Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars625
4.6 out of 5 stars
Style Name: STYLE A|Change
Price:£9.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2014
We all love garlic. Be it in butter, mayo or anything cooked it generally has garlic in it. We can't get enough of it - until the garlic crusher we had 'went missing'. Hmm. Anyway i bought a cheap Argos thing which was rubbish and had to cope with it for over a year before i got sick of it.

Googling a garlic crusher shows how sad i have become now. Should it really be that important? Well have i mentioned that we love garlic?

Amongst all of the garlic crushers and presses that i saw reviewed on Amazon i decided to choose this.. partially because of the design and partly from common sense.

You put a clove of garlic in it (obviously), and squeeze. Now what's interesting here and rather important compared to my crummy one are the following:

1) The 'press' which pushes the garlic down contains little spikes which go through the holes that the garlic goes in so that very little is left behind
2) the shape of the press plate is perfectly sized so that garlic doesn't simply escape up the sides and out the top.

I tried this with a nice large Chinese clove of garlic. It was quite a surprise when a shower of garlic was projected about a foot in front of it. All that was left was the peel and a tiny remnant of garlic 'juice' which i liberated.

So if you're out and about in my general area and someone smells obscenely of garlic.. it may just be me, or one of the other members of the family.

Highly recommended for garlic addicts
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I have actually bought 2 of these, as I was sure the problem must have been me misusing it somehow. It works very well and does indeed crush unpeeled cloves very efficiently, however over time the teeth on the cleaning tool start to bend thus making it hard, to eventually impossible to use as they all need to be aligned in order to push through the corresponding holes on the Zyliss. Both times they ended up being thrown away. Secondly after many months you also notice that the coating whatever it is, some reviewers have suggested it is aluminium....... Starts to come away, through use/cleaning. This looked really bad and I am unsure whether the coating ended up in food or down the sink. Usually I purchase an item based on the opinions of other reviewers, and am very satisfied, however after having purchased this item twice and having the same problems occur over months of use, I thought I should leave a review. I have since purchased the Oxo good grips new garlic press.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Ive avoided buying a garlic press for the longest time because they all seemed like such a faff, peel garlic, chop bottom off garlic, press garlic, scrape tiny amount of garlic not stuck in press off of press...... but i gave in and bought this one esp as it said you dont have to peel the clove first!! I was a tad sceptical i'll be honest, but it arrived the day after i ordered it (less than 24 hours after i ordered it!) and i ripped the packaging off, keen to have a go. i grabbed a clove, shoved it in the press, squeezed it and then had a look......... OH MY GOSH, the only thing left in the press was a thin sheet of garlic skin, nowt else. I am so pleased. Dinner may have been a tad garlickly that night as i was enjoying myself so much, i even made my husband have a go and he was impressed (not bad for a man that doesnt cook at all)
It also has an integral brush that sits in the handle with prongs that exactly match the hole pattern on the press so if any garlic gets stuck you can poke it out.
So if you want a garlic press that works, buy this one!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Absolutely love using this; it puts the fun back into using garlic! It's an effective garlic press, and you can often fit in two smaller cloves at a time (or one big one).

Do note that if you insert the garlic with the skin still on, quite a bit of garlic gets trapped inside. So you may need to open the press, remove the skin and press again: not exactly a one-step method, but good if you want every last bit of garlic extracted. Personally, I don't like to waste it so I always press twice.

Clean-up can be tricky, so use the cleaning tool and wash it straight after use - if you wait too long and the garlic dries, it can be hard to remove. Luckily, it's also dishwasher-safe and that helps a lot!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Good press but after a few runs in the dishwasher the silver paint began to peel and any garlic I crushed in it after that came out as a grey pulp, not very appetizing. Since then I have purchased Jamie Oliver Press which I would highly recommend if a little more expensive.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Fantastic garlic crushing while it worked, but before we'd used it a dozen times the crushing "foot" sheared off and it became junk.
Amazon returns great as always, though it seems over the top to arrange a courier to collect something for return that cost less than a tenner.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Adding teeth to the "arm" makes the no need to peel feature less effective.
In addition it makes cleaning the garlic press more difficult.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Style Name: STYLE A|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a well-made and lightweight kitchen gadget that works exactly as it's supposed to. Multiple garlic cloves can be crushed simultaneously without the need to faff about peeling them.

The garlic press is pretty strong and generally quite subtle in appearance - being made in a matt, brushed metal effect that doesn't get all smeary with use. A little cleaning brush is neatly stored in the handle of the press - while notionally handy for cleaning residual garlic out of holes in the press, it's not perfect and a bit of additional picking is usually required to get this clean.

While dishwasher safe, dishwashing is not recommended as over time this does damage the metal. However, SOME people in my household are not as diligent about hand washing as others, so I am able to add that this has now survived several months of post-use dishwasher clean-up without noticable ill effect.
11 comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Initially a great tool for the lazy cook like me. The blue cleaner is frustrating to use as all the spikes need to be perfectly in line; why manufacture in a soft polymer??? Dish washer tend to create a "baked-on" look, so you end up scrubbing it in the sink anyhow!
It's now in the bin as the crusher plate snapped! Garlic v metal alloy - garlic wins every time !
I'm going to stick with the cheap knife and chopping board system.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Amazing looking product which appeared to be doing a fabulous job, was very happy with it until after a few times using the crushing 'foot' snapped off completely for no reason. This made the product entirely useless, am returning the item and thus the search for a fantastic garlic press starts anew.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)