Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect
I was not expecting a great deal from this as tribute albums are very different in quality. I did see the many names of excellent artists who had contributed however which influenced me to buy a copy as I was not familiar with Guy Clarks work. I listened to the whole two CDs twice yesterday and I think they are brilliant. One thing that makes big difference is that some...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by Bad Billy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad but Guy Clark is the only one who can really do Guy Clark.
Published 6 months ago by william radford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect, 30 Jan. 2012
I was not expecting a great deal from this as tribute albums are very different in quality. I did see the many names of excellent artists who had contributed however which influenced me to buy a copy as I was not familiar with Guy Clarks work. I listened to the whole two CDs twice yesterday and I think they are brilliant. One thing that makes big difference is that some of the musicians played on most of the tracks and this gives a continuity of sound that helps to give the project a coherent feeling. What I had not anticipated (and I both play and listen to a lot of music) is how good Guy Clark's lyrics are. Some are just stunningly observed and others profoundly sad. I buy about one album a week and I doubt if I will get another this year as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful tribute, 27 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time so thank you. This is a wonderful tribute to a great songwriter/ storyteller and the esteem he is held in is reflected by the stature of the artists who appear on the record. The album is a 30-song 2 CD marathon but the quality of the recordings never diminishes. The production is minimal, allowing each song to speak for itself. It would be unfair to single any tracks out, such is the standard of the recording. Rodney Crowell states in the sleeve notes, 'let's do him proud'.It sure does. Truly worthy of 5 stars. Perhaps the finest tribute record ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply, one of the very best, 12 April 2012
By 
G. Keevill (Didcot, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Guy Clark is a jewel among songwriters, and with a great voice too. I have loved his work since I first heard Ol'' No 1 way back in the mid 70s. To a degree I approached this collection with trepidation - how can you better the originals? Well of course you can't, but these covers come as close as you could possibly get, and in the case of Willie Nelson's extraordinary performance on Desperados Waiting for a Train I think we may have something better even than first time round. Either way, this is a beautifully played and sung set of wonderful songs, five star every one. Utterly wonderful - just do yourself a favour: buy, listen and love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
R. J. Ford (Leek, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This double CD is truly essential for anyone who has ears to hear and a heart to feel.The artists appearing read like a who's who of Americana's finest and they all give of their very best in honour of the great Guy Clark. It must have been a daunting task to tackle the originals and try to create something new out of them and the treatments that work the best are those which add a new flavour to Guy's definitions of his own songs.Although it's churlish to pick out favourites and it's impossible to please everyone all the time, for me Joe Ely has never sounded better on Dublin Blues, Emmylou and John Prine tear out your heart with Magnolia Wind, Willie Nelson sings Desperados waiting for a Train as if it had been written for him and when Kris Kristofferon croaks his way though Hemingway's Whisky, you can just taste it! But favourites vary with every listen and every mood. In short - as well crafted a compilation as any of Guy's songs, and that's as high praise as you can get.Smoke & MirrorsStill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guy Clark tribute album, 15 Feb. 2012
I'm not really a C&W fan and I'd never heard of Guy Clarke before but I heard a track from this on the UK's Bob Harris show on BBC Radio 2 and it made the hairs stand up on my neck. On the strength of that song I bought the album (it's a double CD) and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 21 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable survey of the great man's career - some good contributions from a range of artistes some of whom are growing old together.

For me there are two sorts of these trubute albums. Some of them stand alone as brilliant concepts in which a feeling seems to come together, the matching of artist to song is clever and somehow the thing comes out as more than its component parts. Think of Tulare Dust, that brilliant compilation of Merle Haggard songs; or even that compilation of Elton John songs, Two Rooms, in which some unusual things were done.

There are other compilations (Tower of Song, the Leonard Cohen one, or Broken Hearts and Dirty Windows, the John Prine one) in which the overall effect is patchier and rather than treasuring the thing for itself you feel like going back to the originals. For my money this compilation, though pretty good and with a few real highlights, is in the latter category,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 8 Feb. 2012
By 
Gcblakesley (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have followed guy clarke ever since his first album and been lucky enough to see him live a few times. He is nothing short of a legend and the group of friends that join him here really do justice to his songs and the production is superb. This is the best album I have bought this year- maybe ever! Go and buy it, you'll love it. Guy Clarke fan or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This One's Excellent, 23 Jan. 2012
By 
The story here is as simple as it gets: over 30 artists perform songs written and/or played by the great storyteller himself Guy Clark as he celebrates his 70th year. That this collection of fellow performers paying their tributes includes the likes of great friend Rodney Crowell ['That Old Time Feeling'], Lyle Lovett, Shawn Colvin, songwriting collaborator Shawn Camp ['Homeless'], Ron Sexsmith, Willie Nelson ['Desperados Waiting For A Train'], Suzy Bogguss [lovely version of 'Instant Coffee Blues'], Ray Wylie Hubbard [the great 'Homegrown Tomatoes'], John Townes Van Zandt II, Joe Ely ['Dublin Blues'], Emmylou Harris ['Magnolia Wind'], Steve Earle, Radney Foster [performing the beautiful 'LA Freeway'], Patty Griffin, Kris Kristofferson ['Hemingway's Whiskey'], Vince Gill ['Randall Knife'], Robert Earl Keen and Terry Allen [the touching 'Old Friends'] establishes the quality of this release before even listening to the mainly acoustic and unadorned homages to these memorable songs and the man himself. There is no attempt, nor need, to interpret the songs when their innate, honest storytelling and melody have such presence. Played alongside Clark's own recent release 'Songs and Stories', this is quite an impressive and even emotive experience as you are immersed in the warm awareness of Guy Clark's significance as an American singer-songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guy Clark CD, 14 Mar. 2012
Excellent stuff, having been immersed in these songs for so long it was a delight to hear these versions. Every one a fine tribute and a great backdrop to many pleasant episodes around the ol' kitchen table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's like a best of by Clark with different vocals, 25 Oct. 2013
The good news is that this a great album, a double cd by the who's who of american/country music from various generations. Most of these singer songwriters ow a dime or two to the skills of Clark. This a surprisingly coherent tribute, as many reviewers have pointed out. The other news is that there are no surprises here, there are no versions of these songs radically different than what Clark has done in his cd's, it's as if instead of having Clark as the singer we have someone else, doing it better. For my money this is one of the best releases of this century, and it will have me hours enjoying what is going on here. Maybe this is not what tributes were meant to be but it works so well, actually better than any other tribute album I have ever heard, that it is maybe time to change the concept of the tribute album and make them more like this one. It may work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews