Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worthwhile and winning adaptation
Although the dream snatches from catherines imagaination are a bit iffy this is a definately an enjoyable dramatisation. katherine schlesinger comes over very well as the over imagainative catherine and peter firth makes an excellent henry tilney. I especially love the ending when henry appears to that haunting music which certainly captured my imagination ( i actually...
Published on 19 Jun 2002 by Lynn Cormack

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In defence of this adaptation.
Northanger Abbey [1986]

Having noted all the extremely harsh reviews for this adaptation, I felt moved to submit a review in its defence. Jane Austen's novels are frequently regarded as `simply' love stories, but in all cases they are far more than this. Miss Austen had an excellent understanding of human nature, leading to some unforgettable characters, a...
Published on 5 Sep 2008 by S. J. Fisher


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing..., 24 Jun 2008
By 
I. Bates (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northanger Abbey [DVD] (DVD)
Until this I saw this I truly believed that all BBC costume dramas were at least good, with the majority being fantastic. This is not one of them. Awful 80s music, bad cinematography and lead female who is not remotely endearing. I would give it -5 if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 8 Jan 2008
By 
J. Bull (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northanger Abbey [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't get past the first 20 minutes. The acting is terrible. The background music does not fit with the period of the drama or the style of the piece and is totally distracting from the film itself.
The current ITV adaptation is much better with no distracting music and better acting. I recommend this instead. Or, pick up the book. It's wonderful in itself with no need to spoil it through adaptations of this kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful indeed!, 24 Jun 2008
By 
C. A. Knight "colonial" (Johannesburg, SA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northanger Abbey [DVD] (DVD)
I am about to purchase the Felicity Jones version of this in the fervent hope that it will wash away the unpleasant taste of this awful one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star is overly generous, 19 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Northanger Abbey [DVD] (DVD)
Four of us, all lovers of period dramas, have just sat through this drivel. We all agree it is quite the worst period drama we have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Regency drivel, 12 Feb 2006
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
NOTE: A glitch in the system has placed this review under the 2007 version of NORTHANGER ABBEY as well as the 1987 version for which it was originally written. I haven't seen the former. I fear that if I delete the review under the "wrong" version, it will also vanish under the "right" version. - Joe Haschka, 3-21-08

As I understand it, the book NORTHANGER ABBEY was Jane Austen's one attempt at a Gothic satire - vastly different from her comedic novels built around Regency polite society, period manners, and notions of courtship and romance. If this film version (for the British telly) of NORTHANGER ABBEY is an accurate indicator, Jane should have stuck with her day job.

Katherine Schlesinger stars as Catherine Morland, a genteel adolescent sent off to the spa city of Bath to tarry awhile with good friends, Mr. and Mrs. Allen (Geoffrey Chater and Googie Withers respectively). Of course, right off one can see a difference between NA and PRIDE & PREJUDICE, SENSE & SENSIBILITY, MANSFIELD PARK, and EMMA, where the storylines evolve principally in rural manor houses. While in Bath, the Allen's make every effort to introduce Catherine to "society". Two of those that befriend her are Henry Tilney (Peter Firth) and his sister Eleanor (Ingrid Lacey), who eventually invite her to sleep over at the family manor, NORTHANGER ABBEY, presided over by their widowed father, General Tilney (Robert Hardy). This is where the satire comes in.

Catherine and her impressionable girlfriends are absorbed in one particular Gothic novel - a contemporary best seller, so to speak - that has an illustration of the heroine at the mercy of the ogreish master of a gloomy estate. Anyway, Catherine has delicious nightmares of being in a similar situation extrapolated to the point where the peril to her virtue seems at hand after the dreamworld villain carries her upstairs during a violent storm, then leers suggestively after tossing her onto a bed. These dreams work on Catherine's overwrought imagination such that, while at NORTHANGER ABBEY, she begins to suspect that the creepy general had something to do with the sudden death of his wife. The connection between the two scenarios seems dodgy, but the point of Ms. Austen's satire was "Oh, puhleeze!" That, at least, I can agree with.

For me, the main problem with this film was that absolutely none of the characters were engaging or particularly interesting. Miss Morland is the epitome of the wide-eyed Silly Girl whose foolishness knows no limits. Moreover, the screenplay was borrrring from beginning to end, the soundtrack was melodramatic to the point of campiness, and the ending was so low key as to be almost invisible. (I didn't realize the conclusion had arrived until the credits rolled. A nice surprise, in retrospect.) Good heavens, what was the BBC thinking when it produced this drivel? It makes the cinematic versions of Austen's other works released in the 1990s, more clever by far, look comparatively like the greatest films ever made. The only positive note was the use of the romantically moated, 14th century Bodiam Castle in Kent for the exterior shots of Northanger Abbey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Run, run for your life!, 3 April 2007
This review is from: Northanger Abbey [DVD] (DVD)
I could only watch 5 minutes. It was so bad that i had to scream at the TV. I think the UN Security Council, The Pope and Arnold the Governator should get together and devise a cunning plan to ensure the destruction every single copy of this DVD. Only then can we make the world a better place. Never mind global warning, get rid of the dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor imitation, 12 Nov 2006
By 
K. Bohan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The DVD in question is dire- confused, rambling, badly acted, poorly scored and has a terrible script. So be it, but don't let it put you off the book. It's wonderful and very funny.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northanger Abbey (Repackaged) [DVD] [1987]
Northanger Abbey (Repackaged) [DVD] [1987] by Giles Foster (DVD - 2012)
4.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews