Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all football fans
I'm a QPR fan so I wasn't sure at first whether a book about Millwall would interest me; but a friend - who is a Millwall fan - urged me to read it. True the basic structure of `Family' is a game by game account of Millwall's successful promotion campaign into the Championship - capped by winning the League One Wembley play off final in May 2010 - and as such of...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by Mark W.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EASY READING
Pretty much, your average tabloid fare. There are some decent insights, especially the bits dealing with players hoping for new contracts which highlight the fact that, away from the Van Persies, Rooneys, etc. of the world, the average Championship level pro and below suffers the same insecurities and fears that contractors in most professions face. Other than that, it's...
Published 17 months ago by Brussels Lion


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book, all football fans should read it., 2 Dec 2010
This is an in depth commentary of life behind the scenes at an English league club. It appears that few, if any, holds were barred and we get a first hand insight into the chairman, the administrators, the team management, the players and the fans. All over the course of a whole season. Arguably Michael Calvin got lucky as the season culminated in a successful Play-Off Final at Wembley and promotion. Well done to the Chairman and Management of Millwall Football Club for opening themselves up and allowing Michael Calvin to tag along for a whole year, to provide this fascinating and eye opening insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 1 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read giving a good insight into the way a football club is run and the people in it. It is more critical (particularly of certain players) than you would expect.
Would recommend particulary for Millwall supporters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read book for any football lover, 25 Nov 2010
By 
C. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As fly-on-the-wall books go this is top class. It is a must-read for any football lover. Michael Calvin doesn't so much take us behind the scenes but under the skin of a very special football club. It says much for the author that manager Kenny Jackett and the players have bared the souls to him in a way that makes us understand how a club operates. Michael brings us the highs and the lows...the euphoria of victory and the abject misery of defeat...not the usual 'over the moon' or 'sick as a parrot' cliches...read this and you will REALLY know the emotions of those involved in football...it is the next best thing to actually being there. Family is a terrific read. Christopher, Bromley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling!!, 25 Nov 2010
By 
This is a unique and perceptive insight into what it takes to run a small football club in England. Forget about the Premier League with its overpaid prima donnas and soap opera divas. Read how a REAL world football club operates - the insecurities, desperation, budget management, transfer dealing, leadership and man management, heartbreak, passion and occasional success - from the perspectives of players, owners, fans and managers. Although this book follows Millwall for one successful season, the insights and conclusions will reverberate and strike a chord in the minds of fans of any small football club. A must read, brilliantly put together by the author and rightly receiving accolades as the best sports book of 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Football, 7 Nov 2010
Firstly let me say I am a Millwall fan although some will say 'not real wall' due to my lack of a season tickets and attendance at away games. That said I have been supporting my club since the age of 5 when my grandad took me to my first game at the old Den and do go to as many games as I can each season. Thank god for lions player!

This book shows the real life world of football ouside of the premiership; how 80% of football clubs operate with the sparse resources available to them. It shows that most of our footballers do not earn a years wage in a week and really do care for their fans and club rather than their wage packet. It brings football back down to earth and back home. It follows the management team closly showing us the managers daily fight against injuries, how they manage relationships and the deal with the odd inflated ego as well as playing a father figure or friend.

Its a shame the author isn't around every week to give us the real low down rather than the what the TV want us to see and the papers what they want us to read.

Thoroughly recommend this to any football fan who wants a refreshing real world insight into football today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rarely read books, 5 Nov 2010
This book is exceptional. Could not put it down. As actually brought about an interest in reading for me. Is about Millwall a subject that I love but has actually had me ordering more books from Amazon. Didn't want it to end. Hate to put spoiler out but Millwall get promoted in the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than a football book, 4 Nov 2010
To call Family a football book does not do it justice. The clue is in the title - Michael Calvin delves beyond the stereotypes, behind the tv front and into the heart of a club which has a unique story to tell.

Family weaves all aspects of a football club into 300 pages and how the players, coaches, manager, physio, kit man, boardroom staff and fans are all ultimately fighting for one cause. Their raw emotions - hopes and fears - are brutally exposed. The book follows Millwall but it'll ratify with lower league fans or those who have become disillusioned.

Football is fast becoming a forgotten game - a sideshow beyond the Premier League - but Family restores faith in the humanity of the sport. All is not lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential reading, 2 Nov 2010
I can only reiterate another reviewer's comparisons with Hunter Davies' 'The Glory Game' and add to this the brilliant 'Only A Game?' by Eamon Dunphy. Mike Calvin's unique insight into the day to day dynamics of a 'real football club' surpasses both.
Us football fans think we've got the measure of the modern day footballer. The bling, the fancy cars, the nightclubbing. This incredible book slaps you in the face with its brutal honesty and detail and reminds you there is still a honest heart beating in the beautiful game.
Mike Calvin's narrative will send shivers down your spine, bring a tear to your eye and transport you to the training ground, centre circle and dressing room with all its associated dramas.
You don't have to be a Millwall supporter to enjoy this book. You don't even have to follow football to appreciate its characters and their amazing journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly unique insight, 2 Nov 2010
This book is a must read for all football fans. Due to the unpresidented access Mike had during the season - He has been able to offer a truly unique insight into the day-to-day workings of a modern day football club unlike any other book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!, 2 Nov 2010
Mike Calvin's 'Family' is not only essential reading for all supporters of Millwall Football Club, but it is a 'must read' for all football fans everywhere!
This book gets deep into the soul of our proud Club, now 125 years old.
The 'fly on the wall' treatment we get with this amazing insight highlights Manager Kenny Jackett's 'father-figure' type relationship with his players.
Mike has included humour with the drama that was involved in an extraordinary season that ended in that wonderful day at Wembley last May.
An awesome read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews