Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wont you stay...this is a very beautiful love song
At last an adaptation of Austen that has not been turned into a chickflic. Persuasion is the most thoughtful of the novels, Austen at her most skilful and profound, so it is delightful that it has been adapted with similar confidence and subtlety. Our heroine is not a starlet but a young woman drained by disappointment and in this adaptation she really does gain radiance...
Published on 23 May 2012 by fabrice

versus
40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, shame about the quality
What was the point in repackaging this movie if the quality is worse and it's in the old TV format? I could see compression artefacts in the opening scenes and gave up watching. My original Australian release is better quality and in widescreen. It does not do justice to the movie in quality either but is better than this.
This is the best version of "Persuasion" and...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Bugeyed


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect - apart from the video presentation, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This production is wonderful! Fantastic casting - pretty much everyone is perfect from the leads to Sophie Thompson as the permanently ill Mary, Fiona Shaw, Corin Redgrave, Simon Russell-Beale. Only Sam West is a little too oily and creepy rather than charming, as Mr Eliot. Amanda Root begins as a very dowdy and downtrodden Anne. She blossoms as the film progresses, but her Anne is quite a quiet portrayal (the more recent ITV version had Sally Hawkins as a more emotional and sparky Anne)
Where this production scores big is in the production design. Lots of candlelit scenes that looks gorgeous. Also the script is top notch. I loved the part where all of Mary's family come to Anne with their moans and complaints. Another huge plus is the music. The original piano score is beautiful and the opera songs as the concert was dazzling.
On the minus side, why on earth was there a circus accompanying Anne and Wentworth at the end? A distraction so they could be shown kissing and no one would gasp at the impropriety? An explosion of joy? Not sure but it was odd and unnecessary.
Also a big minus was the video quality. If there was ever a BBC film that could do with a clean up and a Blu-Ray widescreen release this is it! I had to spend a while adjusting the sharpness and contrast on my TV to get a decent picture and it was still not filling the screen.
On the whole though, this is a wonderful production. Perfectly cast, much more faithful to the book that the 2007 ITV romp that took so many liberties, great music, lovely production design, wonderfully acted and directed. Love it! But come on BBC - BLU RAY PLEASE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good retelling of Austen's last novel, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Not much to dislike here. Director Roger Michell does much to bring something stirringly visual to the drama, though as ever with BBC productions, he had a limited budget to play with. The cast is a nice bunch that work together nicely, with nobody out-acting anyone else to steal scenes that are not theirs. Amanda Root holds the thing together, though she is not perhaps the most obvious choice to play Anne Elliott.

The story stays pretty close to the novel, and uses plenty of location shooting for authenticity. The costumes are nicely understated, with none of the overblown obviousness of the rich folks, that designers sometimes feel is necessary to make sure we know whose got all the money. Even so, Root is a bit too plainly attired at times, even though she plays a woman a little older than most of Austen's lead females.

This mini-series has a low-key DVD cover in the UK, but is given an odd-looking cheesy fairytale romance cover for US viewers. It is anything but cheesy though, as it delivers what you'd expect of an Austen story - well-crafted drama, a little comedy, and plenty of engaging warmth in the characters.

As ever, this 1995 production has been completely trounced by ITV's 2007 version (Persuasion : Complete ITV Adaptation [2007] [DVD]). The 1971 one (), starring Ann Firbank, is also excellent.Persuasion [DVD] [1971] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC], but is hard to find on anything other than NTSC format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
It is by far the better version of Jane Austen's novel. I have the later one which has been "modernized" which means that the actors do and say things they would never have done at the time. That quite spoil the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect story, beautifully acted, 30 July 2013
By 
A. Chapman (Northern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I watch this time and time again and decided instead of borrowing it I needed a copy of my own. Beautifully performed and of course a perfect story. Classic in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 21 Jun 2012
By 
S. Hamel (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
What a superb movie this is! Amanda Root and Kiaran Hinds are perfect in portraying these characters. This is a very enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen at her best, 25 Jan 2013
By 
E. Fellowes (Glasgow,Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Great BBC adaptation of Persuasion, I love Amanda Root as Anne Elliot the put upon sister of Elizabeth & Mary & the brooding naval Captain Wentworth played by Ciaran Hinds as they strive to overcome the social etiqutte of the day, will they get passed her rejection of him 8 1/2 years ago when he had no man money & was according to the Baronet Elliot a man of no consequence. Now the Baronet(played just right by Corin Redgrave) has got his family into debt due to his over spending and their circumstances have to change, Captain Wentworth is now a wealthy young man but is he disposed to look favourably on Anne or has someone else caught his eye. Persuasion shows Jane Austen's maturity as a writer and a woman and her ascerbic wit is at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but Goldie, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Although this is a dated production of Persausion, it's still the best by far. It's trrue to the book which can be rare, and I really like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Ursula Osborne "Ursula" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I didn't like it as much as Pride and Prejudice, but it is very good. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Very well played, the actors are really good. Good production, locations and costumes. Very adherent to the test. Austin would surely be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love it, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
We love this adaptation, thank you (again) BBC Drama. The cast are perfectly suited to their characters; they're just as you visualise them when you're reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995]
Persuasion (Repackaged) [DVD] [1995] by Roger Michell (DVD - 2012)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews