Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and beautiful
`God bless the Squire and his relations
And keep us in our proper stations'.

Jane Austen would never have prayed like that, at least once she was grown up. She knew that money made a difference (she wrote for money) and she had seen society change. Her last novel, in its very slim way, is her Middlemarch. She once described her work as a miniature on `two...
Published 19 months ago by Merget

versus
44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, shame about the quality
What was the point in repackaging this movie if the quality is worse and it's in the old TV format? I could see compression artefacts in the opening scenes and gave up watching. My original Australian release is better quality and in widescreen. It does not do justice to the movie in quality either but is better than this.
This is the best version of "Persuasion" and...
Published on 4 Jun. 2012 by Bugeyed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Very well played, the actors are really good. Good production, locations and costumes. Very adherent to the test. Austin would surely be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love it, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
We love this adaptation, thank you (again) BBC Drama. The cast are perfectly suited to their characters; they're just as you visualise them when you're reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound and picture quality, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
The version had Poor sound and picture quality and took away from theenjoyment of the quality of the actors and the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very faithful adaptation, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Stephen Bishop (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This version has many virtues especially of realism, and some wonderful performances especially Corin Redgrave as the vain baronet, and Sophie Thomson as the youngest sister. It is steady in pace and some viewers might prefer the 2007 ITV version, but ideally you should own both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars persuasion, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Love this film, one of my favourites so my husband and I have watched it time and time again . Good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
my favourite BBC adaptation of a Jane Austen novel. Loved it for years, old video just about worn out lots more viewing in this one
Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great version, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I watched this first on TV when it was first shown and loved it, I love all Jane Austen and have various TV versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please in Blu-ray quality!, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I believe, this is one of the best Jane Austen - movies from BBC. But I don't understand, why it hasn't come out as a Blu-ray. They have done it with Pride & Prejudice and this one is great to watch now on the new televisions! This version of Persuasion is so charming and romantic, much better and quite different from the newer version. One of my favourite movies, but really hard to watch because of the pure quality of the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
don't be concerned about screen size setting, excellent quality adaptation. Sound quality is fine, BBC can be trusted for a fine quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World class, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Superb adaptation with an excellent cast that catches the mood of the orignal book. Amanda Root is outstanding and the scenery is just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995]
Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] by Roger Michell (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews