Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best flour I've ever tasted
This flour is fantastic in taste, quality, texture, and its effects on my gastrointestinal system. My husband and I bake all our bread using this flour by doubling the bread recipe on the back of the flour pack and splitting it into three bread tins. We bake them all at the same time and have bread for the week. They keep well in the freezer for at least a week...
Published 18 months ago by Beth

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I love spelt, but this make of flour does not ...
I love spelt, but this make of flour does not work in a bread making machine. The loaf fails to rise, is heavy and the texture is very crumbly. I've used other spelt flour that bake much better. It may be good for oven baked items, but that's not how I use mine, so the review is based on what I would like from it.
Published 3 days ago by Purple Dragon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best flour I've ever tasted, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
This flour is fantastic in taste, quality, texture, and its effects on my gastrointestinal system. My husband and I bake all our bread using this flour by doubling the bread recipe on the back of the flour pack and splitting it into three bread tins. We bake them all at the same time and have bread for the week. They keep well in the freezer for at least a week.

We have also both found that we feel much better eating bread made out of this flour rather than strong white bread flour or even whole wheat bread flour, and certainly feel loads better than when we eat bread from the supermarket.

I've also used this flour successfully in cookies (the recipe on the back on the pack), cake (a recipe on the Dove website), pancakes, and crepes. Very versatile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Flour, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
My husband and I recently began an organic, wholefoods diet, to step up our already-pretty-healthy veggie diet. This is by far our favorite flour. The more delicate gluten strands it produces in comparison to wheat four are easier to digest and less likely to cause bloating. As a wholegrain, it also has loads of fiber, which is brill. I made a sourdough starter and a 100% spelt sourdough ciabatta with this, among other breads from the starter, and results have been extremely tasty. Would definitely recommend especially for those trying to eat a wholefoods diet or increase their fiber intake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
Very healthy, less gluten , no additives and performs very wel, as always with Dove products. This organic flour helps to keep the body in peak condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes excellent bread and pizza, 9 Nov 2013
By 
S. D. T. Froggatt "Stephen Froggatt" (Lymm, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
A great flour for home baking, and works well with bread machines using ordinary quick yeast and regular setting. Might need to experiment by adding more yeast or honey if required, since the bread is quite firm even so. Also an easy winner for home-made pizza dough, with or without the bread machine assistance. It's quicker to make a pizza from idea to first mouthful than it is to phone for a pizza delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great alternative to wheat flour, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
This flour has such a delicate flavour and really does make hearty loaves. Great alternative to wheat and white flours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really tasty!, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
I have baked cookies (recipe on the back of the flour packet) and eggless muffins and they were really tasty! Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice flour - but., 1 Aug 2013
By 
B. S. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
Very nice, soft flour, a pleasure to use, kneads and rises easier than normal flour when bread making. However, I'll not be ordering from this source again - the carrier was Yodel - nightmare, need I say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant product, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
This was delivered promptly, perfectly and safely packaged and the quality was absolutely great. Would certainly buy again - spelt bread tasted delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
Product as advertised on amazon. Arrived ok, although one bag was slightly damaged. Excellent flour! Will definitely buy again when this will have finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly three of the five bags of flour were burst ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doves Farm Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour 1 kg (Pack of 5) (Grocery)
Sadly three of the five bags of flour were burst open in transit, there was a lot of mess to clear up. So will not repeat the experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews