Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better DC animated films.
This is easily one of the better DC animated movies, a huge improvement on the mediocre Green Lantern: First Flight. Here we have an anthology, taking stories from six different Green Lanterns. The strength of this film is the exploration of the history of the Green Lantern Corps, giving you a taste of just how big and how diverse the corps is. Finally we have a sense of...
Published on 6 July 2011 by Peter Doyle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This has been touched upon previously.
The animation is great, but the story is mediocre at best.
Although not the best DC original, it's definitely not the worse.
Published 2 months ago by Leigh RybakRajewski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better DC animated films., 6 July 2011
By 
Peter Doyle (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is easily one of the better DC animated movies, a huge improvement on the mediocre Green Lantern: First Flight. Here we have an anthology, taking stories from six different Green Lanterns. The strength of this film is the exploration of the history of the Green Lantern Corps, giving you a taste of just how big and how diverse the corps is. Finally we have a sense of a truly inter-galactic and ancient police force, rather than a one man (Hal Jordan) army. Nathan Fillion lends his considerable talents as narrator and the animation is great, as we've come to expect from DC animation. If your a fan of these animated movies and are intrigued at the idea of a Green Lantern film focusing on the Corps rather than just Hal Jordan this ticks all the right boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for those new to green lantern or even those familiar, 12 Aug 2011
The movie run time is 84 minutes. The movie is basically a collection of short stories that explains the origins/making of/the legend of several of the green lanterns. It's a good place for those new to the green lantern and wanting to find out more about the green lanterns. The PG rating is for some swear words and some dismemberment "for a little kid" scenes. Also recommend Green Lantern First Flight if you haven't watched it! Green Lantern: First Flight [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the big budget film., 17 Sep 2011
By 
If you're a long term Green Lantern fan this is a very entertaining production which manages to closely follow some of the elements from the comics. If you're a new fan coming from the recent big budget film, this with its companion disc "First Flight" is way better than the film and would serve as a great intro into the comics. The Blue-Ray version didn't cost that much more than the standard DVD but even so the barely perceptible improvements in picture and sound really didn't justify the extra cost of either the disc or a Blue-ray player. Go with the standard DVD version and spend the savings on some of the comics - like the excellent Green Lantern - Rebirth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This has been touched upon previously., 2 Feb 2014
By 
Leigh RybakRajewski (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: Emerald Knights [Blu-ray] [2011] (Blu-ray)
The animation is great, but the story is mediocre at best.
Although not the best DC original, it's definitely not the worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: Emerald Knights [Blu-ray] [2011] (Blu-ray)
I bought this item for my DC collection. Really enjoyable watch and a must have for DC fans. Good fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story and animation, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: Emerald Knights [Blu-ray] [2011] (Blu-ray)
Loved it. It's a shame the live action movie wasn't as good! Can't wait until they produce another one of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Languages & Verdict, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Green Lantern: Emerald Knights [Blu-ray] [2011] (Blu-ray)
Blu-ray all zone

Ratio of the feature film:
1.78:1

Languages of the feature film:
- DTS Master Audio 5.1: English
- Dolby 5.1: French, German, Italian
- Dolby 2.0: Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish and Audio Commentary

Subtitles for all the videos:
- French, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish and Italian, German, English for the Hard of Hearing

Verdict:
Very good picture and sound for this version of the story.
A good way to explain the legend and origin of the Green Lantern Corps.
Very interesting, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Episodes, 25 July 2011
This movie is rather a short-episodes collection of characters than a movie. The episodes are told together in one big content. It's a littlelike Gotham Knight.

The graphik and some stories are great and also the German Subtitle on the Bluray and the DVD as well, were welcomed.

The stories go deeper in the comics than in other movies, wich just scratch the surface and tell everything that normal people know about the charakter.

Only critic point is the lenght. like the most animated movies it's just roughly 80 minutes.

Buy it! At this price it's a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 July 2011
Green Lantern Corps biggest strength as a comic is it's scale being free to move anywhere in the universe. Here we get a sense of that scale through Hal Jordan telling the newly recruited Arisia about variouus past and present Lanterns. Each story has been adapted from a different comic story by some of the best writers in the business at the moment including Geoff Johns who has done so much to build Green Lantern into the second best comic at the moment (Batman will always be the greatest to me).
The animation is excellent throughout ably matched and complemented by the voice acting, Nathan Fillion will doubtlessly convince many of his fans that he should have been cast instead of Ryan Reynolds as Hal Jordan and Jason Issacs is superb as a heroic Sinestro (and gets the best inside joke for longtime fans of the comic) while Elizabeth Moss as Arisia goes from confused rookie to (promising) Lantern quite belivably.
Kelly Hu also deserves mention as Laira who gets an action sequence to rival any live action film you care to mention, but be warned this is a rather violent dust up so don't think just because this is an animated superhero movie it's suitable for young children it is most definately not.
Overall then an epic movie that acts as a very good companion piece to the live action film and an introduction to the whole series for the unitiated who have never read or heard of a Green Lantern comic while having the odd suprise for longtime fans such as the genius casting of Roddy Piper as Bolthunga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good animation, average movie!!, 16 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After not being too disappointed with First Flight, I decided to give Emerald Knights a go.... well, not really much to be said about it really, it starts off pretty well and I was lulled into a sense of excitement to see the rest of the movie, but boy was I let down!!

After the really cool beginning sequence, we are introduced to our main cast of characters and we hear the tales of a being so evil that every Green Lantern must leave Oa etc, afterwhich we get our first story, where we get to see the insights of the characters and the GL universe. Throughout the movie, we get small segments in the current situation, which interlink with each of the mini stories, though ultimately, the mini stories slow down the overall movie. Apart from a couple of the stories, the whole film is a bit of a bore and then when we finally get to the main villian of the story, the one they're all supposed to be really afraid of because he is so evil and so tough to beat.... it's over in a few minutes and in actuallity the perp is a bit of a push-over, hardly worth all the hype lavished on him, which did leave us wondering, what was the point!

Whilst the overall movie was a huge let-down, the animation did not. It is clean and the actions move fluently, the character designs are nicely done, not too square like recent incarnations, the colours are well chosen and nicely vivid, and the background designs are something to behold. If anything, the animation is the only thing that stopped us from returning the disc, as there was not really much else of interest.... more of a rent movie than one you should really buy, unless you have have some spare cash burning a hole in your pocket! E-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed07fe4)

This product

Green Lantern: Emerald Knights [Blu-ray] [2011]
Green Lantern: Emerald Knights [Blu-ray] [2011] by Arnold Vosloo (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews