Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asymmetry under the Law
I suppose three things appal me the most in the story which Danny Lockwood tells of his hometown of Dewsbury. One is the determination of muslim immigrants from the Indian Subcontinent (but overwhelmingly from Pakistan), to escape to the United Kingdom, but then faithfully to recreate, in-breeding and all, the horrors of Pakistan. Another is the hypocrisy of muslims,...
Published 11 months ago by O. G. M. Morgan

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the town that I remember
I lived in Earlsheaton and worked in and around Dewsbury from 1989 to 1998. What I have read does not seem to describe the town I knew. I served on an Interfaith Committee with other professionals who were charming people. I have not completed the book because it just was describing the town I knew.
Published 6 months ago by Gavin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury, 6 April 2012
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Ive read Hundreds, of books,
But i have not read a better book than this!

The author pulls no punches and speaks with honesty
about how Dewsbury is changing.
This book is not for the PC brigade, its for people
who will read the truth, not the usual half truths and lies.

Were often brainwashed by the Government,Press, TV etc about how vibrant,and enriched we are by multiculturalism, but not here in Dewsbury were not, we must have missed out!

David Cameron and his cronies should read this book, then visit Dewsbury and see how its has been 'enriched' by multiculturalism!....(Not)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Danny Lockwood has surpassed himself with this brilliant no holds barred book. Being a born and bred Dewsbury lad myself I have seen all the changes mentioned by Danny and agree wholeheartedly with everthing he says. If you have not read this book, buy it now, you will not be dissapointed wether your from Dewsbury or not. It could be YOUR town tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing tale for all democracy lovers, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
I am not from Dewsbury. In fact I've never been there, and although I have probably passed through Yorkshire, I've never stopped there. This, however, does not prevent me from recognising the town, and the problems it currently finds itself grappling with. Local man Danny Lockwood has written a riveting memoir-slash-social history about living in a town in the north of England that is not only faced with a dying local economy, but must also cope with the fact that over the last few decades the population of the town has changed beyond all recognition. Lockwood, however, chooses not to address the wider question of immigration policy, preferring to recount the ways in which local society has changed for the worse, as he sees it, due to the influx of people from Pakistan. It must be remembered that this is only one side of the story, and that there will of course be another side. However, if even only half of the stories that Lockwood tells are correct, then the people of Yorkshire have been very badly let down by a whole raft of people in public life.

Make no mistake, it is the elected representatives of Dewsbury whom the author is gunning for the most. He attacks all sides, holding them accountable for subverting the democratic process and engaging in sharp practice in order to get what they want.

Most people interested in British society today would appreciate this book. If you are from the Yorkshire area, you absolutely must read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stylistically poor but important to read it anyway, 13 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Danny is a brave guy but a journalist not a novelist.
as a result the prose is turgid.
that being said (sorry Danny) the content is very significant and deserves to be read much more widely.

keep up the good work Danny but get someone else to finesse the final work next time please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riviting, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Every one should be made to read this book ,it is a real eye opener ,well done Danny for telling it as it is !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
A good read for someone who knows the Dewsbury area. Well done Amazon and well done Danny Lockwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the town that I remember, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
I lived in Earlsheaton and worked in and around Dewsbury from 1989 to 1998. What I have read does not seem to describe the town I knew. I served on an Interfaith Committee with other professionals who were charming people. I have not completed the book because it just was describing the town I knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wishy washy, 25 July 2012
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Having lived in Dewsbury for a decade, I thought it would be interesting to read this book. I actually found the book to be a wishy washy account of events and the author makes feeble attempts to link much of them together. The book is a mixture of scaremongering, right wing resentment, anger, frustration and opportunistic marketing.
At one place the author referes to Dewsbury as the place where the majority of terrorists come from, when actual fact there have been only two.
Without any reference [or truth] Islamic institutions are labelled radical and extremist.
Rivals travelled faster up the chain to success, legal battles were not won. EDL on the rise [good marketting audience]. Is that why the book was written?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury
7.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews