Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore IMDB this time
To read the review currently featured under this title on IMDB you would think this was a terrible film and indeed it only attracts a rating of 4.9/10. Well I gave it 9/10 because I thoroughly enjoyed it. It will never get an oscar but its a very enjoyable fantasy for young adults. I have read criticism about how the poor people of this time wouldn't have been able to...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by PJ Rankine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK film
Probably worth watching, but not desperatley inspiring. The plot is ok, fairly Hollywoodized, not much to take away from this fiim but it's not that bad either.
Published 14 months ago by TimTom


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore IMDB this time, 14 Jun 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
To read the review currently featured under this title on IMDB you would think this was a terrible film and indeed it only attracts a rating of 4.9/10. Well I gave it 9/10 because I thoroughly enjoyed it. It will never get an oscar but its a very enjoyable fantasy for young adults. I have read criticism about how the poor people of this time wouldn't have been able to afford glass for their windows, for goodness sake, its a fantasy! My wife who hardly notices these things commented on how wonderful the set was. Amanda Seyfried is as gorgeous as ever as Valerie/Red Riding Hood and the whole cast give a pretty good performance and no I didn't guess who the werewolf was before the reveal. All the clues point to an obvious suspect but the plot is darker and more twisted than that. I'm sure the whole thing is aimed at fans of Twilight but I'm not one of those and I loved it. I watched it on dvd and will be buying it on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SOUNDTRACK, 21 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Two guys compete for the attention of a young female. The movie is a who-dun-it as we have to figure out who is the werewolf as clues lead us in opposite directions. Red Riding Hood's sister is killed by a werewolf after 20 years of peace. The villagers then go to the cave of the wolf, kill a regular wolf and think they got the werewolf. A man is killed in the attack. Now this is where the plot twists. We find out early on that Red's sister was only her half sister and the man who was killed hunting the wolf was really her father. Red is in love with Peter, the poor woodcutter who reminds me too much of Twilight's Edward. Red is supposed to marry Henry, the blacksmith who happens to be the son of the man who was killed as well as Red's sister's half-brother. Red's sister was in love with Henry, but never knew he was her half-brother, and neither did Red's daddy. Got all that? Because I sure didn't.

Gary Oldman shows up as the professional werewolf killer with a silver sword blessed by the Pope. He conducts a "witch hunt" in order to flush out the werewolf. The scene I liked best was the celebration of the death of the wolf. The music could best be described as pagan rave music. It was played with ancient instruments with off setting drums. I really enjoyed the soundtrack. It was a mystery, love story, and werewolf movie wrapped into one. The major down side was the mediocre acting of Peter and Henry, the two suitors.

No nudity. A near sex scene. No profanity as I recall, tween friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting but Beautiful, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I really didn't know what to expect but figured that if it had Gary Oldman in it, it won't be too far off track!

I thought it was awesome.

The first thing that struck me was the soundtrack and the cinematography. Right from the very start it manages to instill an almost uncomfortably sinister feeling, even though what you were seeing visually, is anything but. The film manages to capture the fairy tale element of the story we all heard as a child. Yet, you soon feel that all is not as it would seem.... Throughout the film, I thought yeah, this is predictable and just when I thought I thought I had worked it all out, it would add yet another twist to the story, and kept me guessing pretty much right up to the tragic but happy end.

Cleverly done, beautifully filmed, haunting soundtrack. May not be everyones cup of tea, but if you enjoyed films like Van Helsing or Dracula, this will be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Red Riding Hood, all grown up and ready for the wolf..., 20 April 2011
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Catherine Hardwike's film is much closer to the 1984 movie "Company of wolves" (based on Angela Carter short stories) than to the original Charles Perrault tale - and like the former, it is definitely NOT for children. I am also almost certain that Catherine Hardwike was at least a little inspired by the wonderful commercial for Chanel 5, made in 1999 and featuring Estella Warren as Red Riding Hood and the wolf as himself.

Both me and my wife we liked this movie very much. Ok, granted, this is not an immortal masterpiece, but we both spend a nice cinema moment and this movie has many qualities, which I will try to describe below. MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD.

First, we liked the cast. Amanda Seyfried is excellent as Valerie, a young girl who reached the time to be married and gets from her grandmother a red cape as wedding gift. The name Red Riding Hood is never used in the movie, everybody calls her just Valerie - but we of course know better... Amanda Seyfried wears this red cape with a great grace and the effect (especially for the male public) is quite pleasant. It is even more pronounced when the snow falls.

Shiloh Fernandez and Max Irons give a good performance as two young village men, wild, bold and violent Peter and shy, peaceful and more sophisticated Henry, who both want to marry Valerie. Those two rivals and sworn enemies both have their good and bad points and with the time Valerie will have more and more trouble to choose between them.

Virginia Madsen plays Valerie's mother - her character, although secondary, is quite important for the plot so pay good attention to everything she says. Julie Christie is Valerie's grandmother, who lives in a house deep in the forest, away from the village - and she is (obviously) even more important to the story.

Michael Hogan (who is well remembered for his role in "Battlestar Galactica") plays village's reeve, a fearless no-nonsense man, who trusts his faithful silver dagger and is not afraid of the wolf.

Gary Oldman plays an inquisitor, Father Solomon, whose body and soul were once so terribly hurt by a werewolf, that he devoted his life to destroy those monsters. As usual for Gary Oldman's characters, Father Solomon is barking mad and definitely not a good person but he is clever and quite consequent and credible in his fanatism.

A special mention goes to Billy Burke, who plays the small role of Valerie's father, a burned out, heavily drinking wood cutter, used and worn out by the hardships of life and constant struggle with poverty.

And finally there are Shauna Kain, Carmen Lavigne and Kacey Rohl as Roxanne, Rose and Prudence, Valerie's best friends and young Cole Heppel, as Claude (Roxanne's brother), a retarded village boy. Those characters, although minor in the beginning of the movie, also have some important role to play.

The second very strong point of this movie is the scenography. The views of the mountains and the forest in this film are amazing. The village is extremely well designed, as are the costumes of the villagers and the soldiers who came with Father Solomon. This movie is visually very pleasant.

The third good point is the plot, which is not stupid at all. The main mystery is very skilfully kept until the end. And the ending itself is a very good one - especially for anybody who knows Angela Carter's short stories about wolves, werewolves and Red Riding Hood.

The fourth good point is the Wolf, who has absolutely nothing to do with the cute and cuddly werewolves from Twilight saga. That Wolf came to our world from the darkest layers of hell and is as evil as it is powerful and cunning. And it has absolutely no heart, no remorse and no soul.

But the best thing in this movie is the general atmosphere, which is frequently quite erotic, when in the same time there is absolutely no sex and no nudity. Somehow, the simple presence of a flock of nubile girls and young men who court them and the always present menace of a half human Beast which enjoys preying on young females is enough to generate the very special mood of this Red Riding Hood. Amanda Seyfried, her blond hair and her red cape contrasting with the virginal white snow certainly contribute a lot to this atmosphere. However this movie is much more subtle than "Company of wolves", in which at one moment Red Riding Hood gets all naked and joins the wolf pack...

There are some violent moments in this film, but here also it is much less brutal than "Company of wolves".

So all in all I can't really give less than five stars, because I really spend a good moment watching "Red Riding Hood" and I will certainly look forward for the next Catherine Hardwike movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Quite a surprise, I enjoyed this film for a number of reasons. One, the special effects; very well done. Two; two of the actors, Gary oldman always plays his characters well and this is no exception. Amanda seyfried plays a good turn also. I recommend this film to anyone who enjoys medieval and dark but atmospheric films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab movie with quick delivery, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Red Riding Hood topped off a movie night wrapped in blankets hearing the rain fall on the window. It's a perfect movie to get the chocolates out as the tension builds.. and even the popcorn if that's the smell you want to fill the house with. Amazon gives quick delivery, faster than expected so you'd be snuggled up in no time. May I add... there are a few hotties in the movie too which always tops it off for the girlies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'WHAT BIG TEETH YOU HAVE' - 'All the better to eat you with', 8 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A small and remote village relive memories of the past when a young woman is attacked and killed, bringing fear upon them, a 'Wolf' lives among them.
'Valerie'( Amanda Seyfried ) a young woman seems to be able to understand the beast,which draws the attention of a 'Werewolf' hunter that has come to the village to rid it of the curse.
This medieval fantasy drama loosly follows the story of 'Red Rding Hood' and has all the main characters known to us from the tale, however this is much 'Darker' than the childhood story of old.
It's seriously worth a spin..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
We watched this film because it features some of the actors of "Breaking Dawn" ,and it's a good film. A bit far fetched sometimes maybe but still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting entertainment, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this sort of film.It was great not knowing who the wolf was until the end.A great take on an already scary story.Amanda Seyfried
was really good as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK film, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Hood [Blu-ray] [2011] (Blu-ray)
Probably worth watching, but not desperatley inspiring. The plot is ok, fairly Hollywoodized, not much to take away from this fiim but it's not that bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Riding Hood [Blu-ray] [2011]
Red Riding Hood [Blu-ray] [2011] by Catherine Hardwicke (Blu-ray - 2011)
£5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews