Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Garlic... without the jar
The Susi 3 garlic press makes garlic preparation a much less time consuming task and virtually eliminates any need to have jars of prepared garlic in the fridge.

I top and tail each clove of garlic but don't peel it and the press will easily accommodate three or more large cloves at each pass. The pressing process is easy (as long as your garlic is reasonably...
Published on 26 Aug. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke after a couple of cloves
Amazing looking product which appeared to be doing a fabulous job, was very happy with it until after a few times using the crushing 'foot' snapped off completely for no reason. This made the product entirely useless, am returning the item and thus the search for a fantastic garlic press starts anew.
Published 20 months ago by J. Holland


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Garlic... without the jar, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Susi 3 garlic press makes garlic preparation a much less time consuming task and virtually eliminates any need to have jars of prepared garlic in the fridge.

I top and tail each clove of garlic but don't peel it and the press will easily accommodate three or more large cloves at each pass. The pressing process is easy (as long as your garlic is reasonably fresh) and the press itself straightforward to clean - I have owned a Susi 2 for a few years and successfully used the end of a spoon to lift residue from the hopper; the Susi 3 incorporates its own cleaner to make the task even easier (although the end of a spoon will probably still be faster).

Whilst hand washing is recommended it is dishwasher safe; my Susi 2 has been through the dishwasher countless times over the last three/four years and always comes out like new. The Susi 3 is made of the same matt metal so should similarly withstand the rigours of the dishwasher without any adverse effects.

I love gadgets and have tried many over the years that state they make certain tasks easier, although they don't always live up to their claims. The Susi 3 (as well as the earlier model 2) both make the task of garlic preparation much easier and without leaving you with a messy gadget that is difficult to clean afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive litle gadget, 19 July 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well-made and lightweight kitchen gadget that works exactly as it's supposed to. Multiple garlic cloves can be crushed simultaneously without the need to faff about peeling them.

The garlic press is pretty strong and generally quite subtle in appearance - being made in a matt, brushed metal effect that doesn't get all smeary with use. A little cleaning brush is neatly stored in the handle of the press - while notionally handy for cleaning residual garlic out of holes in the press, it's not perfect and a bit of additional picking is usually required to get this clean.

While dishwasher safe, dishwashing is not recommended as over time this does damage the metal. However, SOME people in my household are not as diligent about hand washing as others, so I am able to add that this has now survived several months of post-use dishwasher clean-up without noticable ill effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke after a couple of cloves, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Holland "Yahowshuwa" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Amazing looking product which appeared to be doing a fabulous job, was very happy with it until after a few times using the crushing 'foot' snapped off completely for no reason. This made the product entirely useless, am returning the item and thus the search for a fantastic garlic press starts anew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most brilliantlly amazing kitchen gadget ever!, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Ive avoided buying a garlic press for the longest time because they all seemed like such a faff, peel garlic, chop bottom off garlic, press garlic, scrape tiny amount of garlic not stuck in press off of press...... but i gave in and bought this one esp as it said you dont have to peel the clove first!! I was a tad sceptical i'll be honest, but it arrived the day after i ordered it (less than 24 hours after i ordered it!) and i ripped the packaging off, keen to have a go. i grabbed a clove, shoved it in the press, squeezed it and then had a look......... OH MY GOSH, the only thing left in the press was a thin sheet of garlic skin, nowt else. I am so pleased. Dinner may have been a tad garlickly that night as i was enjoying myself so much, i even made my husband have a go and he was impressed (not bad for a man that doesnt cook at all)
It also has an integral brush that sits in the handle with prongs that exactly match the hole pattern on the press so if any garlic gets stuck you can poke it out.
So if you want a garlic press that works, buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Garlic Overload in our house now!!!, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
We all love garlic. Be it in butter, mayo or anything cooked it generally has garlic in it. We can't get enough of it - until the garlic crusher we had 'went missing'. Hmm. Anyway i bought a cheap Argos thing which was rubbish and had to cope with it for over a year before i got sick of it.

Googling a garlic crusher shows how sad i have become now. Should it really be that important? Well have i mentioned that we love garlic?

Amongst all of the garlic crushers and presses that i saw reviewed on Amazon i decided to choose this.. partially because of the design and partly from common sense.

You put a clove of garlic in it (obviously), and squeeze. Now what's interesting here and rather important compared to my crummy one are the following:

1) The 'press' which pushes the garlic down contains little spikes which go through the holes that the garlic goes in so that very little is left behind
2) the shape of the press plate is perfectly sized so that garlic doesn't simply escape up the sides and out the top.

I tried this with a nice large Chinese clove of garlic. It was quite a surprise when a shower of garlic was projected about a foot in front of it. All that was left was the peel and a tiny remnant of garlic 'juice' which i liberated.

So if you're out and about in my general area and someone smells obscenely of garlic.. it may just be me, or one of the other members of the family.

Highly recommended for garlic addicts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peels garlic fast, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Absolutely love using this; it puts the fun back into using garlic! It's an effective garlic press, and you can often fit in two smaller cloves at a time (or one big one).

Do note that if you insert the garlic with the skin still on, quite a bit of garlic gets trapped inside. So you may need to open the press, remove the skin and press again: not exactly a one-step method, but good if you want every last bit of garlic extracted. Personally, I don't like to waste it so I always press twice.

Clean-up can be tricky, so use the cleaning tool and wash it straight after use - if you wait too long and the garlic dries, it can be hard to remove. Luckily, it's also dishwasher-safe and that helps a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great while it worked, but quickly broke., 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Fantastic garlic crushing while it worked, but before we'd used it a dozen times the crushing "foot" sheared off and it became junk.
Amazon returns great as always, though it seems over the top to arrange a courier to collect something for return that cost less than a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Adding teeth to the "arm" makes the no need to peel feature less effective.
In addition it makes cleaning the garlic press more difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Press., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
The most efficient piece of kitchen equipment I have bought. Unpeeled garlic pressed in seconds with the least wastage of any press I have used.
Ignore the famous chef brands this does all you need at a fair price.
The pronged press pushes all the garlic through; the skin comes out easily in one piece. And cleaning is easy using the cleaner if needed. Sturdy build quality too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not diswasher proof /, 27 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press (Kitchen & Home)
Good press but after a few runs in the dishwasher the silver paint began to peel and any garlic I crushed in it after that came out as a grey pulp, not very appetizing. Since then I have purchased Jamie Oliver Press which I would highly recommend if a little more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zyliss No Need To Peel Susi 3 Garlic Press
£11.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews