Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars95
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2015
Right product delivered on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
I love the period dramas and this came up to all expectations. I would recommend it to all who love the period dramas
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2002
ok so this version does actually follow the plot of the book......
its heroine is a typical austen heroine played correctly if rather like someone stiltedly suffering with shock
if you are an austen lover you might find this preferable to nothing ,as you will already have the ideas and words and plot enough in your head to ignore all the bad production, acting, filming etc
if you are not a deeply devoted austen devotee however i would wait until you are
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
Most reviews praise this version's faithfulness to the original book. Yes, it may be faithful as to dialogue but that is not the only scale by which a film (or TV series) version should be judged. The acting does indeed remain faithful to the book, its cardboard cover! The editing is frequently of the guillotine variety, sound recording is inferior, most of the acting is of the exaggerated style of the stage rather than the intimate style of the camera. Admittedly this particular work of Jane Austen makes greater demands of anyone attempting to dramatise the book. If you want something faithful to the book, read the book. If you want a good film, don't look here.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2000
I really enjoyed this adaptation. It stuck very closely to the book and Mrs Norris was superb.
Fans of Jane Austen will enjoy this
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
good overall a bit hard going inparts
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I have seen other versions of this story but I can honestly say this version is awful.Why it had to be so whiny and difficult to hear
is beyond me .I had to switch it off after approx 25mins so I certainly couldn't recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
This is probably the best version of Mansfield Park as yet and has some solid merit. Sir Thomas, Mrs. Norris and Fanny Price are just right and Edmund is passable. But some other parts are miscast. This is not my idea of Lady Bertram, and the Crawfords are all wrong, particularly Henry. With better casting it could have been a five star production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
having read the book i decided to order the mansfield park dvd b000awksuk through my son stephen macefleld, but i find the dvd dis appointing. at times i can barly hear what is spoken. the sound is inferior. having very match look forward to receiving it i am diappointed.

regretfully

b macefield
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Thank you for prompt delivery! I have seen several adaptions of Mansfield Park and I didnt like this one all that much. Some of the people in it were unsympathetic. The scenery and costumes were excellent The girl who played Fanny was very wishy washy and didnt seem as good as I would want her to. Otherwise it was okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)