Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Excellent read
I only bought this book because it was cheap but I'm very glad that I did. The book portrays elements of WWII before, during and after the Normandy landings from a French and German point of view. This is really a crime thriller but set in France with French and German investigators helping each other, though not for collaboration reasons and with both earning each...
Published 22 months ago by Rick K

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying
Not usually the kind of book I would read but saying that it was different. Went into detail which was plausible and the characters were an unusual mix including a female french detective. I would read the follow up book when it is written.
Published 13 months ago by norman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Excellent read, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
I only bought this book because it was cheap but I'm very glad that I did. The book portrays elements of WWII before, during and after the Normandy landings from a French and German point of view. This is really a crime thriller but set in France with French and German investigators helping each other, though not for collaboration reasons and with both earning each other's respect come the finale. The way it is written means that the ending of each chapter leaves the reader wanting to know more and not wanting to put the Kindle down. The language used by all of the characters in the book elevates it above the usual 'mein gott und achtung' rubbish and allows the reader to accept them. I loved it and can't wait for Andrew Wood's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, well written a very good read!, 10 Oct 2012
By 
M. SULLIVAN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, the plot is sound and the author has researched his theme very well. I got into the book from page one and found it absorbing. If you like World War 2 fiction then, once started, I am sure you will find this a hard novel to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
One of the best 2nd World War novels I have read. Kept me entralled right to the last page. Looking for to the sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and never dull, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. To use the old cliche - a real page turner. Most chapters end with something exciting happening, and you just have to (and want to) move onto the next chapter rather than taking a break.
The plot takes a couple of chapters to build up to it's full pace, with some good scene and period setting in wartime Paris and the overall context of the war situation across Europe in mid-1944.
The characters have a real friction between them and make it interesting to view the war and occupation from both French and German sides.
The fact that there are so many real events and people in the narrative just makes the whole thing even more interesting.
The book is also a decent length (unlike some of the cheaper books appearing on Amazon etc that are only the equivalent of 100-200 pages).
I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read maybe controversial aspects, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
I would not have given five stars without the intro to the sequel which also completes this story so make sure you read it otherwise you will be left wondering what happens to the main characters. I thought on the whole it was an excellent read. Some may find it uneasy to accept the hero being assign SS officer though he is not a nazi but policeman who finds the uniform helps. There is as the heroine says a decent man I've the uniform. Very well written and a definite page turner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting thriller, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
Gripping story, odd bits too unlikely but I found it difficult to put down and that tellls me it was a good read, looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooks gold, 6 Feb 2013
By 
jbat66 (Margate, Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
Cracking story that made it difficult to put down. It reminded me of the Bernie Gunther stories by Philip Kerr. Looking forward to reading the follow-up. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting story, showing how the French Police had to work with the German authorities during World War II to solve crime etc. This story deals with the deeaths of a German NCO and a French citizen and how the French Police Inspector gets involved with the Gestapo. The investigations leads to the use of U boats to transport gold and weapons between Japan and Germany. However the gold is disappearing. The investigation leads us through France at the time of the Normandy Invasion and subsequent bombing and straffing of the railways. A very absorbing book. You need to read it to discover how it all pans out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
5 star story, but limited characters and some wooden dialogue pull the score down. However, if you are looking for a book set in the war time that highlights the problems between the French people and German occupiers as they try to get along, then this makes some interesting observations. The fast paced story is ingenious, twists and turns, and leaves you unsure of the outcome even at the very end. It's neatly set up for a follow on which I look forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written WWII detective novel, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPOOK's GOLD (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded this as I had been reading some other WWII novels. Wasn't disapointed. Interesting to understand the normal police and detective work still having to go on in a war. Germany had polce detectives needing to investigrate crimes during the war just like any other nation. Looking forward to the follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SPOOK's GOLD
SPOOK's GOLD by Andrew Wood
3.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews