Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album
This album is the best since Purple reformed in 1984. The diversity of the songs and the playing, is magnificent.
Interestingly the songs appear more complete and perhaps this has something to do with the new found harmony in the band. It was obvious that Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Gillan were poles apart. So the introduction of guitar maestro Steve Morse as...
Published on 15 Oct 2002

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple the new Genesis
Remebering Purple when they were a rock band, I parted with my hard earned cash and purchased this CD.

Purple have certainly moved on, wimpy songs and harmonies with a couple of rockers thrown in for good measure.

For me the MKII line up was by far and away the best, producing some classic rock songs and it was a sad day, that line up became...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Catfish Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 15 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
This album is the best since Purple reformed in 1984. The diversity of the songs and the playing, is magnificent.
Interestingly the songs appear more complete and perhaps this has something to do with the new found harmony in the band. It was obvious that Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Gillan were poles apart. So the introduction of guitar maestro Steve Morse as replacement for the then recently departed Ritchie (who subsequently would launch Blackmore's Night), was a masterstroke.
Steve's playing is sensational. "Sometimes I feel like screaming" is superb and is Purple at the magnificent best.
Seeing this new line-up of Gillan-Glover-Lord-Paice-Morse live, it was clear that there was more camaraderie and more togetherness.
This is a must but album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VAVOOM !!!, 24 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
It's high time people out there stopped comparing this album to previous DP offerings. The band moved on a long time ago and this album should be judged on its own merits - it is superb. Ted is a lesson to all the newer rock bands out there, as is Rosa's Canteen. And how about Aviator? Hey Cisco really proves what this band is about. The whole album shows what real talent can do for the music world - Jon Lord is the supreme keyboard master; Ian Gillan uses his voice more than efficiently as an additional instrument; Roger Glover proves just how musical and diverse a bass can be; Ian Paice is a master of drums and Steve Morse plays the keenest guitar around. And hey - it must be good - Ted and Cisco have found their way into the regular live playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Music to evoke emotions', 21 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
Steve Morse's contribution was sensational.Ian Gillan continues to add vocal diversity and the rest of the band give it their all too.The track 'Somebody stole my guitar'made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.I recommend this C.D to all Deep Purple admirers and to those who want a rewarding Musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inventive, 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
It actually took me some years to listen to this album after its release, as quite frankly I got fed up with the whole Purple pantomime after they sacked Gillan in the late 80's. It was purely out of curiosity that I bought this album about 5 years after its release and I couldn't believe how stupid I was to have ignored it for so long. I personally think Purples reunion albums with Blackmore were mediocre at best, whereas the variety of styles and musicianship on this album is outstanding- the much more revered "legends" such as Zeppelin and Sabbath could NEVER match the musicianship of Purple at their best. I actually think this is probably the most diverse album ever released by Deep Purple and is all the better for it. The whole band have the chance to shine on this recording and I particularly enjoyed the freedom that Jon Lord seemed to revel in without Ritchie. The only down side is that the Morse-era DP have not even come close to matching this with any of their subsequent releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 15 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
This album is the best since Purple reformed in 1984. The diversity of the songs and the playing, is magnificent.
Interestingly the songs appear more complete and perhaps this has something to do with the new found harmony in the band. It was obvious that Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Gillan were poles apart. So the introduction of guitar maestro Steve Morse as replacement for the then recently departed Ritchie (who subsequently would launch Blackmore's Night), was a masterstroke.
Steve's playing is sensational. "Sometimes I feel like screaming" is superb and is Purple at the magnificent best.
Seeing this new line-up of Gillan-Glover-Lord-Paice-Morse live, it was clear that there was more camaraderie and more togetherness.
This is a must buy album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the Vinyl :-D, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely good Sound quality. Crisp and l is the best in soundseethrough performance. Proves that a new 180 grams Vinyl is the ultimate sound experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, The best since 'In Rock', 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
After the lacklustre efforts from Ritchie Blackmore on 'The Battle Rages On', Steve Morses Guitar playing is a welcome alteration to Deep Purples sound. Lets face it you can't have Deep Purple without Gillan, and Gillan is on form on this Album. All the songs are great with the exception of Rosa's Cantina, especially 'Sometimes I feel Like Screaming'. No longer do Purple fans have to put up with Blackmore and his Indifference. This is a Classic, I just keep listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing comeback, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Bent Pedersen "oink" (9900 frederikshavn, denmark Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blackmore out, Morse in. Horror Horror. My first thought. But I think DP is better than ever. They are so fresh and vitale. They sound as a team, insted of Blackmore with guests. Try listening to ...Ted The Mechanic...Rose Cantina...Hey Cisco...These old gentlemen will blew you away. Just got this VINYL edition as christmas-gift. Love the sound, no loudness-war here. Gillan's voice is very natural and clear, Paicy's drums-you can hear every little detail, Lord is GOD with his old hammond, and what a fine debut for Morse. He is my new favorite guitar-player. This is a new Purple classic for me. Can't recommend it enough. It's an very honest album they can be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perpendicular, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purpendicular (Audio CD)
Perpendicular
DP Mk2 went out on a high for me with The Battle Rages On and the last time the band had to replace Blackmore it fell apart very quickly. The band must have felt very confident with Steve Morse to launch Perpendicular with the crunching, totally guitar driven 'Ted the Mechanic'. It's a cracking introduction to the new band and it's cleverly tempered next by the haunting 'Loosen my Strings' which enables the band to demonstrate they are very much a cooperative with everyone contributing beautifully. The highs on Perpendicular are massive and there is certainly a superb 45 minute album contained within it with just a couple of duds in the rather routine 'Cascades' and the absolute stinker that is 'Soon Forgotten'. Overall though this was certainly a bold statement of intent and new direction for the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!!!!, 25 Jun 2014
An amazing album!!! a classic from Deep Purple returns in 1984. Steve Morse gave a new blood o the band, the others members is always smiling in the shows and playin with much excitment!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purpendicular
Purpendicular by Deep Purple
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews