Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous yet poignant journey of self-discovery
Though the comic effects are more subdued than in his previous novels "Changing Places", "Small World" and "Nice Work", David Lodge provides us with a very readable, and often poignant account of a man's journey to greater self-awareness.
TV sitcom scriptwriter Tubby Passmore is beset by ailments afflicting both body and soul. Recurring...
Published on 29 April 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheerful but ultimately disposable
This is the first Lodge I have completed; have always had some sort of an aversion to articulate but voluminous middle-aged British narrators whose own navel gazing drowns every incident of any interpretation in the sea of their own explanations and justifications. So it's a surprise that Therapy had precisely this kind of narrator but without the trappings that would...
Published 7 months ago by coronaurora


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous yet poignant journey of self-discovery, 29 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
Though the comic effects are more subdued than in his previous novels "Changing Places", "Small World" and "Nice Work", David Lodge provides us with a very readable, and often poignant account of a man's journey to greater self-awareness.
TV sitcom scriptwriter Tubby Passmore is beset by ailments afflicting both body and soul. Recurring knee pains lead to physioterapy while a general lack of well-being, coupled with dwindling self-esteem, point him in the direction of aromatherapy and cognitive behaviour therapy.
The journal he is encouraged to keep by his psychiatrist forms the basis of the novel, in which the passage of Tubby's life from his humble South London origins is recounted as he attempts to extricate himself from the angst that has engulfed him. Along the way he develops an obsession with Kierkegaard. We are given much information about the Danish philosopher's own life as Tubby sees in it clear parallels to his own. Kirkegaard becomes his spiritual therapist as he attempts to confront ennui and dread and overcome his existentialist dilemma.
The book is suffused with the sort of finely etched humourous detail about contemporary English life that Lodge conveys masterly. Familiar themes re-occur: a Roman Catholic upbringing in the 1950s, class divisions, plus the tensions between metropolitan and provincial life. The characters are extremely well drawn and the writing excellent. The novel will appeal in particular to anyone middle-aged who, when afflicted by the mounting dissatisfactions of the advancing years, has sought to regain lost contentment, whether real or imaginary. That includes most of us over 40 I imagine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book about a man in his mid-life crisis., 31 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
This review is about "Therapy" by David Lodge. Lodge is an humorous, post-modernist novelist. In this readable, comic novel he faces the subject of mid-life crisis with great realism through the pages of Laurence's psychotherapy diary. The book's protagonist is Laurence "Tubby" Passmore, a successful sitcom scriptwriter. He is going through a difficult period in his life because he is 58 years old and is faced with a typical MID-LIFE CRISIS. He is married to Sally, an attractive, self-made academic who enjoys sex; she is a lecturer in one of the new universities. Instead Tubby is indecisive and inexplicably depressed, unhappy with himself, his fat body, bald head, wonky knee and temporary sexual impotence. He lacks self-esteem, but he does not know the reasons. At first he is very confident in his marriage with Sally even though, when he goes to London weekly, he has a positive but platonic relationship with Amy( "I have a sexy wife at home and a platonic mistress in London"). She also works for the TV series "The people next door". Tubby, seeking something to alleviate his troubles, dabbles in acupuncture and aromatherapy and regularly attends a blind physiotherapist and a woman psychiatrist. The latter advises him to write a diary. His wife, Sally, is unhappy with her married life and expresses her wish to divorce him. He also starts having problems with his job. These events increase his dissatisfaction with his own life and make his identity crisis worse. At this moment Laurence tries to rediscover himself by reading Kierkegaard's books. He thinks of his youth and decides to track Maureen, an Irish catholic girl who was his first girlfriend. Maureen has suffered the death of her son and her breast cancer, but she has found comfort in religion. Tubby finds her on the road to Composted, where she is on a pilgrimage. Lodge's language is so simple and colloquial that the reader can concentrate on the main topics of the book: Tubby 's mid-life crisis and his relationship with women(Sally, Amy, Maureen....). Readers should also concentrate on the title "Therapy" because it can help them to understand better that Tubby hides behind all these therapies not to face his true problems and the disaster his life seems to have turned into. He is so obsessed by these therapies that he sees his meeting with Maureen as a kind of psychological treatment, a way to solve his problems. The first person narrator makes the novel more involving, even though less objective. Certainly the most interesting aspect is the fact that the narrative voice intermingles with various monologuing voices, belonging to Amy, Sally and other women who play a role in the protagonist's life. These monologues provide different perspectives on the same events. But afterwards the reader discovers that these events have been written by Tubby as a therapeutic exercise. My personal opinion about the book is quite good. It is a meditative book where only a few actions happen, but it is interesting thanks to the richness of the language and because it deals with a peculiar theme, which is treated in a very realistic way. This tale gives readers an image of what their lives could be in the future. A must read! You will not be able to put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escape Me Never!, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. D. James "nonsuch" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
David Lodge
Therapy

There are always strong autobiographical strains in Lodge's fiction, so much so that the conflation of author and character bemuses and might even inhibit immersion into the fictional world. The ageing narrator in Deaf Sentence, for instance, is a semi-retired academic, a specialist in linguistics and English Literature. Like his author he suffers the agonies of not being what he used to be, plus the suspected ridicule of others, feelings of redundancy, deafness and all the impotent symptoms of the `male menopause.' He inhabits a midland town, as does the professor in Nice Work, and the cityscape is pretty obviously a simulacrum of Lodge's own Birmingham. Campus life is endemic to Professor Lodge's fiction.

In Therapy we are once again in Rummidge (i.e. Birmingham), but this time our linguistically-obsessed narrator is a television script writer - Lodge ringing the changes by drawing upon his experiences with the dramatisation of Nice Work. As ever, marital conflict looms large, as the obsessed writer strives to reconcile the demands of work and domestic life. Laurence `Tubby' Passmore, however, carries his neuroses to extremes, undergoing treatment from his GP, a psychoanalyst, an aroma-therapist, a sex therapist,, an acupuncturist, various drugs and almost any young female who can relieve him of his feelings of inadequacy. `Tubby' is so obviously a paranoid neurotic that his life is constantly in tatters. If you divorce you'll regret it, if you don't divorce you'll regret it. Divorce or don't divorce you'll regret both. Small wonder that he finds comfort in Kierkegaard, the author of Either/Or. Of course, nobody who is capable of writing as fluently, perceptively and humorously as Lodge could be as dysfunctional as Laurence - dysfunctional, except that, as `Tubby' the narrator, he is capable of earning a small fortune by writing a sit-com The People Next Door, which, while pure soap rubbish, seems for a time to have a large viewing public by the throat. Not that Laurence is ever recognised as the author - he is but an essential cog in a vast popular machine.

Always readable, always funny and inventive, this as an immensely enjoyable novel. At one point, Lodge seems to move away from relaying Laurence's journal to presenting us with several internal monologues by his intimates, but this, rather cleverly, turns out to be yet another therapy recommended by one of his practitioners - an attempt to see himself as others might see him.

The concluding third of the book, begins with `Tubby' desperately attempting to revive an old love affair, whose subject seems to be the answer to a reject's prayer. Reminiscent of the obsessive return to an old romance experienced by the narrator of Iris Murdoch's The Sea, The Sea, this twist provides an additional tension and a somewhat sobering but not desperately sad ending to a fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Therapy - a therapeutic read, 28 April 2003
By 
Jean A. Northam "sweet afton" (Exeter, Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
Some books make me want to tell everyone how good they are, which is why I'm writing this review. 'Therapy' combines a page-turning story with the kind of sharp observations of daily life that made me laugh with recognition.
Laurence - Tubby - is a wealthy, successful television scriptwriter with a happy marriage and family life, a beautiful family home plus flat in London, friends, security, and the car of his dreams. He also has a crippling condition which defies diagnosis and cure, and which he calls IDK - 'Internal Derangement of the Knee' or 'I Don't Know'. This condition seems symptomatic of a mysterious Internal Derangement of his Life as he approaches his late-fifties, which expresses itself in various forms, such as the Low Frustration Tolerance which gives rise to many hilarious episodes as he meets with stupid notices, out-of-order escalators, barriers that come down just as he gets to them, and the many absurdities and paradoxes of life at the end of the twentieth century. His attempts to understand his condition take him on journeys across the Atlantic and through Europe, as well as philosophical journeys through the works of Kirkegaard and his constant reference to dictionaries and encyclopaedias.
David Lodge's fascination with the craft of novel-writing shows in the surprising twists and turns of the novel, as Laurence tells his own story from different angles, exploring his derangements. In the end, having tried every therapeutic approach from surgery to cognitive behavioural therapy, acupuncture to physiotherapy, Laurence has to become his own therapist. I would guess that I am not alone in recognising my own derangements in this novel and taking pleasure in finding that this fine novelist has mapped out the territory with breathtaking accuracy and wonderful humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheerful but ultimately disposable, 4 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Therapy (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Lodge I have completed; have always had some sort of an aversion to articulate but voluminous middle-aged British narrators whose own navel gazing drowns every incident of any interpretation in the sea of their own explanations and justifications. So it's a surprise that Therapy had precisely this kind of narrator but without the trappings that would send me to sleep. Part of this is because I was prepared what I was going in for (the title!) and partly because of two wonderful strokes: in the middle act, our sitcom writer takes the baton of narrating his actions from the viewpoint of the family and friends surrounding him and contains a trouser-rippingly funny monologue of his mistress confessing her experiences to her therapist. I do not think I have laughed as much with a book in hand. The other brilliant part was, at no point did the main character's journal or any post-modern tropes retard the sequence of events. There was a fair amount of incident, what with the lead character shuffling between sitcom-writing and marriage-in-crisis woes, with an endearing subplot of him discovering a kindred soul in the long dead existentialist Kirkegaard. His vague, generalised angst floats easily thanks to Lodge's snide observations of the cruel banalities of London life.

My gripe would be that the final act, which involved a fair amount of flashback and a pilgrimage, while handled sensitively and staged elaborately, still makes for an arc that felt a bit cinematic. Still, Lodge has a talent for comic writing and dialogue that I have seen the likes of Elton and Nicholls try and fail miserably. Sensitive old British lads don't come more endearing than this. Well worth a read, though it has very little to revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does not need a script doctor!, 14 July 2008
By 
Martin A. Chambers (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
I usually knock off a book of this length in a couple of evenings. Not so with Therapy for it rewards you for taking your time! The book operates on two levels and illustrates the public and private lives of its hero. On the surface Laurance "Tubby" Passmore is a very successful and wealthy television scriptwriter, but internally he is a fine blend of neuroses! The book works best when in the hands of the first person narrator. The excursions exploring Tubby's life from the views of observers are less convincing. Tubby is not a wonderful person, but you end up liking and urging him on. I recommend this novel to anyone who likes a well written introspective work. Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look back in Angst!, 23 Nov 2007
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
Laurence "Tubby" Passmore seems to have all the trappings of a successful life but knows that something is missing. He suffers from a variety of ailments and attends a range of therapy sessions on a weekly basis - physiotherapy, acupuncture, cognitive behavious therapy etc. As usual with David Lodge there is lots of male angst but gently blended with humour (including some "laugh out loud" moments). Passmore is so caught up in his own perceived problems that he fails to notice what is going on around him and his marriage and his career begin to fall apart.

The book becomes his quest to find contentment and meaning to his life. But it is all done with a lightness of touch and at the end comes to a very satisfying conclusion.

Lodge is particularly good when he writes as a female character (even if it is a male character pretending to be a female!) He does this even more successfully in Thinks - so if you liked Therapy you should read Thinks next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars is the journey the best bit?, 28 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
‘Therapy’ – a book I returned to reread remembering that it dealt interestingly with middle aged Angst; I found parts 1 and 2 rather hard going because there was so much negativity amongst the comedy – which fits of course with ‘Tubby’ Passmore’s fascinations with Kierkegaard. If you are looking for comfort then hold out for the 3rd part where he goes to find his Catholic childhood sweetheart, when the climate turns sunny in more ways than one.
In Part 1 he is ‘angsting’ generally about life, the universe and everything and trying out a range of therapies to deal with what his physoitherpaist calls‘Internal Derangement of the Knee’- IDK or 'I Don't Know'. A wealthy sitcom writer (is it really so well remunerated a profession as suggested?) he feels pride in his work but this is in danger because of a departing actress and a dangerous clause in his contract. He recognises guiltily that he doesn’t always listen to his wife Sally but believes his marriage it in good shape and the end of the part comes with the shocking announcement:
‘Sally just came into my study to tell me she wants a separation. She says she told me earlier this evening, over supper, but I wasn’t listening. I listened this time, but I still can’t take it in.’
Part 2 recounts, written as in the words of people he has been interacting with, Tubby’s frantic search to get himself back on track through sex, trying to reverse past choices and find salvation through identifying himself with Kierkegaard, including the philosopher’s strange failure at romance when he rejected his fiancée in spite of being obsessively in love with her for the rest of his life. Lots of comedy but with a very bitter flavour and you see Tubby’s own low self esteem come through hot and strong.
In part 3 we return to the first person, with a memoir of his teenage romance with Maureen, ending in his following her onto the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela. (Interestingly I found out that David Lodge was responsible for making a TV documentary of this pilgrimage before writing this book). Tubby yearns to be called Laurence again as he was in his youth, but when Maureen meets him she adopts the name Tubby and I got the feeling that in accepting that he accepts his ageing and himself – IDK and potency problems fade away and a satisfying compromise of his life comes in the last pages. It is this journey, (along with the threat to the tennis coach’s pony tail in part 2 – you have to read it!) that has stayed with me most strongly from earlier readings. The story of the journey makes a healing read.
If you’re a serious Kierkegaard scholar you may be able to make more sense than I have been able to of how the abstract concepts are interpreted by Tubby, but his developing obsession with the Danish philosopher and his mind boggling ideas is rather endearing. It contrasts interestingly with Maureen’s (and of course David Lodge’s) Catholicism.
I enjoy David Lodge because he writes really well and intelligently, has great humour on a lot of levels and builds satisfying complex worlds. I know enough about his academic subject of English Literature to get a kick out of picking up some of the references and pastiches but am uneasily aware that there is a lot that I miss (sometimes picking up on a reread)– and it is perfectly possible to read his books without worrying about that at all. It is also fun when he brings references of previous books into later books, like Alison Lurie does. I also like the insights he brings me as a woman into the male psyche – Tubby’s obsession with football for example makes more sense after reading ‘Why men lie and women cry’ and reading how Tubby tries to write in the first person as a woman in parts of Part 2 shows a male perception of how women think – mirrors within mirrors. This goes with a healthy respect for feminism and a tendency to provide strong women as a nice positive role model for an anxious female. Having looked him up on Google I see that some people think he is too structured with the way he tidies up all the details but personally I have no quarrel with that. I would recommend ‘Nice Work’ and ‘Paradise News’ if you enjoyed this book – personally I haven’t enjoyed ‘Thinks’ so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant layered story of middle age, 6 April 2013
By 
R. Phillips (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Therapy (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful on many levels. First, it is a compelling story about middle age "panic of closing doors" (as German renders the mid-life crisis), with a poignant look back at innocence and adolescent randiness. It is also a brilliant explication of Kierkegaard, the founder of existentialism. Kierkegaard's work is obscure. Lodge takes the structure of Either/Or - one of the most obscure and most influential of Kierkegaard's works - and turns it into the multiple perspectives of a gripping novel, mostly in the language of his protagonist who is the author of a soap opera and writes with admirable directness. Thus Lodge shows with great force that at the bottom of angst is not petty neurosis but the need to see clearly one's relationship with what ultimately matters (God or the infinite or the cosmos or whatever takes your fancy). He shows us what Kierkegaard is saying. He also shows us, with a magician's tour de force, how Kierkegaard's writing works. And then a third level - uncovering the reverential essence of Lodge's Catholicism through irreverent observation of its dubious surface. A great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and full of insights, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Therapy (Paperback)
This novel is different from many of David Lodge's earlier works as, in them, the characters are sound emotionally but with external problems (often concerning issues of birth control) but here the central character, Tubby Passmore, is neurotic and most of his problems stem from this as he is comfortably settled in life. He tries several versions of therapy, including affairs - one which is mostly platonic and others fail - before undertaking a pilgimage to Santiago to meet his first love from school days. There is, therefore, a different, quieter humour as well as some skilful writing from the point of view of other characters before he finds resolution. Yet I missed some of the sparkiness of the previous works and found his obsession with Kierkegaard slightly wearisome although I laughed out loud at his attempts to uncover his wife's supposed infidelity. David Lodge does succeed in making middle-aged angst sympathetic and I have read the book a few times, including in a very readable French translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Therapy
Therapy by David Lodge
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews