Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (Audio CD)
Have enjoyed Albert Lee and Hogan Heroes for many years and this CD is no expection. Always good to listen to and to get the feet tapping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lee at his best., 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (MP3 Download)
This album is as good a live performance as you are ever likely to hear. Mr Lee plays his guitar and piano as well as ever. He may be getting on in years, but his fingers are as nimble. A little self indulgent it may be, but I'd recommend this album to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great concert, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (Audio CD)
sawalbert at shrewsbury concert great concert ordered cd the songs they performed are on the cd thats why i bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guitarist in the world, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (MP3 Download)
Good to have this band on disc, but even better to see them live! Talk about old rockers? These guys leave the young ones way behind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See Albert playing live if you get a chance., 10 Aug 2014
By 
JLH (Clacton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (Audio CD)
I saw Albert Lee & Hogan's Heroes at my local Clacton West Cliff Theater last year. To be honest, this is the first time they had been brought to my attention in all my 70 years! I was absolutely mesmerized with a wonderful evenings entertainment. I learn't that Albert played with The Everly Brothers for a number of years and not long afterwards a comeback film made a while ago of The Everly Brothers was shown .on TV and of course Albert Lee was in the backing group, dressed as the rest of the group in white I seem to remember. During that concert he played some great solo riffs.
I got talking to a fellow member of the audience in the break who was obviously a huge fan who said something in the order that he got to know Albert as that chap at the back with the long hair who played fantastic guitar. I was surprised that the theater was only about half full. It may be that as I would imagine he has been in the main a session and backing artist he is not as well known as he should be. I for one will definitely see them again next time they are in the area.
This album gives a flavor of the concert I saw that night. Albert has to my mind a great voice and Hogan's Heroes were excellent. I particularly liked the steel guitar solos. If you get a chance to see them live- don't hesitate to see them.
This is a live double album and contains 25 tracks.
Though this is an excellent live album the only slight disadvantage is that if you play, as I usually do, the album in shuffle mode on your iPod sometimes dialogue from Albert between the music comes up where it is not needed and you can get inappropriate gaps. (I've found this with many live recordings). I usually like play my music mixed in with others via the 'genera' mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the town tonight Albert Lee & Hogans Heroes, 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (MP3 Download)
Captures the intimate atmosphere of a live concert from these masterfull and entertaining musicians. Next best thing to watching and listing to them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On The Town Tonight, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Albert Lee or just generally appreciate melodic, rhythmic music played superbly then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Albert Lee one of the worlds finest pickers, 28 Jan 2012
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (Audio CD)
AL & HH habve been around in various guises for a LONG TIME BUT THIS IS PROBABLY THEIR BEST LIVE ALBUM, ALBERT HAS PLAYED WITH THE BEST, cLAPTON, eMMYLOU HARRIS ETC AND REALLY HAS TO BE SEEN LIVE TO BE FULLY APPRECIATED BE IT ORIGINALS OR COVERS THIS IS WELL WORTH BUYING. ONLY THING PEOPLE MAY QUIBBLE ABOUT IS HIS VOICE IT'S NOT THE WORLDS BEST BUT MY GOD AS A GUITAR PLAYER HE'S PREMIER LEAGUE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (MP3 Download)
Saw them live in Nottingham 10th May. Bought the album the next day. Unbelievable!! My guitar is going in the bin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALBERT LEE IS A HERO TOO!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town Tonight (Audio CD)
Imagine going down the pub one Saturday night and you find this group on! That's just what this 'live' album is -- and what a band and what a 'live' album its made too. Its a double disc package, all nicely balanced, so it doesn't get 'too loud to hear', which is often the case in a very small venue.. The first set is contained on disc1, which takes the show up to the interval. It comprises 12 country rockers, some standards and some self composed, but they all knit nicely together, with Alvin out front performing his usual wizardry on the fret board as well as singing, ably supported with some excellent keyboard. Likewise the second half is on disc 2, but this time there's 13 tracks to close the evening's entertainment. Its all lovely, wonderfully tight stuff performed by a combo of exceptional talent. Just wish I'd been there that night -- with a pint in my hand ... naturally! Great stuff and fully recommended. Only one 'downer' though -- the booklet type format packaging. Just don't like it because everything else seems to be protected better in a plastic box which also fits nicely into a CD stack -- but that's me being picky again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The Town Tonight
On The Town Tonight by Albert Lee & Hogans's Heroes
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews