Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asymmetry under the Law
I suppose three things appal me the most in the story which Danny Lockwood tells of his hometown of Dewsbury. One is the determination of muslim immigrants from the Indian Subcontinent (but overwhelmingly from Pakistan), to escape to the United Kingdom, but then faithfully to recreate, in-breeding and all, the horrors of Pakistan. Another is the hypocrisy of muslims,...
Published 10 months ago by O. G. M. Morgan

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the town that I remember
I lived in Earlsheaton and worked in and around Dewsbury from 1989 to 1998. What I have read does not seem to describe the town I knew. I served on an Interfaith Committee with other professionals who were charming people. I have not completed the book because it just was describing the town I knew.
Published 5 months ago by Gavin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asymmetry under the Law, 23 Sep 2013
By 
O. G. M. Morgan (Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
I suppose three things appal me the most in the story which Danny Lockwood tells of his hometown of Dewsbury. One is the determination of muslim immigrants from the Indian Subcontinent (but overwhelmingly from Pakistan), to escape to the United Kingdom, but then faithfully to recreate, in-breeding and all, the horrors of Pakistan. Another is the hypocrisy of muslims, who claim that "western" behaviour offends their muslim "morality", but who get rich on the heroin trade, who carry out "drive-by" shootings and who generally indulge in casual and extreme violence; they also recruit extensively among those in prison, already convicted of criminal behaviour, and in no position, therefore, to lecture anyone else on proper behaviour (Lockwood mentions Robert Reid, who tried to bring down a packed airliner with explosives in his shoe, but fails to emphasize where he was recruited).

The third thing is the bizarre connivance of the authorities, especially the local council and the police, in all of this. Danny Lockwood is fair-minded (excessively so, I believe), acknowledging that the behaviour of indigenous British inhabitants of Dewsbury owes a lot to be desired, but largely toning down the blatant fact that the extreme criminality of the muslims (drug wars, drive-by shootings, beatings, sieges of property, not to mention the "traditional", uniquely muslim crimes, such as so-called "honour killings") is in no way provoked by native English lawlessness, but is more immoral, more criminal, more violent and more murderous. The attitude of the local police and local government has almost invariably been that, regardless of the provocation, vociferous complaints will rebound on complainants, far sooner than they will land muslim criminals in court.

Danny Lockwood has edited both the local newspapers in Dewsbury and actually founded one of them: "The Press". He has frequently been attacked by muslim "community leaders", for whom he rightly expresses scorn, and by professional politicians, such as Shahid Malik, one time labour MP, disgraced by the expenses scandal. He reserves his most intense contempt for the politically correct leftists on Kirklees Council (whose remit includes Dewsbury). Lockwood is not, by any means, party-political, despising equally Baroness Warsi of the conservatives (whom he knew when she was plain Sayeeda Warsi and a soon-to-be-failed Parliamentary candidate) and the ballot-box-packing labour supporters, whom the labour government obligingly permitted to submit all their votes as postal votes, with entirely predictable results.

At the end of the book, Lockwood summarises cases of violence in Dewsbury, as reported by "The Press". Not all are muslim-on-white (a few, including one of the worst, are white-on-muslim), but most are plainly racist attacks by Asian muslims against whites. Reinforcing a point Lockwood makes throughout his book, the most alarming aspect is the way he must conclude almost every entry in this catalogue with the comment that "no arrests were made". Even when the police had excellent eye-witnesses and even car registration-numbers, they did absolutely nothing against muslim suspects; allegations against non-muslims were consistently pursued with far more vigour. I am using the past tense, but the truth is that nothing has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dewsbury - The Canary In The Mine, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
In this provincial, very `northern', factual memoir Lockwood has compiled a nostalgic work which describes the stark often sad reality of gradual cultural replacement as seen through the eyes of one man and his family. It seems the county of Yorkshire has a compadre for Canada's Mark Steyn (`America Alone' and `Lights Out') - in that both authors have been dragged through the courts in an effort to silence them.

With blunt trauma prose Lockwood succeeds in showing that British freedoms are in peril due to a kind of cultural suicide propelled by `feel good', self-righteous commissions, and their `head in the sand' guidelines and rules. He also underlines, in a sobering but humorous way, that this unwanted change is further fuelled by those in power and other very `useful idiots', carrying political correctness to ridiculous lengths. The reverse discrimination inflicted on the English over recent decades has created a fear of openly stating the obvious - a fear that Lockwood has thankfully managed to overcome (and some). Other members of the various indigenous classes are not let off the hook, however, particularly the benefit dependent non-working classes' whose problems I would say parallel those of some of the most disenfranchised native communities on reserves in North America.

To surmise Danny Lockwood's book, "The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury" is a stark reminder that England (and the west for that matter) has lost the plot. The unsaid but sad conclusion to this work is that there seems to be no strength of will to address the obvious problems highlighted within. That Lockwood refuses to be quiet on this important matter offers some hope that eventually those in control will hear his and other voices clearly stating `the emperor has no clothes.'

Keep your eye on what happens in the town of Dewsbury - it is `the canary in the (Yorkshire) mine' of things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Struck a Personal Chord, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Being from a southern Liberal Democrat -thoroughly English- town, and growing up through the Labour party education system (1997-2006) and the BBC's 'education' system, I used to uphold the orthodox left-wing perspective so commonly held among young people my age. In fact, as an adolescent, I would go so far as to say that I had been lead to believe that minority cultures were constantly victimized, and that the white British community should do their best to respect these cultures. I also considered those who criticized these cultures to be unfair and 'racist'. It was not until I moved to Bradford and witnessed first hand the cultural divide that my opinions changed. I was completely taken aback by the utter division, lack of integration, and outright resentment between the two communities; something which is portrayed so well in this book. The local newspapers rarely report anything honestly here. After living for a year (as the only English-English person) on a street where, despite the heart-warming efforts of some neighbours, intimidation, threats and other minor crimes targeted at my person were a weekly occurrence, I decided it was best to move away to an area where people were more like me, despite still feeling an amount of residual liberal guilt for admitting it. This book excellently documents many similar experiences to which I have witnessed first hand. Before you dismiss it as racist propaganda, or inflammatory hate-speech, it is definitely worth reading to get an insight into the opinions of the unheard English community, who live on what is, essentially, a cultural front. It also details exactly what sort of things go on in places like these. You honestly have to live up here to believe it. Hopefully, if you read this book you will be able to prevent it from happening in your town or city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lockwood -very brave and bluntly honest - shoots straight from the hip, 28 Mar 2012
By 
SMc "SMc" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
This is a very brave, bluntly honest but factual appraisal of the much maligned town of Dewsbury by one of the town's `home boys', Danny Lockwood.

Despite his journalistic career Danny Lockwood has worked in many other jobs, played amateur rugby league and worked on a number of continents.

In the late 1980's and early 1990's Mr. Lockwood was Editor in Chief of the Reporter Group of papers which included our local paper (not in Dewsbury) - the highlight being his weekly `Ed Lines' column. This column was as blunt as it gets - think Richard Littlejohn and Mark Steyn and you have some idea - and I doubt whether his employers, the national publishing group Johnston Press, were enamoured of his digs at everything and everyone in this country that was either plain daft, plain barmy or simply wrong. In his own paper - The Press - I imagined he had a little more flexibility and his Ed Lines column was even more strident and challenged all the conceptions and mis-conceptions perpetrated by everyone from the right wing BNP, to the wooly-minded liberals and the politically correct. Lockwood has always championed the conservative (with a small c) right-minded silent majority of this country - who do not apparently have a say anymore in what goes on in their own country of which they are all deeply proud. In the same vein as the then prime minister Edward Heath lied to the British public about his raison d'etre for Britain entering the `Common Market' as it then was, the silent majority did not ask either to be in a political and monetary union, nor did it ask for multi-culturism. This was foisted on everyone, whether they wanted it or not.

(Indeed, Tony Blair's Labour party took this to extremes in the later years of the 20th century and the early years of the 21st century.)

In the same manner in which you cannot expect communities from disparate countries in Europe to come together in union, nor can you expect communities with a lack of trust and respect for each other to do the same in Britain. Dewsbury is just one town in this country, but it could be replicated in many others - such as Burnley, Oldham, Bradford, Batley, Birmingham, London - need I go on?

Starting with a riot by Asians in summer 1989, Lockwood shoots straight from the hip here and everybody gets it with both barrels; the former MP, Shahid Malik (Labour) - with whom he fought an expensive libel case - (the `safe' Dewsbury Reporter - equally implicated - wasn't sued for libel incidentally - though they effectively printed the same letter); the `part-time' current MP and barrister, Simon Reevel; not forgetting Baroness Warsi and her 2nd husband, Iftikhar Azam. Both of their poor, unfortunate spouses didn't even seem to realise they'd been divorced, until it was pointed out to them in the media. Local politicians, their political parties and their dirty tricks get many mentions.

Lockwood, quite obviously steeped in the make-up of his local town also gives the reader a lesson in history and the topography of the town and for instance just how the (now) Muslim conclave of Savile Town got its name. He reliably informs the reader too, of the best real ale house in Dewsbury `The West Riding' (the pub on the platform) - he obviously takes refreshment there occasionally - perhaps?

Other than Lockwood himself, the one person in public life who comes out with any credit is (Conservative) Councillor Khizar Iqbal who (Lockwood relates here) stood up in Kirklees council chamber and received a standing ovation for railing again political correctness from which the Asian community and other minority ethnic groups benefited - against the silent majority ethnic group, that is the white British. Councillor Iqbal resigned from the Conservatives and stood against both the aforementioned Messrs. Malik and Reevel, but despite Iqbal being very popular and an excellent, hard-working local councillor, Malik got the majority of the Muslim vote, but was eventually defeated by Reevel. That for me, was a major local tragedy and bizarrely, a 'home goal' by the Muslim community. Khizar Iqbal lives in the community and would have been an excellent, born and bred Member of Parliament for Dewsbury. Mind you (read the book!), so would Danny Lockwood!

I'm minded to recall here that many years ago, John McEnroe said that no sportsman or woman was worth prize money of £1 million - but consequently, no sportsman or woman in their right mind would turn down that sum if it was offered to them.

There are many other unsung `heroes' in this critical homage to his home town and to his credit, Lockwood treats them all with equanimity and whether they are white, Indian or Pakistani, everyone gets a mention. The biggest hero, of course, is Lockwood himself. He has had the `brass neck' to `tell it' just how the right-minded person thinks and that's true - irrespective of your origin. He even expounds on the 'in-breeding' of the Asian community which will eventually have, not only a deleterious, but a devasting impact on NHS budgets in the future.

Interestingly, for all that many Muslims claim to be British, as a general rule, they will not join the armed forces because (as sure as eggs are eggs), they would most certainly have to fight against fellow Muslims. In both world wars it was Great Britain and their allies (including many from the sub-continent) against Germany and their allies - not religion against religion. So much for being British first then eh? The majority of British born Muslims would never pass Norman Tebbit's cricket test would they? Why do we appear to have British born Muslims supporting any team other than their home team of England?

I have always respected Danny Lockwood as a local journalist working on a local newspaper, latterly of The Press, which does indeed, publish REAL news - as it is and not embellished or `toned down' (for the politically correct). I respect him even more now for giving us the unembellished facts about the town he so patently loves and which quite frankly deserves better and particularly from one part of its community and those wooly-minded liberals who build careers out of the `race issue'. Lockwood says the town has been brought to its knees by these same wooly-minded liberals, politicians and especially the local Police force, who have been very keen to abrogate their lawful responsibility in the interests of community harmony. Collectively, they have damaged the town perhaps beyond recovery. I wonder if Lockwood has considered the irony in this comment - when considering the manner in which one part of the Dewsbury community communicates with their maker?

I can only commend this book and suggests that a copy is (sent to, or) purchased by every MP and every Chief Executive in every local authority in this country and specifically those with a sizable, minority ethnic community.

The sad truth however, is that like John McEnroe said, one part of the Dewsbury community have had their `£1 million' and those in authority keep giving them more. Come on, would you refuse it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book every non Muslim in the world should read, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
A book that gives a frightening view of a growing and overpowering menace to our political and religious and cultural well being. Frightening truths that hide behind the media because of the fear of the word racist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good but altogether depressing read, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Read the book more or less cover to cover over a couple of days. Most of the type of material will be familiar to most citizens of multicultural Britain, though Dewsbury seems to have it in concentrated and extreme form. I would have given it a glowing five stars if it had concluded with reasoned argument about what can be done, but if he had solutions the PC Brigade would probably have had him locked up by now. Good, but depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frightening, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
A must read.
How can this be allowed to happen?
Unfortunately i can not see things changing for the better.
It's about time the do gooders were made to realise the consequences of their actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good (sad) read, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Where to start? And where`s the end…?As my brother pre-advised.me, for Dewsbury read Burnley, Blackburn, Oldham,Rochdale, Halifax, Leicester, Derby, and of course Bradford, amongst others.....Where's the end? As Mick so poignantly observed, this battle is already lost. A good read, though perhaps a chapter or 2 too long. You made your point well Danny, no need to go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honesty is the only word, 3 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
Thank you you Danny for a truly honest book. I have lived in Dewsbury all my life, starting down on the Flatts area in my early years and going to Victoria Secondary Modern. I have witnessed a lot of these changes from the first influx in of the Asian culture around the Eightlands area of town and the Special classes that were created at the "Vic". I played Rugby on the sports fields around Saville Town before they were closed off to the indigenous population of the area.

I now despair at the thoughts of my Grandchildren having to grow up in and around this troubled town. This book truly deserves to be read by the folks of Dewsbury and the UK in general as we are not the first or the last town to be suffering and feeling deserted by our politicians who only pretend to listen to capture votes every few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Commies and Socialists, 10 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury (Kindle Edition)
This is an eye opening book for the Lib/Lab/Con Sheeple who ignorantly meander through life with their heads up their own backsides thinking that, apart from the economy, everything is "hunky dory".

Well it isn't. There is a massive threat of Islamisation and the Muslims intend changing the whole fabric of our Western Society for good.

This is not an idle threat. It is happening all over Europe, North America and Australia.

People need to wake up to this problem before it's too late.

This book could be the beginning of your realisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Islamic Republic of Dewsbury
£7.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews