Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed adaption with brilliant actors!
I've read the novel several times always trying to imagine how the characters would look like. And when I watched the BBC adaption that was the first big surprise: Timothy Dalton matched the book character Rochester so well! And "plain Jane" was brilliantly played by Zelah Clarke. In addition to that watching the film was like reading the book, everything very...
Published on 15 Mar 2001 by s082130@stud.uni-goettingen.de

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give it time....
I bought this DVD as an accompanying resource to my university work. When the first episode starts and you see the shocking use of false lighting, it's a bit disappointing. For an era that was lit by candles, it's a bit of a let down. But don't let this put you off. The acting of both Dalton and Clarke is wonderful. Dalton is very passionate in his role (although I...
Published on 11 July 2006 by Ms. M. L. Butterworth


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed adaption with brilliant actors!, 15 Mar 2001
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
I've read the novel several times always trying to imagine how the characters would look like. And when I watched the BBC adaption that was the first big surprise: Timothy Dalton matched the book character Rochester so well! And "plain Jane" was brilliantly played by Zelah Clarke. In addition to that watching the film was like reading the book, everything very detailed and close to the novel. From now on I won't be able to read the book again without having the film in mind, it was just excellent. Anyone reading the book should watch the BBC adaption afterwards, I would even watch it with students at school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best adaptation of "Jane Eyre", 19 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
NOTHING betters this BBC adaptation of "Jane Eyre". The two leads are perfect. No offence to Zelah Clarke, but thank goodness for a non-standard 'beauty' so that she can say the line "poor, obscure, plain and little" with a straight face! She IS Jane, just as Dalton IS Rochester. Forget Orson Welles, Fontaine, and the rest, this is sublime BBC drama! Gets better each time you watch! Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best screen version ever, 30 Oct 2001
By 
Lynette Baines (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
This is the best of many screen versions of Charlotte Bronte's classic story. Although Timothy Dalton is perhaps a little too handsome to be Bronte's Rochester, I think he is fantastic in the role. Zelah Clarke is perfect as Jane. The supporting cast are wonderful, particularly the actors playing St John Rivers and Grace Poole. The relationship between Jane and Rochester is beautifully portrayed and totally believable. This is the version closest to the spirit and letter of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best by far, 13 Sep 2008
By 
L. Garland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is, by far, the best TV/film adaptation of Jane Eyre as it faithfully follows the book.

My only criticism would be that Timothy Dalton is too good-looking to be Rochester. Rochester is not supposed to be good-looking in the conventional way but has a certain 'something' that makes him attractive. There is an accusation that Rochester is too 'violent' in the scene before Jane leaves. If you watch this scene, and go back to the novel it perfectly captures Rochester's agony at the thought of Jane leaving him. It is Jane who has all the control in this scene, as throughout their relationship - 'never was anything at once so frail and so indomitable. A mere reed she feels in my hand!.....'If I tear, rend the slight prison, my outrage will only let the captive loose.....And it is you spirit - with will and energy, and virtue and purity - that I want.'

Zelah Clarke IS Jane. Small, plain, elfin but with so much inner strength and repressed passion. The difficulty with Jane's character is that so much of what Rochester sees in Jane occurs when he is watching her unbeknownst to Jane or to the reader. It is only after the proposal and failed 'marriage' that Rochester tells Jane of how he has watched her all these months, in her dealings with Adele, Mrs Fairfax and the other members of staff.

The most important scene, which most adaptations choose to change is the gypsy scene. Why they do this I do not know. In this version they have stuck rigidly with the book - HURRAH! It is passionate, heart-rending and funny all in one!

Ok, it may be slightly dated with it's sound-stage sets and lighting but if you love the novel you will love this adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Wonderful!, 7 May 2004
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
This BBC adaptation of Jane Eyre is definately the best.
The chemistry between Timothy Dalton and Zelah Clarke is wonderful. Real emotion sparks between them from start to finish. I have to say that Zelah's Jane is a bit to pretty for Charlotte Bronte's Jane but she is cast brilliantly, as is Timothy for Mr Rochester's part.
The original films flitted from one scene to a next so quickly but this version shows Jane's life perfectly.
The actress who plays Jane in her early life is a star!
When watching this film watch the delightful scene where Jane has asked for money and Mr Rochester asks for it back calling her a little Niggot. You can see that Zelah and Timothy just want to burst out laughing!
Mr Rochester's declaration of love for the first time to Jane is touching and Jane's rejection of Mr Rochester after her finding he is still married is heart-breaking. It makes you want to comfort Mr Rochester and call Jane mad for leaving him!
My only gripe? The version that I have is a double video pack and I find it annoying that I get into the story and then have to change the video for the second part. Surely it's best to have it on one tape to keep your mind focused on the story.
If you love the book and want real feeling and drama then buy this now! En-Core! Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The closest version to the book so far!, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
What an absolutely fantastic version! WHY ON EARTH ISN'T IT ON DVD????? "Jane Eyre" is my all time favourite book. I love this novel, but I've seen some appalling versions of it. I was not at all impressed with many other versions as they were either "modernised" or not close to the plot in the novel. I saw this version when it was originally broadcast on BBC 1 on a Sunday afternoon. At the age of ten I was impressed with it and I still am!
The combination of Timothy Dalton and Zelah Clarke works incredibly well. Both characters are extremely believable. I can't understand why Dalton performed in more action films than costume dramas. He is incredibly talented and IS Mr Rochester.
No other actor, in my opinion, has played him as well so far.
The theme music is lovely, and at the end of the film I cried! It is such a wonderful, moving and inspiring story especially when the parts are played by suitable actors and actresses.
Spoilt brat John Reed deserves a good slap (he is played well), annoying child!
This version should be on DVD and is a must for anyone's collection. It is "darker" than your typical Jane Austen dramas
and cannot be compared with them. It accurately reflects Bronte's style of writing. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 4 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
I have seen many different versions of this intense love story and read the novel - this adaptation is the very best. The acting is superb, the sets perfect and the atmosphere excellent. The story is intense, sombre and dark and this is portrayed wonderfully. Jane is a young governess who has had a sad childhood, unwanted by a jealous aunt and brought up in a harsh home. Mr Rochester is dark, forbidding and sometimes frightening but as the story unfolds they are drawn together. However a deep dark secret is revealed which sends Jane's dreams crashing down. It is passionate, emotional and truly one of the best love storys ever written - a very close contender to Pride and Prejudice. The only criticism I have is that perhaps Timothy Dalton is too handsome and Zelah Clark too pretty to play the parts of 'plain Jane' and 'not handsome Mr Rochester'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best adaption yet!!, 25 Sep 2006
By 
D. Costello (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I dont understand how this version of Jane Eyre only received 2 star reviews, i have watched pratcially every adaption of Jane Eyre ever filmed and THIS VERSION IS MY FAVOURITE BY FAR!!! The sets are not what you would call lavish but i think that when you get past that and the fact that the sets are a little overlit, you will find that the acting is superb. Timothy Dalton is the only Mr Rochester for me.While his colouring does not fit the description in the book, he is the only actor to catch the biting sarcasm, intensity and tenderness that i always associate with mr rochester. For me Zelah Clarke is Jane, she is perfect for the part, both in her stature and her manner..can't say i cared for the dresses she wore though!! Perhaps the only quibble i would have with her part is that the mischiveous side of Jane was not allowed to develop as much as is truly necessary; this however was not Ms Clarkes fault as we see toward the end of the production that she can play at tormenting him!! All in all this is the version i would recommend to people, after having warned them that it does look a little stage bound. But other than that it has everyting, brillant acting by characters who have become Jane and Rochester for me, and perhaps best of all the language and script are almost word for word from the book. What more can a true Jane Eyre fan ask for?? I am just thankful i ever came across it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best adaption of the book - ever!, 10 April 2005
This review is from: Jane Eyre [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
I own them all and re-read the book regularly. Dalton may, in fact be too handsome for Rochester and Zelah Clark's dimples might be too deep for Jane but once you start watching this version you will not want to leave it. I saw it when A&E did the original broadcast in the 80's and have owned it ever since. Great news, Amazon will have it on DVD available April 19th!
If you like the Bronte story and want the truest to what Charlotte Bronte actually wrote this is as close as you can get unless you listen to Juliet Mills unabridged six-hour version. Dalton is a Shakespearan actor by training and you'll know it by the time you are finished watching. I did not consider this 'over the top' in the least. If you want the romance, you gotta have the emotion! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre - Timothy dalton version dvd, 21 April 2009
By 
I thought after watching the BBC 2006 version of Jane Eyre that Toby Stevens who played Mr. Rochester was the most admirable Mr. Rochester I had ever seen - that is until I came by this DVD.

Timothy Dalton is absolutely SUPERB! He just has you mesmerised from start to finish!

When I grew up I only knew of Timothy Dalton because he was the "voice-over" for an advert on TV for "Brains Faggots" (what a claim to fame!!) He then got the part of James Bond and that's how he came to world wide notice.

I was expecting something a bit "wooden" from him but I have to say he totally "trounced" Toby Stevens portrayal. It was Toby Stevens Mr. Rochester that made me go and buy the book but just hunting on Amazon I saw this dvd version and HAD to have it! So far i've watched it twice and can't wait to watch it again.

whilst he is a wee bit too good looking for Mr. Rochester you soon forget that as you get sucked into what you are watching. Don't know if Mr. Dalton won any awards for this series but i'm totally hooked. He is so very very good - it then makes you sad to realise that this is 23 years old. A great way to unwind and forget all your troubles. I very highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Eyre (Repackaged) [DVD] [1983]
Jane Eyre (Repackaged) [DVD] [1983] by Julian Amyes (DVD - 2012)
£5.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews