Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two excellent albums plus rare bonus tracks, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The album that makes up the first half of this twofer, Latin for lovers, features a mix of standards and songs of Latin origin, all given a gentle bossa nova rhythm. On Be mine tonight, Doris actually sings a verse in Spanish – the only time she ever did that. Of the standards, Fly me to the moon and Our day will come are the best known. One of the Latin songs, Perhaps perhaps perhaps (a translation of Quizas quizas quizas) became popular in the UK as a consequence of its use in a TV commercial. This is an excellent album that sets its own mood.
The album that makes up the second half of this twofer, Love him, is dominated by ballads, all superbly sung by Doris. The songs come from a variety of source, including lovely covers of Elvis Presley’s Can’t help falling in love and Fool such as I (although the latter was originally a Hank Snow country song). There is also an amazing cover of Willie Nelson’s Night life, which has been given a very dramatic scene-setting intro that Willie never envisaged. It works well and once you get past the intro, the song sounds exactly as you would expect it to. Several other songs will be familiar to those who know the music of the fifties and sixties.
Two rare bonus tracks, Moonlight lover and A whisper away, have been added to make this even more desirable than it was anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last recordings of Doris Day, 5 Nov 2001
By 
Colin R. Holmes (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two albums on one C.D.Her last and in my opinion her best. Listen to 'Perhaps'.Listen to 'Summer is gone'. Listen to 'How Insensitive'. I could go on. The voice is silky and clear. The balance on the recording is excellant and I don't think Doris Day has ever sounded better. Why did she stop recording after this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Her!, 28 Jan 2013
By 
JJA Kiefte "Joost Kiefte" (Tegelen, Nederland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In Holland in the early eighties we had a very popular pop group called Doe Maar (which roughly translates as "Just Go Ahead"), that took a pot shot at their parent's insipid tastes by referring to the dullest thing imaginable on TV: a film with Doris Day.
Unfortunately, Doris' reputation suffers from the saccharine image she acquired in the 1960s from a number of mildly amusing films in which she portrayed a virginal spinster whose heart would be conquered either by he-man Rock Hudson (who was as gay as a lamppost) or the nincompoopish Tony Randall.
Doris Day had more than one egg in her basket though, which she not only had proven in a number of serious acting roles in the previous decade, but also as a superior chanteuse, who belongs to the very top of her field. And, although the dreadful Mitch Miller did his utmost to pedestrianize Doris' recorded legacy, at least on single, her LPs belong to the eternal glories of recorded singing. In the 1990s Columbia/Sony re-released het LPs on CD (two LPs on one CD)
The first part of this platter, Latin For Lovers, dates back to 1964, and cashes in on the then all-the-rage bossa nova. Fortunately, La Day refrains from singing in Portuguese / Spanish (Nat Cole's and Matt Monro's phonetic outings in that direction are amusing-turns irritating), but sticks to English. The arranger / bandleader, one Mort Garson, provides a soft, string-laden backdrop with persuasive percussion, a sensitive guitar and some subdued trumpets here and there which provides Doris with the opportunity to sound as sexy as she possibly can (is this the same woman as the innocent, prudish, blonde of her sixties films??) More than just background music, this set of songs will appeal to all those who appreciate good singing and music making in general, without digging very deep emotionally.
The second part, Love Him from 1963, sees Day fishing in a stylistically more diverse pond, mostly filled with numbers of a relatively recent date. There are some covers (what a dreadful term, but I'll have to live with it) of Elvis Presley, Jack Jones and Willie Nelson, but arranger Tommy Oliver and Doris give mere imitation a wide berth and mark them with their own distinctive stamp. And what a f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c singer Day is! Her enunciation and slightly husky voice alone are a balm to the soul, but there's more, much more: she's always bang on-key, her breathing technique is exemplary, her timing is unsurpassed, and in appropriate places she even employs some extraneous noises, such as a groan here and there. There is an implied sensualtity in every note she sings, and there is a heartfelt sincerity in all the lines she so seamlessly strings together, certainly in the sadder type of song. Perhaps I will be accused of gushing now, but I hazard the opinion that, for my dough anyway, Doris Day is the greatest female interpreter of popular song, Ella included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful!, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Doris Day and have a few cd's of hers. I ordered this one as it had numbers I had not heard before and I had hoped for latino numbers. Well all my wishes came true and the sound quality of this cd is superb!! The smoothness and truthfulness of her voice comes through and each song takes you on a journey. I did not tell my husband I was playing Doris Day. He loves jazz and lounge music. He was really enjoying listening to the cd and wondered who this beautiful voice was... and yes now he is a complete Doris Day fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin For Lovers - Love Him (MP3 Download)
What a singer Doris Day was - perfect diction and intonation. the orchestral arrangements on these albums are superb, particularly the Latin one. Check out "How Insensitive" - if that doesn't send shivers up your spine you are made of stone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all Doris Day fans, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is a gem because it doesn't have the usual songs you get on all the compilations. The latin songs take you to a warm, sultry evening on an exotic location with a loved one. I actually played nothing but this CD for weeks and it led me to listen to songwriters works that I had previously not heard. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day - "Latin for Lovers", 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy listening! Lush orchestration! Lovely background music to relax with! A nice change from the classic Day
titles. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relax, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this mostly for the track Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps....but have enjoyed most tracks, its one to listen to over dinner and a glass or wine, or sitting on the sofa when you just want to be. I like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Martini Music, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is perfect background music for sipping a martini and enjoying conversation with that special someone or with treasured friends. In fact, the music on this CD reminds us that the multi-talented Miss Day is like treasured friend herself. The songs comprise two albums from when Doris Day was at her peak musically, and remind us that she is in the same league as Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Peggy Lee, Ella Fitzgerald and Rosemary Clooney. Make yourself a martini, put this CD on the player, then be transported back on a memorable journey to a classier era in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LATIN FOR LOVERS - LOVE HIM, 23 Dec 2011
As always the singing is superb, but the arrangement for the Latin songs is far too slow and lacks the real Bossa Nova rhythms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews