Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of You
This is a story of real people, real life, real feelings and it gripped me into the wee hours on a trip this weekend to Venice! I did have to re-read some of the dialogue again after I finished it as the ending has such a twist. I too am from the era of dungarees, Average White Band and Charlie perfume so I swept through the early pages with much nostalgia. The grief of...
Published on 31 May 2007 by TennisRosie

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good start
To begin with I found the style that the book was written in interesting and engaging, it made me want to know what would happen next, however, as the story progressed I found the plot began to drag and I discovered the only reason I was carrying on with it was because I wanted to find out how her baby had died. Once I'd reached this point I found the novel less engaging,...
Published on 6 July 2007 by Darcey Penniman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of You, 31 May 2007
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
This is a story of real people, real life, real feelings and it gripped me into the wee hours on a trip this weekend to Venice! I did have to re-read some of the dialogue again after I finished it as the ending has such a twist. I too am from the era of dungarees, Average White Band and Charlie perfume so I swept through the early pages with much nostalgia. The grief of losing their daughter whilst trying to maintain a normal existence is written with full heart rendering disclosure which hooks you in at the first mention. It left me thinking how complex the human mind really is and yet it is also full of sentiment. Everyone deals with grief in a different way and this really is the story of one persons voyage to try to make sense of it all when even existing after the death of ones child doesn't make any sense. Bravo, Julie Myerson!

- Rosie Charlton, Esher, Surrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical read that I couldn't put down..., 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
Myerson's prose is almost poetic, and I found myself entranced from the very first paragraph. The story is beautifully written as Myerson weaves together memories of an encounter many years ago with the story of today.

Rosy, the central character and the voice of the novel is battling to keep her family life on track following the tragic death of her youngest daughter. When her husband takes her away to Paris she takes a walk in the snow at the crack of dawn and meets a man who was once the boy she spent the night with more than twenty years ago on that memorable night that continues to haunt her.

When she returns home she strikes up an email conversation with the man, who behaves as though they haven't seen each other for twenty years.

Myerson weaves the past and the present together in such a way that the true account of her daughter's tragic death isn't made clear until more than half way through the novel. The relationship she has with Tom, her almost-husband, is a stark contrast to the affair she strikes up with "you", the man who understands her in a way no one else ever has, and whose name the reader never learns.

I couldn't put this book down as I wanted to know more about the events of the past, and whether Rosy's lover really existed; I wondered whether he was real, a figment of her imagination, a ghost or even an hallucination.

The Story of You took my breath away, made my heart ache and made me think about the preciousness of love, relationships and the simple gestures and understandings that draw people together.

It's been almost three days since I finished reading the book and I still find myself thinking about it, which is why I've decided to award The Story of You by Julie Myerson the elusive 6 star rating at Blue Archipelago Reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 6 July 2007
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
To begin with I found the style that the book was written in interesting and engaging, it made me want to know what would happen next, however, as the story progressed I found the plot began to drag and I discovered the only reason I was carrying on with it was because I wanted to find out how her baby had died. Once I'd reached this point I found the novel less engaging, a little slow and I skip read to the end. It might have been me having a bad night, but 60 pages before the end I realised that the book was just plain dull, which I was quite dissapointed about as I had looked forward to reading what I thought would be mysterious and suggestive. As the novel progressed I found that I really didn't like the way the man she was having the affair with talked and he just began to annoy me. All in all I was quite dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the others, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Helen Harvey (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of You (Hardcover)
Don't get me wrong this book is great, brilliant, but maybe not as good as Julie Myerson's others. The love scenes between Rosy and her lover may be a bit long, but are beautifully written. As always the family life in this book is spot on and totally beliveable. If you are a Julie Myerson Fan or have enjoyed any of her other books, then definately by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts., 23 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
The novel was good in its description of an affair and the obsessive, not quite real world of affairs. I found that having an affair with a person who may or may not exist was just silly though, as well as unnecessary. The main character of the book irritated me too much for the novel to be enjoyable. She seemed very narcissistic and to view continually crying as proof of how poetic and sensitive she was, rather than a sign that she had too much time on her hands to be introspective and maybe needed a real job. I suspect I'd have related to her better when I was 17 and also prone to having too much time on my hands and being a bit of a drama queen.
The way she always wanted to be the "good guy" with her kids and be the ones catering to their wants rather than needs (with fatal results) and to be the one telling them they can keep kittens etc leaving her partner to be the tough guy who did the discipline became very irritating as well, but probably fitted in with her narcissism.
If the rest of her novels involve her fussing over her children and crying alot whilst telling everyone how sensitive she is I've no desire to read more, which is a shame as she does obsessive relationships well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read this year, 19 Jun 2007
By 
Wendy (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
I liked Julie Myerson after being really impressed with 'Something Might Happen' - where her favourite word was 'fizzy', all the way through. I loved that, the returning word, and so apt. I won't say what the 3 returning words are in this story....This book was even better - so good I have had to abandon all other book plans, buy everything else she has written, and start immediately. I love the simplicity of her style. The fevered way she manages to describe having an affair to escape your own thoughts, the obsessiveness of it. I've been there, and its so accurate. The grief, the dialogue, the thought processes - everything she talked about in this story was so authentic, empathic. It was such a good book that when I discovered I had left my copy of it at work, on a Friday - I had to buy another so I could finish it over the weekend; couldn't imagine NOT knowing what happened next. And the end...well I can't say, can I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!!, 5 July 2007
By 
L. Cyples "Laura Cyples" (S-O-T, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
On the whole i thought this book was ok, if a little depressing. Although the story is all about grief so what can you expect!
I have to say I was very disappointed by the ending of the story. It is obvious throughout that there is something not quite as it seems and maybe I was expecting more?! Predictable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book. I found it hauntingly beautiful and authentic, even at the same time as it is strays from 'reality' in a way that questions the mental soundness of the main character, with effective contrasts between two current parts of her life, and superb flashbacks to her previous story as a young woman, masterfully woven together into a superb story. As the last sentence might convey, it left me at times breathless! It was hugely meaningful to me, and moved me. I did not think that Julie Myerson would easily equal 'Something Might Happen'. She has with this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to its promise, 23 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
I was really intrigued by the style of this book when I began to read it and thought it was going to be a good'un. But sadly, I soon began to realise that the storyline was a bit thin - it could have been so much better if it didn't concentrate on the fine detail of the sex life of the central character.
Don't get me wrong, I like a bit of soft porn as much as anyone, but this is strictly Mills & Boon stuff and added nothing to the story - I soon tired of the endless passages of self pity alongside supposedly earth moving sex. You can't have it both ways.
Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Mme Beverly Claire SMART (Thezan, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
An extraordinary book, impossible to put down. Julie Myerson writes with disturbing insight about the nuts and bolts of what makes or breaks a relationship. I had to re-read immediately upon finishing so as to be sure not to have missed the slightest bit of this fascinating novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of You
The Story of You by Julie Myerson
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews