Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Singles
This is a short whistle stop tour of the 'best' singles of each year from 1949 to 1999. Of course, quite often they are not really the best songs of that year, but perhaps a new style of music or released by a new and innovative record label. Either way, this is a really interesting little book to dip into and the section for each year discusses both the chosen single...
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by S Riaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but not amazing
Some decent songs and well written remarks which were justified - didn't seem detailed enough in some places and too much information in others.
Published 23 months ago by Anne Fidelo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Singles, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
This is a short whistle stop tour of the 'best' singles of each year from 1949 to 1999. Of course, quite often they are not really the best songs of that year, but perhaps a new style of music or released by a new and innovative record label. Either way, this is a really interesting little book to dip into and the section for each year discusses both the chosen single and other important releases for that year. Personally, I found the sections relating to the fifties, sixties and seventies the most enjoyable (can Blur or the Verve compete with the giants of the Sixties?), but overall this is a fun read with loads of information packed into it. If you enjoy this, you might also like 100 Lost Rock Albums From The 1970s. Both books will bring you lots of musical nostalgia and remind you to go and hunt out those songs you haven't heard in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Singles, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant little book that will bring back a lot of memories to pop enthusiasts. Some of the songs mentioned within might have been long forgotten, and in this respect they brought back some great memories for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting, if slightly-patronising read., 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
This brought back a lot of memories for me, reminding me of songs I'd completely forgotten and also prompting me to dig out stuff from before I was born. It's nice and quick and for 0p I can't really see why you shouldn't pick it up if you like music.

The only downside is the slightly patronising tone at times. I guess the book is written for teenagers but even then I'd think it might be a bit heavy handed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but not amazing, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
Some decent songs and well written remarks which were justified - didn't seem detailed enough in some places and too much information in others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and rather sweet, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
For vinyl junkies like myself this is a pleasant, trivia-laden stroll through four decades of classic pop. A nice read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for music lovers., 11 May 2013
By 
J. Barry (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good read for music lovers like me. It was great to recall those singles that pass you by over the years. If you like music then you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been titled "My choice of classic singles", 8 Oct. 2013
By 
M. J. Turner (St. Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
Everyone has their own personal opinion as to their favourite single from a particular year but the impression I got prior to reading the book was that it would give an insight as to why the author chose the song he he did for the specific years. It seems to me as what he achieved was nothing more than picking his own personal favourites as opposed to the songs that made the biggest impact in any particular year.

For example, the best selling single of 1984 "Band Aids" Do they know it's Christmas was overlooked. This should have been the single of 1984 because of the impact it had on the sales market, the political scene, it's effect on the poverty in Africa, the fact that Live Aid grew out of it the following year. Also the Bryan Adams single in 1991 "Everything I Do" was cruelly overlooked, this stayed at No.1 for 16 consecutive weeks. No other single in the history of music has been at the top for so many weeks in a row but it wasn't the single of the year?

There are also many condescending remarks concerning singles that the author doesn't seem to approve of, in particular some of the prog rock tracks don't go down too well and he also has it in for the likes of Peters and Lee, Dawn and the like. Not to everyone's taste I know but then he goes on to praise rap and punk? Do me a favour. Unfortunately it's these kind of records that the author seems to think are the ones that deem appropriate to the term "classic". Sad really because this book could and should have been so much more. If only he'd have gone into detail as to what made a single the most prominent of the year instead of focussing on his own personal favourites this would have been a wholly more practical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of thoughts., 22 April 2013
By 
P. Wilkinson "cleanersvenus" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this all to brief collection of essays on famous songs and the times they were released. Nothing bad to say about it other than I wish it was longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool Book, 12 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
As someone who has written a couple of music appreciation/list books 'Hail Hail Rock 'n' Roll: 100 obscure, neglected or forgotten songs of quality....' and 'Just What I Needed: 100 Power Pop Classics', I fully appreciate the idea of this book, which provides background to a single a year from 1949 to 1999. Will be enjoyed by any fan of music who likes to know a little of the background to the music they listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this!, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
Lesley Bergman (Stellenbosch, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket 88: Classic Singles (Kindle Edition)
Well, if you must, then just be prepared to come back to Amazon to buy "1001 Songs You Must hear before You Die". Damn, this is addictive stuff! And it has me scrabbling through my dusty vinyls (yes, I still have those) in maudlin nostalgia about the time music and life were inextricably intertwined. Sniff sniff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocket 88: Classic Singles
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews