Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hedge trimmer
the company that i bought this product from gave 4/5 wks del which was a bit disapointing but in fact actually delivered in 4 days have since used this and found it very good does what it says on the packet only fault is that it should be supplied with a harness as standard
Published on 12 Oct. 2012 by manfan

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak product
Delivery excellent, trimmer of poor quality. Have several petrol driven Ryobi products one being a hedge trimmer, a sturdy piece of kit with quality cutter blades, unfortunately this electrical item is not in the same league in that it seized after 15mins on its first outing with immediate signs of wear on the cutter bars.My advise steer clear.
Amazon & suppliers...
Published on 27 Sept. 2012 by A. Arkless


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak product, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Arkless - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
Delivery excellent, trimmer of poor quality. Have several petrol driven Ryobi products one being a hedge trimmer, a sturdy piece of kit with quality cutter blades, unfortunately this electrical item is not in the same league in that it seized after 15mins on its first outing with immediate signs of wear on the cutter bars.My advise steer clear.
Amazon & suppliers have been first rate with refund given immediately upon return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does Not Do What it Says On The Tin!, 16 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
I have had a bad experience with this Ryobi hedge trimmer because it did not perform as claimed in the manufacturer's technical data. The first example I received jammed and gave up after a couple of hours of (non-continuous) use. It was very promptly collected and replaced by Amazon and their partner's, Platinum Garden Centre (exemplary customer service, thank you). Unfortunately the second example was equally poor. Ryobi claim that it will cut foliage up to 17mm in diameter. My experience was that it baulked or jammed on 8 mm cuts on green wood, and I verified that under performance with digital calipers. The concept and design appear excellent; it is a pity that the trimming head performs so badly.
I have now received a refund and will look to a different manufacturer for a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hedge trimmer, 12 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
the company that i bought this product from gave 4/5 wks del which was a bit disapointing but in fact actually delivered in 4 days have since used this and found it very good does what it says on the packet only fault is that it should be supplied with a harness as standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ryobi RPT 4045 long reach Hedge cutter, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
The Ryobi was deliverd on time and has performed very, I would say better than expected because one or two reveiws were a bit negative,Changing cutting angles is quick and precise, it cuts through all the normal thick branches you find in a hedge, it took about 10 minutes to get the hang of it and I found I could cut all the long reach parts easily, I would add that for close up work its best to use shears, the point of this is long reach cutting.

Tim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this unreliable product, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
D. G. Brown (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
This hedge cutter is not of merchantable quality and should not be considered for purchase. I ordered one in September 2012 and it performed reasonably well on the two occasions I used it the Autumn. However it is unwieldy and requires considerable strength to use. On its first use in the new year (2013) it ran very briefly for about five minutes then began to cut out and stopped completely. It was being used on some very light new growth on a high level hedge.
After much prevarication the manufacturer [Conrad Electronic] agreed to replace the dead unit. Initially they wanted me to return the faulty unit to Germany, but eventually settled on their depot near Bedford. There was another argument before they re-funded my costs for postage.
The second machine worked in its awkward way on the two occasions I used it in the Autumn of 2013 BUT it failed again during its first outing in May 2014. Despite the fact that the original unit had a two year warranty from September 2012 Conrad have ignored all complaints and Amazon have washed their hands of the affair because their A-Z Safe Buying "guarantee" extends for only 90 days from the original purchase date. Both companies are behaving in a shabby way and my only recourse to recover the cost of this unreliable machine may be through the small claims court. Some purchasers appear to be satisfied with this machine but I have had two complete failures.
After 48 pages of correspondence with Ryobi, my credit card supplier and Citizens Advice I eventually achieved a FULL REFUND; but only after refusing a third suspect machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars downside, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
the machine works well, but the connection to the power source is a bad letdown /
having an adapter to convert from 2 to 3 pin socket on such a short lead is totally unsuitable ,
it means having to have the plugin next to you as you work , thereby adding weight to an already heave machine, to say nothing of the dangers that it brings with it, also such a short lead is silly on this machine.

I feel that it was not designed for the market it is sold in and this should be stated in the adverts.
to use mine safely ,I have had to have it rewired with a longer cable , so in the end it became more expensive than better machines, pay attention to how its advertised pls .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some difficulties in use., 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
I find it rather heavy and unwieldy after about 30 minutes use. You have to be careful not to trap your fingers when adjusting the angle of the cutting head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ryobi Long reach Hedge Cutter, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
You will need very strong arms to hold this tool other than upright. Trying to hold it horizontal is possible but not when extended. I wanted it to cut a steep bank(50 degrees) but I think this will be difficult. The product is perfect - no complaints there - but it is heavier than I expected. Lesson - read the details of weight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hedge cutter, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. N. Crossley "bulldozer" (Knaresborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
Absolutely brilliant. Needed it for a very large hedge - next door neighbour's great wall of China, and it cut the very thick hedge extremely well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, 1 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Ryobi RPT4045 Electric Long Reach Hedge Cutter (Tools & Hardware)
I have bought one of these and used it for the first time yesterday. Seriously not impressed. Yes it cuts the hedge but nothing more than half a centimetre in diameter without a struggle.
It extends to not a massive amount, but I found that whilst cutting across the top of the hedge, any time I came to the slightest bit of stubborn hedge, the end came off which leaves you with the whole electric trimmer blades dangling on the internal wiring. Not safe and a real pain in the backside as this happened time and time again.
Also it is not that light, so if you have a hedge of any substantial size, then unless you're built like Arnold Swartznegger, you're going to struggle. I found it heavy and cumbersome and wished I had shopped around more and paid a little more. As they say, you pay for what you get. My advice? Stay well clear of this item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews