Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


227 of 229 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'au revoir, mon ami . . .'
This final series of Poirot has it all. Murder, reunions, humour, excitement, thrills and extreme sadness.
'ELEPHANTS CAN REMEMBER' reunites Poirot with Ariadne. Both are distracted with their own quarry, but later, come together to solve an old mystery involving the shooting of a couple on a cliff-top. Zoe given lots of screen-time to show us new sides to Ariadne...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Stringer

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The End of Poirot
It's too bad the network and producers didn't leave some of the better Poirot stories for the very last season. Although these final episodes show all the virtues of the series, the stories themselves are the dregs of Christie's body of Poirot work. These are must-see episodes for Poirot fans, but I sincerely find myself wishing for some of the earlier films to appear...
Published 7 months ago by JSRT


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

227 of 229 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'au revoir, mon ami . . .', 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
This final series of Poirot has it all. Murder, reunions, humour, excitement, thrills and extreme sadness.
'ELEPHANTS CAN REMEMBER' reunites Poirot with Ariadne. Both are distracted with their own quarry, but later, come together to solve an old mystery involving the shooting of a couple on a cliff-top. Zoe given lots of screen-time to show us new sides to Ariadne. Very well cast. I loved this episode, it is always a joy to see Ariadne & Poirot in scenes together.
'THE BIG FOUR': The old gang back together. I am aware of how tough this book must have been to adapt: Plenty of drama, action and brilliant visuals, well cast, but very frustrating to have Poirot go to such extremes for such a mediocre reason. The plot in the book justified his actions, but, as a viewer, I was left deflated at the end. I SO wanted to see Achille Poirot. Unfortunately he was, apparently, an element too far in an already rich brew.
Dare I say it: The weakest of this series.
'DEAD MAN'S FOLLY': This was the very last film that David Suchet filmed. Agatha Christie's 'Greenway Home' doubles for 'Nasse House'. It looks exceptional. Ariadne making her final appearance. A very strong 'classic' Agatha story. Very well cast, as always, beautiful sets, beautiful locations and a really strong story, with the dialogue lifted very faithfully from the book. The only changes were minor and the added final scene made for a dramatic conclusion. This will be one you will return to again and again.
'THE LABOURS OF HERCULES': I was worried about how they would fit all 12 Labours into one film. Whilst I would have loved to have seen a more 'faithful' adaptation of the book, I was very impressed with how they incorporated elements from most of the stories. They even referenced: 'The Lemesurier Inheritance' at the beginning, as this is the only short story that was never adapted. If you can forget about the book, this adaptation, in my view, is one of the most exciting and thrilling Poirot films in the entire canon. You could say, this is a sequel to 'Orient Express', with a mixture of 'Ten Little Indians' & 'An Inspector Calls', thrown in.
'CURTAIN: POIROT'S LAST CASE' : This is a film I had been anticipating & dreading in equal measure. Set in 'Styles', the scene of Poirot & Hastings first adventure, we find Hercule in a wheelchair, aged, unwell, arthritic, but with his 'Little Grey Cells' still firing on all cylinders. I shall not spoil this film for anyone. Poirot is up against, perhaps, his greatest & most insidious nemesis, a person who manipulates the minds of others. This film is very claustrophobic in style, so don't expect the radiance of the early years, as this is Poirot at the end of his life. It is one of Agatha's finest, darkest stories. Written in the 40s & kept in a vault till 1975, it has a strength and vitality, despite the setting. It is a real treat to see Poirot & Hastings reunited, a testament to one of the greatest casting decisions in television. Hugh Fraser & David Suchet offer a masterclass of acting in this film: Hastings given some real, quality time, to expand on his character & show real gravitas as Poirot's best friend.
All in all, a really strong set of films and a lovely bookend to one of the most beloved and enduring literary & televisual characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot - Collection 9, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
This ninth (and final) individual collection set consists of the thirteenth (and final) series of Agatha Christie's Poirot with the last five stories to be adapted for TV; "Elephants Can Remember", "The Big Four", "Dead Man's Folly", "The Labours of Hercules", and "Curtain: Poirot's Last Case". Also included on this DVD set is a short interview with David Suchet talking about how he got the role of Poirot, and there is also a documentary he hosted titled "Being Poirot" which sees him visiting buildings such as the home of Agatha Christie, and places such as Brussels in Belgium where "The Chocolate Box" was filmed. I'm surprised that the edition of the ITV documentary series Perspectives that David Suchet hosted about Agatha Christie wasn't included as a special feature on this set, so I have to admit that I'm glad of having recorded it off the telly and keeping it.

Back to the stories in this set, "The Big Four" sees Hercule Poirot reunited with his old friends Captain Hastings, Miss Lemon and Chief Inspector Japp (now Assistant Commissioner Japp). Set against the backdrop of the impending WWII, "The Big Four" plunges Poirot into a world he has never been in before - one of global espoinage. The public are in panic after the shocking death of Russian grandmaster Ivan Savaranoff and Poirot must try to determine the good guys from the bad, as a complex plot sees a host of international figures used like pawns.

"Curtain: Poirot's Last Case" is the conclusion to Agatha Christie's Poirot. His last ever case is set ten years after the other films featured here, and an immobilised Poirot calls on his old friend Captain Hastings for assistance as they return to the scene of their first murder, Styles Court, to try to prevent an imminent murder.

I thought these stories were really good, particularly "The Big Four" with its storyline of espionage. Yet again, David Suchet is in excellent form as Hercule Poirot for this final series, and it was very good to see Poirot reunited with his old friends Captain Hastings (Hugh Fraser), Miss Lemon (Pauline Moran) and Chief Inspector Japp, now Assistant Commissioner Japp (Philip Jackson). I, like many others I'm sure, am really pleased that David Suchet managed to achieve his ambition in completing the entire catalogue of Agatha Christie's Poirot stories, in particular the main novels. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't confuse COLLECTIONS with SERIES/SEASONS, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
There are 9 "COLLECTIONS" in which are contained all episodes of Poirot played by David Suchet. There are also 13 "SERIES" (or SEASONS) of Poirot. If you are collecting all the Poirot's, stick to one or the other, then never the twain shall duplicate. (eg. COLLECTION 8 contains the same four episodes as SERIES 12)

COLLECTION 9 is: "Elephants Can Remember"; "The Big Four"; "Dead Man's Folly"; "The Labours of Hercules" and, finally "Curtains". (same as SEASON/SERIES 13) Brilliant, but darker and more sombre than any previous collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited, they're finally here, 16 Nov 2013
By 
MadMax "ketchrigged" (Marco Island, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Ever since David Suchet indicated that he wanted to film the last five episodes, most lovers of Poirot have been waiting impatiently for them to be released. "Clocks" was aired in December 2011 in the UK but "Elephants Can Remember" was not shown until June 2013. A long hiatus, but they are now finally here.
Except for "Elephants Can Remember" which was on YouTube for awhile until it was removed for whatever reason, and which I really enjoyed, I haven't seen these episodes yet.
I live in the USA but because I am so impatient to see them, I purchase UK DVD editions (it's not a problem to get a DVD player that plays all regions/all codes). The US releases are just too delayed. I think 'Third Girl ' and 'Appointment with Death" and "Orient Express" from 2010 are now, finally, available. It's ridiculous it takes so long for a US edition to be released.
So, I am thrilled that the final five mysteries are now finally released. I didn't expect a DVD release until next year, since "Curtain" was just aired in the UK on November 13, but whoever rushed these to market should be congratulated. Poirot lovers thank you and I will wait with bated breath until the Amazon box shows up in my mailbox. A great review of all five episodes has already been posted so I will just enjoy them without further comment. Ciao from Florida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What will be do without Poirot on the small screen?, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Fabulous end to a wonderful performance by David Suchet - this did not disappoint - a must have for Poirot fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do not miss this one, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
It is superb writing on the part of Agatha Christie and acting par excellence, particularly by David Suchet. great work by the whole team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Hans-christian Heu (Wien) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Suchet at his best. Highly recommended. Unfortunately the last Serie of Agatha Christie's Poirot. I will miss Suchet's as Poirot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting finale!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
This collection contains the final five films of the Poirot books - Elephants Can Remember, The Big Four, Dead Man's Folly, The Labours of Hercules and Curtain. As ever the standard and high quality is maintained. Perhaps the only disappointment is that it was necessary to make some fundamental changes to the storyline of The Big Four. This is perhaps not surprising as at times the original book reads more like a spy story than a typical detective novel, but it has to be said that the denouement in the film was rather underwhelming. Any disappointment with this was more than compensated for by the excellence of the other four films. I was interested to see how they would attempt The Labours of Hercules which was originally a collection of 12 short stories and the results did not disappoint. They managed to weave at least four of the stories into the intricate plot as well as make reference to some of the others. Of course, Curtain: Poirot's Last Case was a very bitter-sweet affair and was brilliantly tense and claustrophobic.The box set also includes an interview with David Suchet as well as the excellent documentary on 25 years of Poirot that was shown on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suchet calls it "Curtain's" for Poirot!, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
After watching (genuinely, truly, and fully) the final series (all of the episodes), what a fitting tribute this is to the world's most famous detective. David Suchet is the quintessential Poirot. This final series culminates in "Curtain," Poirot's final case, and well done, it is. And as icing on this genre's cake, Capt. Hastings, Inspector Japp, and Miss Lemon join in in the valedictory. For Poirot followers, this is a remarkable--and memorable--exit. Viva la Poirot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Series (13), as well as "Being Poirot", 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] (DVD)
This comment is mainly aimed at clarifying a practical aspect, namely that this "Collection 9" contains the last 5 episodes, otherwise known as Series/Season 13. I fail to understand the reasons why anyone thought we deserve this unnecessary confusion. Perhaps Amazon might at least post a photo of the back cover of the set, that mentions the titles of the 5 episodes it includes.
Apart from that, being very attached to the character, it has not been easy watching these last episodes, especially because I knew they were going to be the last.
But, perhaps surprisingly, it hasn't been so difficult watching Poirot die in "Curtain". No, what has been almost unbearable to watch and has actually brought me to tears was watching the documentary entitled "Being Poirot", kindly included in this wonderful set as an extra, together with a very short interview with David Suchet. "Being Poirot" looks back at the entire set of 70 episodes through the eyes of David Suchet and David Suchet as Poirot. A remarkable man, and actor, that I've been priviledged to also watch live on stage, in the West End.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD]
13.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews