 to the first TV broadcast reading the text is intretsing as you can see how the world has changed in nearly 60 years of messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wise Thoughts from a Very Wise Lady, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
As I said in my review of the Queen's Christmas Speech 2011, this is a wonderful book full of a lot of though provoking ideas.
Each year the important Christmas Message is central, as you would expect from so committed a Christian as Her Majesty the Queen. But there is also a reminder of the Commonwealth; a review of events of the year; thoughts ahead of the time - global warming was on the Queen's mind before most of us had heard about it !
They are all full of warmth and love, for her country and her people. As you read through the years you can see the growth of confidence and understanding developiong from the young Queen of 26 to out Queen today.
I highly recommendthis book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice momento of the Queen's speeches, and a great snapshot of each year. A lovely freebie for history buffs or royalists!, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
For anyone who has an interest in the history of Britain or the royal family, this is an excellent little freebie. Each year's speech is just a couple of pages long, but gives a snapshot of any given year. It's great how each speech gives such a feel for the year even though it's so short. I'm sure fans of the royals will lap this up, but it's also a great read for history buffs. Her Maj has a good way with words, and the speeches are a pleasure to read.

Highly recommended. I downloaded this just because it was free, but I'm glad I did, it's a really nice addition to my Kindle library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good on you, your Majesty, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
Have downloaded all her speeches and read them from an historical prospective. How times have changed. Read them if you want, it won't be time wasted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring but complete, 3 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
This may appeal to Monarchists or Historians, but few others. It was free, and to me it was worth exactly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
Gets better as time goes by. Seems to grasp the feelings of a nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speech, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) (Kindle Edition)
Ha ha, I expected this to be boring, however if read in detail it is probably one of the funniest spoken word I have ever read.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010)
The Queen's Christmas Speeches (1952 - 2010) by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews